We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great traditional pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drewe Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Drewe Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great traditional pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely original unspoilt pub with many original features. Great food, well kept ales, friendly staff. The new owner (from last Sept) chatted with us and obviously very keen and passionate about the whole business. Great night out , would certainly recommend diverting off the A30 a few miles to visit and enjoy.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    40
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
63
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chagford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Went to the Drewe Arms for dinner this evening and really enjoyed the experience. The welcome was friendly, the food was really good and the beer was well looked after. We've eaten here over the last 15 years but the new owners seem to have got the place back on track. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gstickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Not to be missed and worth a drive from anywhere. This wonderful pub in Dartmoor has everything you could want complete with fireplaces in several rooms and plenty of cheery locals with their dogs. The food is a cut above typical pub food and is a very good value for your money. The first night we were in Drewsteignton we were encouraged to have fish and chips at the pub for "fish and chips night". Our meals were terrific. So terrific in fact, that we immediately booked a table for their traditional Sunday lunch which was on offer. That too was wonderful and followed up by sticky toffee pudding with all the custard you could possibly want. We will be back, most probably tomorrow night!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Although the post office is the beating heart of this village, the Drewe Arms is an establishment which left a gaping hole after it closed in February. We had a fish and chip dinner at the end of November which was fine and consumed in the cosy darts room where an interesting group of people made for a lively atmosphere. The following Sunday we had lunch in the dining room and it was clear that the very new management/kitchen was overstretched (see coeliacs don't bother review - above - which was the same day; we noticed them). The dining room was freezing.
However, I am sure that these teething problems will be quickly overcome and I am relieved for the village that this charming pub is back on the map.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank drogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We've been looking forward to going to the Drewe Arms since it recently changed hands and found the ideal opportunity this Saturday lunch time. The host, Laurence, was most welcoming - it was as if one had been invited in to the front room as a long lost family member. The beer was outstanding, and the woodburners added to the charm. The Landlord was most attentive yet unobtrusive. He didnt find it difficult to "sell us" the game casserole consisting of pheasant from the local shoot and and venison with bubble and squeak. It was delicious as was the dessert and cheese; quality food in the hands of a good chef. We booked immediately for the Burns Supper on 25 Jan and suggest you do too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlsbergCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We visited the Drewe arms as part of a week long holiday in Dartmoor. We stayed in the B&B room at the pub and it was wonderful! Although the landlords themselves weren't there due to being on holiday, we were met by one of their friends who had taken over the reins for the week who was undoubtably superb!!!! Food was great (and catered very well for Coeliacs I would like to add!!!), warm fires, lovely downstairs rooms, exceptionally dog friendly, and breakfasts to die for!! Would definitely visit again! Only slight comment to make is the bed and breakfast could have complimentary tea and coffee, as well as toiletries, however if you asked there would have been no problem I am sure. Overall very impressed and hope the new landlords make a good go of it!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAZ6730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We booked for Sunday lunch several days before and advised of the need for a Gluten free food. When we arrived we were advised that there was only roast beef or pork. When the waitress was asked about gluten free she responded after several seconds with, "Well I suppose we could serve something without the gravy." That was all that was offered.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CoeliacSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silversprings St Davids
Silversprings St Davids
#21 of 31 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drewe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drewe Arms

Property: The Drewe Arms
Address: The Square | Drewsteignton, Exeter EX6 6QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Exeter
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century pub with bunk accommodation and bed and breakfast rooms serving traditional pub fayre with specials ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Drewe Arms Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing