We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely countryside getaway”
Review of Highdown Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highdown Farm
Ranked #12 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Exeter
East midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely countryside getaway”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The cottage is easy to find and in a lovely location with wonderful countryside views. We stayed in the Cider barn, the smallest of the cottages but plenty of room for the two of us. It had everything you could need for time away, plenty of cooking equipment and books on the local area. Sandra was very welcoming and helpful. We loved being so close to the farm, seeing all the animals, particularly the friendly dogs greeting us every morning. Would recommend this place to everyone - we'll certainly be back :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagelover420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in the Old Farmhouse and were amazed at how lovely it was, and so spacious. There were 5 of us but we easily could have fitted another 2 or 3 in. The cottage is well equipped, has large rooms, free wifi and comfy beds. The owner Sandra was very friendly and helpful.

It is very well located just off the M5 and close to Exeter. The countryside views were amazing, we didn't want to leave when the weekend ended and have already booked to return. The Merry Harriers pub in nearby Westcott is amazing, great place to eat.

Room Tip: I stayed in the kingsize ensuite bedroom and you wake up to a lovely view across the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

It took us 15 min before we could go into the cottage, no issues it's just the farm animals and views were to inviting. Once we pulled ourselves away from everything we entered the most lovely cottage ever, it's got the lot. Me my wife and 18 month daughter love it here, there was even a good play area that kept the little one busy. Defiantly will be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyjr477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Greated by Friendly owner Sandra the farm was easy to find . The poormans cottage is the middle of 3 cottages with wonderful views from the front and well equipped private garden at the rear . Horses, sheep, goats, rabbits, dogs, various birds, cows all seen within the first few hours of arriving. Very clean and well equipped cottage with little extras including eggs, organic milk, fresh flowers from the farm in most rooms, free wifi and toiletries. Bed very comfy and rooms large considering its a farm cottage. Ideally located to visit north and south Devon. Very quiet and peaceful....apart from the birdsong, watched pair of swallows feed their offspring outside the small bedroom window. Look forward to a return visit next year.

Room Tip: My partner is 6ft 5in and we changed booking from the ciderbarn to the poormans cottage as thought i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breezy4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have stayed in The Poormans Cot several times over the years. The cottage is well equipped and always spotlessly clean. It's great for kids with horses, chickens, goats, sheep and cattle all kept on the farm when we visited. The central location is great for exploring the area, with plenty to do and see. There are also some great family friendly pubs within a few minutes drive. The owners are great, very friendly and in spite of the fact that they are running a very busy farm as well as the three cottages, always make to time to offer advice on things to see and do.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I just spent 4 weeks at the Cider Barn cottage on Highdown Farm, and frankly, it would be hard to think of anything more perfect. The views from the kitchen window extend 25 miles over the English countryside. The facility itself is beautiful, tastefully furnished and very well equipped. The landlady, Sandra, is always available when you might have a question, but otherwise quite inconspicuous.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eoo104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

So surprised there are no reviews for Highdown Organic Farm. I spent a few nights there this past weekend and really loved it. Sandra the farm owner was kind and helpful and had placed fresh wild flowers throughout, loved that touch! Great place for little kids with horses, goats and pigs nearby to see up close and feed in the morning. My place had a beautiful view out the front window, was cozy with a comfy down covered bed in the loft and a warm freestanding stove in the front room. Highly recommend it for a get away weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
1.1 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Newcourt Barton
Newcourt Barton
#1 of 2 in Langford
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#8 of 21 in Cullompton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
124 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highdown Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highdown Farm

Property: Highdown Farm
Address: Highdown Farm Cranishaies Lane, Exeter EX5 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three well comfortably furnished and well equipped cottages, peacefully situated on an organic dairy farm. All the cottages have stunning views of the surrounding countryside. Conveniently located one mile between the towns of Bradninch and Cullompton and only 2 miles from J28 of the M5. Exeter 10 miles. Well placed for exploring the rest of Devon. Dartmoor, Exmoor and the Jurassic coast are less than hours drive away. Ideal for couples or families taking a short break, holiday or visiting relatives in the area. Business people are also very welcome. Wi-Fi available in each cottage free of charge. There is a separate play area with trampoline, swings and slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highdown Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highdown Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing