We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb”
Review of Rydon Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydon Farm
Ranked #1 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

From the minute you arrive this is quality quality quality. Sally is an excellent host and the rooms are 5 star. I could not recommend this HOME enough. Breakfast is again excellent and as YOU want it. The cows are on your doorstep to greet you as well (lol).
Will return again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

I arrived at Rydon Farm in the dark and cold but when I stepped into the farmhouse I was immediately welcomed by name by Sally and felt a lovely warm glow as I was shown to my room, The Dart, which is absolutely beautiful, spacious and with all the luxuries you could wish for. Sally was so accommodating, as I have a very restrictive diet, she rose to the challenge and produced wonderful breakfasts which I enjoyed whilst watching the cows coming in for milking, stopping to look in the window to check on the guests!
I was so comfy I couldn't wait to get back to Rydon for my second night!
Thank you Sally I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I only saw The Dart which was the one I was in, but it is a lovelyspacious room with windows both si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodiandchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I had the Exe room. It has a 4 poster bed, dressing gown, chocolates, great reading light, high spec bathroom - what more could a girl want?? This room is really cosy and both the room and the bathroom are a good size. Anne

Room Tip: As a family we took 3 of the 4 rooms, all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

After several nights of working away from home, I was beginning to hit the budget hotel/microwaved pub food 'wall', so I actively sought out something a little different. It was bliss to arrive after a dark 100 mile journey and be presented with such a superb room with all the comforts one could wish for and in such a welcoming manner. Great breakfast too.
Sally pointed me in the direction of a local pub for food, The Digger's Rest, also superb, so all my boxes were most definitely ticked. Top notch, thanks Sally.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I had a very warm welcome on my arrival at Rydon Farm. Sally showed me to a room that beat my expectations by a long way. It is not often that you get a room that is way better than the ones pictured on the website. I chose this "bed and breakfast" because it came highly recommended on this site. I was not disappointed. It was very charming indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We arrived on a cold and wet evening to a most welcoming reception and were shown to our charming, warm and beautifully furnished room with a four poster bed and a large bathroom. The tray of speciality teas and coffees was a treat and breakfast was beautifully cooked to order. We stayed two nights and have no hesitation in recommending Rydon Farm and saying we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Lovely rural location, close to Topsham and handy for Exeter. Comfortable and spotless accommodation, with many nice touches such as real coffee and mineral water in the rooms, lovely bathrooms with high-quality toiletries. Excellent breakfast. Sally had some great sight-seeing tips for our free morning as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasm205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
6.6 mi away
The Telstar Hotel
The Telstar Hotel
#6 of 68 in Exeter
269 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mill Farm
Mill Farm
#14 of 68 in Exeter
72 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Townhouse
Townhouse
#3 of 68 in Exeter
286 reviews
2.3 mi away
Broadway House Luxury Serviced Rooms
9 mi away
The Nobody Inn
The Nobody Inn
#7 of 68 in Exeter
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydon Farm

Address: Rydon Farm Rydon Lane | Woodbury, Exeter EX5 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydon Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South West Tourism Excellence 2016 Gold Winner. Visit Devon 2015 Gold Award Winner. Rydon Farm Bed and Breakfast is situated on the outskirts of the village of Woodbury, approximately 6 miles from Exeter and 3 miles from the M5 J30. This 16th Century Devon Longhouse is close to the pebblebed heaths of Woodbury Common - an area of outstanding natural beauty. Many guests return time after time to this dairy farm which has been home to the Glanvill family for nearly 200 years. It is perfectly positioned for Exeter International Airport, Westpoint Arena, Devon Record Office, Sandy Park Stadium, CTCRM, Exeter University, Sowton and Marsh Barton Industrial Estates, Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue HQ, Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Greendale Business Park, Darts Farm, Middlemoor and The Met Office. Lovingly restored with a wealth of original features, oak and elm beams and an inglenook fireplace, Rydon Farm offers a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydon Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydon Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing