We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, unpretentious place out of town”
Review of Quo Vadis

Quo Vadis
Ranked #57 of 530 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great, unpretentious place out of town”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Quo Vadis is situated in Heavitree - a suburb of Exeter abut 1 mile from the city centre. It is an unpretentious 'home cooking ' Italian ristorante with a fair choice of mains over and above pizza and pasta, although those are available too. Be warned, free parking can be difficult as the restaurant fronts onto the main road. There are pay car parks within a couple of minutes on foot.

This is a cosy, family run restaurant with a little bit of fun added to the service by Gab (the owner) and his family.

The menu, whilst not huge, is well chosen and contains many favourites. There is always a specials board too. The last time I was at Quo Vadis, I had the pork and beef meatballs in a rich tomato sauce... just like Mama used to make!

The wine list contains a good choice from affordable house wines to really nice reds.

Desserts are delicious and varied and include great Italian ice cream.

With a starter, main and dessert plus a bottle of wine to share and a coffee, expect to pay £60 - £85 for two.

Quo Vadis is definitely worth a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malcfreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    35
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visited for lunch midweek and had an excellent experience!
The service, food and ambience, not to mention the very good house wine, were all fab.
Authentic Italian in the heart of Exeter - it might not look much from the outside but I would seriously recommend it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJB4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendido Italiano”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Quo Vadis on the strength of other reviews as needed somewhere to eat in Heavitree following my daughters drama performance. Saturday night no booking, very warm welcome, found us a table for 3.
superb food and service with a great atmosphere, will definitely be back,-need to try the calamari next time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Genuine family run, welcoming Italian”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We visited QV on a very wet and windy night, rain pushing us through the front door into the welcoming arms of our hosts. Humorous old school Italians, with mother cooking and dad and son front of house. Great food, good house wine and a really welcoming family. We'll be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emendyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Exeter”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

From the outside, Quo Vadis looks like an average restaurant, but when we ventured inside it was different, Friendly courteous and welcoming Italian staff who provided delicious Italian cuisine, the atmosphere was fantastic, and it wasnt too expensive..... Would definitely return for an authentic Italian evening, highly recommended

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank senikaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quo Vadis also viewed

 

Been to Quo Vadis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing