We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine place to stay in Exeter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Edwardian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Edwardian
Ranked #49 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
258 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay in Exeter”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Mike and Jaqui are very friendly and helpful. We immediately felt welcomed and cared for. The breakfast is delicious and substantial with lots of choices. Currently the owners are doing significant updating of the furnishings and wall covers and based upon what is completed, the house will be even more attractive when done. Our rooms were comfortable and unaffected by the work in public areas. The shower can be a little quirky; ask for instructions on how to control water temperature.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
24
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This picture is quite old and the Edwardian (Heavitree) is now cream with not so many flowers on the outside. Extremely friendly place to stay, great breakfast and 5 min walk from town. All amenities provided and rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurtononTrentChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I struggled to find the B&B as I was looking for the 'Heavitree Guesthouse' but the B&B still had its old signs out so it was called the Edwardian. When I arrived at the Guesthouse I was several hours early, but the lady on reception was extremely friendly, offered to carry my bags to my room. The decor was a little dated but I would settle for dated decor if I had a comfortable bed and the Guesthouse was clean, which it was. I found the bed very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep.

When I went down for my breakfast I was met with a friendly and welcoming greeting and shown to my table. I was offered to choose anything from the breakfast bar and then asked If I would like a cooked breakfast. The breakfast was lovely and the only comment I would say is that maybe it would be good to have a menu of the choices you have available for the cooked breakfast. I would definately stay at this Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We arrived at the parking behind the B&B around 3.00pm, we rode our motorbikes so we needed to make sure they would be safe, the parking is secluded from the main road, which is perfect!
We were greeted by Jaqui, the owner, a very friendly lady, that allowed us to come through her home, to show us the facilities and our room. The room in the top floor, was clean and perfectly decorated, small shower room (but we don't need anything more)
She had prepared maps, flyers and info and laid it out on top of the bed with all the things to do. Was very thoughtful.
We enjoyed Exeter a bit and at night we just heard a bit of traffic as our room was in the front of the building.
In the morning, between 8-9 was breakfast :0) my favourite part in this case. I usually do not finish my full English as it is too much and mostly too greasy, but this one, at the Edwardian was so beautifully done that I finished all, including the sausage! The bacon is locally source, and it tasted divine!
Check out was around 10-10.30am, Mike informed us that we could leave our things in the b&b, go for a last stroll around the city and then just get changed for our trip to London.
We will definitely come back and I will recommend this b&b to anyone who is passing by Exeter :0) thank you Jaqui and Mike!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinita-Kuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The hotel is in a brilliant location about 5 mins walk from town. Found it difficult to find hotel in the dark but think that was because the sign at the front was not lit. Car park difficult to find as well especially as there is no sign to indicate it is down the single track. Hotel decor is quite old fasioned and there are the owners personal posessions throughout. As previously mentioned beds are sheets and blankets and not duvet which is unusual. Room 15 good size but near the grand clock in the hall way that goes off every hour on the hour so if you are a light sleeper ask for a different room. Room 15 is also on the route from kitchen to breakfast room so when other guests are greeted for breakfast you will be woken if not awake already. On returning to my room I was a little put off my the amount my stuff had been moved in making it look tidy. suitcase put away in cupboard, a t-shirt that I had left on the floor bagged and put away and scarves hung up. For some people who stay may love this but I found it a little unsettling. I also requested that the four bedside lights not left on for my return because although it looked nice I thought it was a waste of electricity and wasted on me. There did not seem to be any coffee in my room but to be fair I did not ask for it. Hosts (I presume owners) were very friendly.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank happycamper1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed here for one night on the way to Cornwall. Perfectly situated in Exeter - walking distance from shops, restaurants and the cathedral. The room was very neat and tidy, had everything we needed. Great breakfast, everything cooked to your liking! The B&B is a little bit out dated, but its great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nique10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good although they only serve from 8am, when I mentioned that I needed to be out fairly quick they did hurry things up for me, which was great.
Decor is very traditional with lots of attention to detail - bit like stepping back in time.
The room and ensuite were very clean and tidy, although the shower was a bit cramped and outdated and although the water flow was good the shower head was blocked.

Room Tip: I had a lovely large room at the front of the house, which was a bit noisy as it's on the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janieg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.6 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#27 of 31 in Exeter
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edwardian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edwardian

Property: The Edwardian
Address: 30-32 Heavitree Road, Exeter EX1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edwardian 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edwardian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edwardian Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing