We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Rydon Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydon Farm
Ranked #1 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is simply the best B & B we've visited. Sally has really thought through what guests need - warmth, space, comfortable beds, super-efficient hot shower, ample towels and toiletries, facilities for making drinks (including ground coffee and a cafetiere), plenty of sockets for charging up phones and computers, wi-fi and a wonderful choice of delicious foods for breakfast. All this, and a welcome for our dogs, make it the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

What a wonderful place, Rydon Farm is an absolute Tardis. It's warm and welcoming. Sally does everything to make you feel at home; my room was beautiful and extremely comfortable and I really didn't want to leave! I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Rydon Farm as a truly lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here last week for 5 days. I had a particularly difficult reason for being in Exeter, so was hoping for a place that was easy to be in and come back to. Rydon farm and it's owner "Sally" were perfect. The room was spotless as was the en-suite bathroom. Little touches like some chocs in a bowl, good quality biscuits with the tea making facilities, topped up soap dispensers, clean towels. Much closer to a high class hotel than a B&B. Sally was friendly but not intrusive and the breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice. Although slightly more than i wanted to spend....it was worth every penny. I felt rested, comfortable and cosy. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimitriK939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Rydon farm is absolutely delightful. Our room was gorgeous, much more spacious and luxurious than you’d expect from a B&B, and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and there were lots of lovely little details, such as chocolates, hot water bottles and a torch. This is all courtesy of Sally, who runs the B&B. She was incredibly warm and welcoming and full of useful information and tips on where to eat. Her breakfasts were fantastic with a wide range of choice. It was a perfect place to escape to and offered a great base for exploring Devon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank km22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is an absolutely fantastic B&B and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating if they tried, making my booking and stay totally stress free from the very beginning. My room was wonderful, totally spotless, with a huge comfy bed and every little 'extra' possibly needed. The home cooked breakfast was delicious and there was lots to choose from. I couldn't recommend Rydon Farm more highly and am very much looking forward to staying there again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankii_lock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have no hesitation in recommending this B & B to anybody who wants a treat. I experienced extreme luxury and found the hosts super-efficient and welcoming.
My purpose was to attend a Royal Marines function and I was very glad to be spending a night so close to the base at Lympstone. In fact, it was a great treat for me to stay in such comfort and in such beautiful rural surroundings and I am hoping to return for pure pleasure!
In particular, I praise the immaculate presentation and attention to detail in my room. My booking was perfectly managed and breakfast was top standard.
I am most grateful for a top class stay. Jane Olle

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Roger and Pat B.

Found this purely by chance on the Internet, and what a find! Remarkable attention to detail, exemplified by the provision of dental floss in the bathroom, a "first" for us anywhere either in the UK or abroad. Exceptionally clean and well-presented accommodation, very comfortable beds, quiet location, splendid breakfasts, and plenty of time to enjoy these, thankfully. Hostess was very welcoming, we were immediately at ease. The only downside being that if all reviews are like this, we won't be able to get in next time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
5.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,387 reviews
6.5 mi away
Townhouse
Townhouse
#4 of 68 in Exeter
282 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Telstar Hotel
The Telstar Hotel
#6 of 68 in Exeter
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
496 reviews
6.2 mi away
Raffles Hotel
Raffles Hotel
#3 of 68 in Exeter
192 reviews
9 mi away
The Nobody Inn
The Nobody Inn
#7 of 68 in Exeter
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydon Farm

Address: Rydon Farm Rydon Lane | Woodbury, Exeter EX5 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydon Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South West Tourism Excellence 2016 Gold Winner. Visit Devon 2015 Gold Award Winner. Rydon Farm Bed and Breakfast is situated on the outskirts of the village of Woodbury, approximately 6 miles from Exeter and 3 miles from the M5 J30. This 16th Century Devon Longhouse is close to the pebblebed heaths of Woodbury Common - an area of outstanding natural beauty. Many guests return time after time to this dairy farm which has been home to the Glanvill family for nearly 200 years. It is perfectly positioned for Exeter International Airport, Westpoint Arena, Devon Record Office, Sandy Park Stadium, CTCRM, Exeter University, Sowton and Marsh Barton Industrial Estates, Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue HQ, Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Greendale Business Park, Darts Farm, Middlemoor and The Met Office. Lovingly restored with a wealth of original features, oak and elm beams and an inglenook fireplace, Rydon Farm offers a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydon Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydon Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing