We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicken Barn Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lower Thornton Farm
Ranked #19 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chicken Barn Fabulous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Beautiful, away from it all quiet location! We needed a late check-in on the Friday night and this was easily arranged by a quick call to the owner (the website we looked at is too vague on this point!) plus we saved a small amount of money by booking direct. Although credit card details were taken, the transaction wasn't done until we checked out on the Sunday. We opted for the Continental breakfast for the Saturday due to our late arrival and the fridge was stocked with choices of juice in jugs, eggs, yoghurt, bread, butter, jams. Tea and coffee plentiful, although I rarely travel without my Earl Grey tea! Sunday, we trotted up to the house for a cooked breakfast, although they would have brought it to us if we wanted but I was curious to see the house. Lovely dining room, very friendly with lots of choice of cereals etc in addition to the cooked breakfast. The Chicken Barn was very clean and tastefully decorated and accessorized. Good size towels with shower gel etc provided. It is incredibly quiet, no farm noise and somewhat disappointingly, no clucking or cock-a-doodling!
Tip - If you do arrive in the dark, when you drive onto the farm, you will need to descend straight ahead of you where you will see the open side of a big barn that has corrugated iron roof and sides. To the immediate left, is an open gate which you drive through with this big barn immediately on your right. At the end of this long barn, you will find the chicken barn (see photo).
My only regret, is that I didn't attempt to find out where an early morning group of deer went when they disappeared in to the woods by the barley field!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsChiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
43
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I'm not sure what to say that hasn't already been said by everyone else - Lower Thornton Farm is just fantastic.

We ended up here in a last minute rush to find somewhere to spend the night near Exeter. I called Alison to confirm availability and we had a fabulous room even though she only had about 2 hours of warning before we arrived. We were very surprised by the size of the room and ensuite: these two rooms were about the size of our entire flat in London! The breakfast in the morning was filling and delicious, with different options if a full English isn't your thing.

Alison was so friendly and inviting, and I'm so glad she was able to accommodate us on such short notice. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend Lower Thornton Farm to anyone and everyone. Thank you so much Alison!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emwm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was a laterooms suggestion as we needed to have a one night stay to visit friends in Exeter before heading off to Butlins Minehead for a short break. Our sat nav managed to take us straight to the front door, even though it seems like the road to nowhere when you leave the main road. We arrived earlier than anticipated but were warmly greeted and shown our room. Afterwards we were offered tea and biscuits in the living room, which after driving for over 200 miles was well received by both of us. We were given our own key to our room and front door which meant we wouldn't disturb anyone on our return much later that evening/early morning! The room was perfect for us, shower and toilet en-suite, tea making facilities in the bedroom. The bed was perfect and we both slept well, albeit without covers as it was so hot.
Breakfast in the morning was a cooked breakfast (our host asking the day before if we had any special dietary requirements) Awesome value for money, a perfect place to stay, and will definitely be revisiting next year when we go back to Exeter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teejayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this lovely B/B Alison is so
warm and friendly the cooked breakfast was excellent
and a lovely clean room with great views over the country side!
Would highly recommend this B/B...
Also the pub up the lane is around 1 1/4 miles away called the Ley Arms
The food was excellent and a good choice of ales and wine.
We were told the pub had just been taken over by new management who were
very welcoming too!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
319 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

1 night stay thru hotels.com
gps led us thru 1 lane road for 1.5 miles, much easier if you make find closer road.
location -- vg but need gps.
attitude-- vg
breakfast--excellent
value--excellent
room size--large
clean ? yes
overall -- excellent

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelroc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The room is nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The host made us all feel welcome with a cup of tea/coffee and biscuits. The breakfast is good a choice of continental and full English. Location is peaceful and rural, one mile of single track road may not be of everyone's liking. It suited as and next time we are in Exeter will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouF463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

The owner is very nice, even came to great us outside with a broken leg! We got tea on arrival even though it was late. The breakfast was plenty and we were asked the day before to chose between full English and continental. We had one of each each. Both good. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and very pleasantly fragrant. Our room was not ensuite but it was for our exclusive use. The local pub has great food too. The farm is 20min from Exmouth.
In short, I would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pestantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
3.5 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
6.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Thornton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Thornton Farm

Property: Lower Thornton Farm
Address: Lower Thornton Farm EX6 7XH Mamhead Rd, Exeter EX6 7XH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lower Thornton Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lower Thornton Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Thornton Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing