We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embodiment of exactly what's wrong with corporate hotels”
Review of Jurys Inn Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Exeter
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 26 January 2014

From the unwelcoming lobby, the overpriced bar and the second-rate buffet breakfast to the laughable combo of overheated corridors and weasel words in the bathrooms about how much they care for the planet, this ugly, ill-sited hotel has all the faults of the corporate model. But it's worse than most: most have a carpark: this doesn't; most offer free wi-fi; this doesn't. (How mean and short-sighted is that?)

So: the guest ends up paying £7 to park in the bleak multi-storey carpark across the street; and has to pay £10 for 24 hours’ wi-fi, on top of a generally soulless experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,407 - 1,413 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

The postcode took me on a magical mystery tour of Exeter but we got there in the end, the hotel is functional without much character, but for a business trip it was great. The food was good and the bar fine. It was a great location to head out into Exeter Town Centre

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Well located a few minutes walk from the city centre and clubs/bars. Price was very reasonable compared to similar hotels in the area and included breakfast and wifi (however the wifi was pretty rubbish).

Bar downstairs that also sells snacks and Costa coffee (at a premium cost!). Staff were friendly and polite.

Only real problem was the cleanliness of the bathroom, there was human excrement on the back of the door. Surely this should have been cleaned prior to our stay?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sexytonyboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

An excellent, good value stay. Pleasant staff, good food in the bar, and comfortable night. A little hard to find as the address given is a little general and the navigation system did not list it on the list of hotels. The Exeter road network is a little hard to follow on a dark, wet night........ but got there in the end...

Room Tip: All rooms seem acceptable.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidRG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My family and I stayed here for 1 night whilst we where in the city and initially found the Jurys Inn really easy to find however upon arrival we discovered there wasn't a car park specifically for the hotel so you have to park either behind or in the multi story across the road for £7 (approx). We were welcomed only a couple of minutes after the allocated check in time and was told our room was already cleaned for us!! Very comfy beds and lovely bathroom, full advantage of the bath and extra pillows was taken. Only a 5 minute walk to the main shops was great and the staff are more than welcome to help if you need something. Only one downfall was that the wifi wasn't free..... Would recommend this to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Exeter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have just spent a night in this hotel (Sunday 29th December) as I was visiting family - and there were too many people coming for me to sleep at the house. I booked this as a cheap deal (£49 with breakfast) thinking, "Oh well, it will do, it does not matter if it is not great". However, it vastly exceeded my expectation. Friendly. efficient service, nicely furnished, a clean good sized room, with posh toiletries and a really good shower (no miserly trickle), and plenty of tea and coffee on the tray. The breakfast was lovely - nice and hot and lots of variety - and the dinning room was quiet, which was a plus.

I wish I had had longer to enjoy it, and will book with Jurys Inn again.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor (5th) , which meant it was quieter. I recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teaandtoast2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went a week before Christmas and it was a very practical and warm stay. It is right by the bus station and by the Princesshay Shopping centre (10 minute walk) which is where we spent most of our days. Also, the reception and bar area is very clean, elegant and warm and serves Costa Coffee. The rooms where a bit small and a bit old, but clean and the TV has the main British channels on it. The beds were very soft and I slept like a baby. Also, there is barely anyone there on the weekdays so it was peace. The staff was also very helpful and were very friendly. Breakfast was very nice, with a wide range (they even had roast potatoes for breakfast- which were surprisingly very nice in the morning). So I recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms were extremely quiet even on weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRHunt97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
4.7 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Exeter

Address: Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £55 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Exeter is ideally located in the heart of Exeter city, within walking distance to key transport hubs such as Exeter Central and St James' Park train stations, making it the ideal place to stay for business or leisure. Discover Exeter's significant historical heritage, explore the beautiful Dartmoor National Park or a shopping trip at Princesshay shopping quarter, all conveniently accessible from the hotel. Jurys Inn Exeter features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 9:30pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public parking is available at the NCP Summerland Gate Car Park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Exeter with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jurys Inn Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Exeter Hotel Exeter
Jurys Hotel Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing