We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lower Thornton Farm
Ranked #22 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Once again we were able to enjoy a wonderful stay here. Alison, the owner, as always makes you feel really welcomed. On arrival, tea and biscuits in the lounge. The bedrooms were large, comfortable and have all you would need, plus more. When we asked where we could go for an evening meal, they recommended the pub in the village and made the effort to phone up and book a reservation for us.

Its a working farm and its really rather splendid to wake up to amazing country views and be able to see the cows, pheasants, dogs etc in the fields. The breakfast is without equal, always perfectly cooked and served at a time that suits you, rather than an enforced time as happens in many hotels.

Great value, great food, great rooms - 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robhjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

Pretty much everything you would want from a B&B, with the bonus that this is a working farm with some animals to keep you entertained before tucking into a really good breakfast. Owner is very friendly and helpful. It's a modern wing of a farmhouse, so it's not 'trad', but the room we stayed in was a very good size, and very comfy. Highly recommended if you are staying in the Exeter area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailfintang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Once I'd found Lower Thornton Farm (Satnavs always struggle with rural locations and I missed the sign - which is quite small and partially obscured by ivy), it was among the best experiences I've had in any hotel/BB for a long time. Access is easy enough, off the A38 at the Kenn / Kennford junction, follow the road for 1/4 mile and take the left turn. Go through the village and then turn right and the junction by the river, follow the lane for around a mile and a half and it'll be straight in front of you on a right-hand bend. Watch out for livestock crossing! It's about 30 minutes drive from the centre of Exeter.

When I arrived, I had to wait a while for the proprietor to arrive. This didn't concern me as I spent the time taking in the views and performing an impromptu habitat survey. Evidence of deer, buzzards, dragonflies and tawny owls in the vicinity! The lady was apologetic when she arrived - as a working farm it's a busy time of year for them, which I understand. I was shown to my room and supplied with a cup of coffee and biscuits, served in the lounge upstairs.

The rooms are located in what I presume is a converted barn. Cosy, sympathetically decorated and quiet with a decent enough shower. The bed is comfortable (if a little squeaky), and venturing outside will be rewarded with a star-studded sky on clear nights and the sound of owls in nearby trees. One real bonus I didn't expect was the Wifi connection, which was free. It's not lightning quick but adequate for web browsing and Skype.
Most guesthouses do not serve breakfast early enough for me, but another advantage of staying on a farm is the owners are up early and kindly supplied breakfast at 6.45am. They cook themselves and offer a range of cereal, yoghurt, juice etc alongside.

All in all, a wonderful stay with friendly people. Can't recommend enough, if you're exloring the Devon countryside or working in Exeter / Torquay - I don't think you'll find better value for money. Just a shame the weather didn't match the hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I was very glad to get back to Lower Thornton Farm. Though very close to and convenient for all the busy traffic from the M5 along the A38 and 380 towards Plymouth and Cornwall and Torbay, but in a totally quiet and beautiful location. Excellent room with fine view and a really first class breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Though less than a mile as the crow flies from the day and night roar of the traffic leaving the end of the M5 and continuing on the A38 and A380 Plymouth and Torquay roads, Lower Thornton Farm nestles just north of Mamhead, the highest point of the rolling Haldon Hills, in almost complete silence. After negotiating the two or three miles of very narrow Devon lanes twisting and turning at least half a dozen times in their deep red rock and soil 'canyons' you are looking down on the Farm in its wonderful setting surrounded by sloping grass fields. As a disabled driver I was very grateful to be welcoming in the small car park by Charles, Alison's son, who had seen me arriving, and who carried my bag for me to a ground floor room just a few yards away. The bed and breakfast accommodation is a new building on an old farm site which has been designed very sympathetically, and built and fitted out to the highest standards. My room was excellent, well equipped and - of course - absolutely spotless. Charles offered me tea and biscuits in the spacious and attractive residents' lounge - very welcome indeed after driving for over four hours with only a short break in a typically bare and functional motorway services. Alison soon arrived and introduced herself and she and Charles made me feel very welcome. I was out all evening at a function in Exeter, but greatly enjoyed the really first class breakfast, individually cooked to order from a very wide-ranging menu of local fresh produce. It was great to then have an hour and a half before I had to leave to enjoy the views and wildlife outside, remembering with affection the time what I used to run outdoor natural history classes in this small but very distinctive area of Devon more than forty years ago....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I agree with all the "excellent" reviews. We stayed in April 2011, when visiting Exeter for a show. What we hope for in a B&B is a fresh comfy bed and a clean room. Top marks for these, but so much more. The welcome with a cup of tea was an immediate bonus. The room was spotless, spacious and well-appointed without being over-the-top. Lots of touches too numerous to mention, for example we thought the refreshment tray was more interestingly and more generously stocked than usual. We decided to try and come back for a longer stay. Overall very good value and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I have stayed at the B&B about 10 times over the last 4 years and the service has been of the same excellent standard every time! The rooms are beautifully maintained and the breakfast is second to none!

All in Lower Thronton Farm is a brilliant B&B in a hidden and peaceful locationall and undoubtably one of the best B&B's in Devon, if not the UK.

I would recommend this to anyone!

(Please note that there is no swimming pool, however if there was it would be excellent!)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
6.3 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
271 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
1.0 mi away
Mill Farm
Mill Farm
#13 of 68 in Exeter
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chi Oriental Restaurant
Chi Oriental Restaurant
#15 of 68 in Exeter
92 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
134 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Telstar Hotel
The Telstar Hotel
#6 of 68 in Exeter
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Thornton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Thornton Farm

Address: Lower Thornton Farm EX6 7XH Mamhead Rd, Exeter EX6 7XH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lower Thornton Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Lower Thornton Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Thornton Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing