We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average..sums it up”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Ball Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #15 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average..sums it up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Popped in to the Blue Ball on the way home from camping. Menu was limited as it was a Sunday. My daughter asked for a smaller portion and was told that this was not possible (this was with the other choices), yet there was a sign to say all food cooked to order!!!. It then arrived with nachos etc missing (when we asked, they kindly deducted it from the bill). Other food ordered was very tasty but........ there just seemed to be "enough" on the plates. Squid was tasty but a very small handful of rocket. Mussels just came with a slice of bread, and scallops just a cup of rice. All tasted very nice, but it lacked those "extra touches". Lovely glass of wine though

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belmar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    66
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
62
58
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here for one night last week, firstly our booking through booking.com hadn't reached the Inn, fortunately there was one room available and staff made every effort to make us comfortable. Very friendly pub and customers so we had a good night. Very close to M5 so quite a bit of traffic noise as we needed windows open because it was so hot! Good value for money overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane635924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollywood uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Good ~ Arrived 7th June for 1 night stay. Food in pub was good and the service provided by Giles and a young waitress was friendly and informative.

The Not so Good ~ The location of this Inn is very close to the M5 so on a warm summer night when it's necessary to have the velux window open, expect a constant drone of traffic.

The Bad ~ Room 3 which is advertised as a double, is not much bigger than a single, the toilet was leaking from the moment we arrived (only solution was for Giles to put towels around the bottom to try and soak it up - this didn't work and by Saturday the bathroom floor was sodden!), the bed creaked every time one of us moved, the shower head is filthy and there is what appears to be a 'dumping ground' for old paint pots, pieces of wood, crates etc immediately outside the bathroom window. As advised to do so by Emily on Saturday morning, my wife has emailed Steve the owner with our comments along with photos, but 3 days later and still no response, so hoping this will prompt one from him? Have attached photos of the points raised. We will not use this accommodation again and nor would we recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboyHollywoodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Inn.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us but dismayed to read the list of issues you raise.
I will address those in your point order.
Our location is of benefit to most travellers being just off junction 30 of the M5 however I completely take on board you comment regarding traffic noise on a warm evening with the window open . With that in mind we have ordered fans and each room will now have that option.
The plumbing issue is I am afraid something that can happen to anyone at anytime. Unfortunately as we were full we did not have an alternative room to switch you into .
The shower head is an unforgivable blunder and housekeeping have been made fully aware of the importance of ensuring this does not happen again.
With regard to the rubbish outside your window. We were in the process of resurfacing the floor in one of the adjacent store rooms and for some unfathomable reason it was decided to carelessly move it into the rear yard, obviously forgetting to take into consideration your view. That is a service yard and can at times be untidy , so to avoid a repeat of this we are erecting a trellis to shield the yard from view.
Lastly we have not received an email from you and would have replied promptly if we had. I can only guess that technology played its part in that.
I telephoned and spoke with your Mother yesterday and hopefully put our case and reached a satisfactory conclusion to this unfortunate run of events. I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday to the Scillies and hope if you pass in our direction again you will consider us as a stop over point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evian-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Off to Isles of Scilly, flying from airport this pub with rooms was perfectly situated,just off M5,and only 8 mins from airport. On arrival time to enjoy a pint from good selection of real ales, in spacious garden. Room a delight, situated at far end of property, so no noise from pub ,and car park next to rooms. Immaculately clean, modern tasteful decor,with lots of extras ,iron and board, kettle and plenty of tea,coffee,biscuits and milk! Tissues, eats, no skimping.Nice bathroom too
Very friendly staff, newspapers in bar to read ,great breakfasts. Really couldn't fault the place. Would definitely recommend. Only trouble is ,only 4 rooms ,so our friends who booked later couldn't get a room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikekathlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Booked this for an overnight stay,
Positives:
-great pub, warm welcome from staff.
-great beer garden with plenty of space for kids to run around
-food good
-rooms clean
-good location for Exeter

Negative:
The only negative is the bed in room 3-it should not be described as a double room -the bed is smaller that a double and VERY uncomfortable. We were unable to sleep because of the small space, poor mattress and the horrendous squeaking of the bed every time you took a breath. I know the room is limited for space but come on a bit of thought and removing the bed side cabinets would allow for a larger bed and please get a good one as a nights sleep is necessary when away from the comforts of home.

Would stay again but not in room 3!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Chose the Blue Ball because of its proximity to the airport more than anything. I was arriving late at night and would be gone the next morning so just needed somewhere cheap to rest for a few hours. The place exceeded requirements by a long way. Very appealing, old school English thatched look, the place was first opened 300 years ago.
Friendly staff behind the bar had me booked in in no time. I didnt stay in the main building but in a refurbished old cottage / possibly one time stable around the corner. Room was immaculate, two orange chocolate buscuits came supplied with the tea/coffee making facility. Its the small things!

That night I ventured into the pub itself. Just a few locals having a laugh, in that unmistakable Devon accent! Nice cool pint of Cornish ale went down well after a long days travel. As others have said, these rooms are right beside a road with fast traffic, but theres really no noise at night at all.

Next morning I ordered a plate of scrambled egg on toast which was clearly made by someone who knows a lot more than I do about making this simple dish, almost asked for seconds.

If Im ever in Exeter and don't need to be in the city centre, Ill be going back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night due mainly to its location to the rugby ground. Rooms are small but perfectly adequate. Noise from road did not disturb us at all. Breakfast in the morning was piping hot and plentiful. Just a suggestion but it would be nice to have an idea of the cost of breakfast or give room only or B&B choice when booking with perhaps a discount for B&B at time of booking. Staff were very courteous and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
The only down side was moving the bedside table to plug in hair dryer and finding lots of dirt and dust behind and even someone else's toe nail clipping! We also didn't have any towels on arrival but that was very quickly resolved.
With a bit more detail to housekeeping. I would be happy to stay here again and would recommend to others.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at Blue Ball Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Blue Ball.
I was extremely concerned to read about the housekeeping issues and have spoken at length to the team regarding the importance of making sure each room is thoroughly cleaned.

We keep our tariff affordable by offering room only with a breakfast option.. With regard to breakfast cost there should have been a breakfast menu in your room detailing our offering.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
3.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Property: Blue Ball Inn
Address: Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Ball Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Hotel Exeter
Blue Ball Inn Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing