We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, historic pub, very friendly owner.”
Review of The Drewe Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Drewe Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Not to be missed and worth a drive from anywhere. This wonderful pub in Dartmoor has everything you could want complete with fireplaces in several rooms and plenty of cheery locals with their dogs. The food is a cut above typical pub food and is a very good value for your money. The first night we were in Drewsteignton we were encouraged to have fish and chips at the pub for "fish and chips night". Our meals were terrific. So terrific in fact, that we immediately booked a table for their traditional Sunday lunch which was on offer. That too was wonderful and followed up by sticky toffee pudding with all the custard you could possibly want. We will be back, most probably tomorrow night!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilsonAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Although the post office is the beating heart of this village, the Drewe Arms is an establishment which left a gaping hole after it closed in February. We had a fish and chip dinner at the end of November which was fine and consumed in the cosy darts room where an interesting group of people made for a lively atmosphere. The following Sunday we had lunch in the dining room and it was clear that the very new management/kitchen was overstretched (see coeliacs don't bother review - above - which was the same day; we noticed them). The dining room was freezing.
However, I am sure that these teething problems will be quickly overcome and I am relieved for the village that this charming pub is back on the map.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank drogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We've been looking forward to going to the Drewe Arms since it recently changed hands and found the ideal opportunity this Saturday lunch time. The host, Laurence, was most welcoming - it was as if one had been invited in to the front room as a long lost family member. The beer was outstanding, and the woodburners added to the charm. The Landlord was most attentive yet unobtrusive. He didnt find it difficult to "sell us" the game casserole consisting of pheasant from the local shoot and and venison with bubble and squeak. It was delicious as was the dessert and cheese; quality food in the hands of a good chef. We booked immediately for the Burns Supper on 25 Jan and suggest you do too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CarlsbergCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We visited the Drewe arms as part of a week long holiday in Dartmoor. We stayed in the B&B room at the pub and it was wonderful! Although the landlords themselves weren't there due to being on holiday, we were met by one of their friends who had taken over the reins for the week who was undoubtably superb!!!! Food was great (and catered very well for Coeliacs I would like to add!!!), warm fires, lovely downstairs rooms, exceptionally dog friendly, and breakfasts to die for!! Would definitely visit again! Only slight comment to make is the bed and breakfast could have complimentary tea and coffee, as well as toiletries, however if you asked there would have been no problem I am sure. Overall very impressed and hope the new landlords make a good go of it!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAZ6730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked for Sunday lunch several days before and advised of the need for a Gluten free food. When we arrived we were advised that there was only roast beef or pork. When the waitress was asked about gluten free she responded after several seconds with, "Well I suppose we could serve something without the gravy." That was all that was offered.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CoeliacSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have had many lovely meals at this pub in the past, but this was the first time we had visited since it reopened in the summer. We arrived for Sunday lunch on Dec 2nd. Our first impression was how cold it was - there was an unlit fire in the bar, and unlit range in the dining room, an unlit wood burner in another room, and all the radiators were cold - there were logs by the stove so lack of fuel couldn't have been the reason. No one welcomed us as we tried to find the least cold table to sit at, it was difficult to know who was in charge. Having ordered our meal we were disappointed. The meal was poorly presented, the meat was in chunks rather than slices, the vegetables were very overcooked, Yorkshire puddings stodgy and not cooked properly. We were asked if we wanted sauces and asked for apple sauce as we had pork, but were then told there wasn't any. We wondered what chef would put on a pork roast and not bother with the apple sauce. One of our party has spent 25 years as a professional caterer and thought that the roast potatoes had been reheated in a deep fat fryer. We saw a larger party walk out presumably before ordering, and heard them being apologised to by being told the chef had gone sick at very short notice, so don't know if this was the cause of our bad experience, but we had rung up about an hour before we arrived so this should have been revealed to us on the phone. The very young inexperienced waitress should also not have been left to cope singlehanded; as we left we realised that a group that were drinking at the bar were probably part of the establishment so they should have stepped in to help.
This is a great shame, as it is a beautiful pub in a lovely village which deserves better. The company which owns this establishment has done it a great disservice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence C, Owner at The Drewe Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

I was very disappointed to read your review. I am truly sorry that your experience at The Drewe Arms fell short of both yours and my expectations. We pride ourselves on offering the highest levels of service and quality, from what you have said clearly we failed on the occasion of your visit. I will discuss this with my team and will offer training where needed. Once again please accept my apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have visited this quaint pub over the years, including when Aunt Mabel (oldest Licensee in the country) was still in residence. On our last visit a couple of years ago we stayed in the bunkhouse - & it had retained the spirit of the old ale house.

I'm very pleased to see that the new Tenants haven't changed anything obvious to detract from the ambience. Its just as I remember it.

The food was deemed excellent by all diners (ham, eggs & chips - thick, tasty ham, two eggs, goodish chips, Steak & stilton pie - very good, loads of chunky steak, the sweets were interesting & well presented).

The beer was good, & we were able to take in our dog. So all good there !

Undoubtedly the new incumbents will find trading hard, & there will be comparisons to its heritage, but they've made an excellent start & I wish them every success in maintaining the pubs character.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
3 mi away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
59 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
135 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
545 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drewe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drewe Arms

Address: The Square | Drewsteignton, Exeter EX6 6QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Exeter
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century pub with bunk accommodation and bed and breakfast rooms serving traditional pub fayre with specials ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Drewe Arms Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing