We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to the city centre ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jurys Inn Exeter
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Walking distance to the city centre ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour, the hotel is very very close to the city centre, a 5 minute walk to food and attractions. Check in was very efficiently done, staff were very friendly. Rooms clean and spacious. Only issue is that walls are a bit thin, may be an issue for light sleepers but otherwise okay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    612
    284
    63
    43
See reviews for
339
439
93
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recommend this hotel highly. The staff is friendly and competent. The rooms are reasonably large, the location ideal. And the breakfast has to be eaten to be believed. Talk about value for money. Absolutely delicious. And inexpensive (ours was included in the accommodation price).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel check in was prompt and staff very friendly.
The room was clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities.
Refills for these were readily available from reception on request.
Food was of the usual standard for most hotels, with a good variety
of dishes to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raptormad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We particularly like the Jurys Inn hotels and make a point of staying in one if we can, when we are on the move. They don't have a Gym or Swimming Pool, but that does not bother us at all.
We were on our way down to Cornwall for a holiday and chose Jurys Inn Exeter for an overnight stay. Very handy for the city centre of Exeter.

Reception staff were very helpful. No car park here but they offer a discount at the NCP just across the road, pay at the hotel before you check out to get the discount.
The room was clean & the bed comfortable but the room was a little smaller than usual.
We were on the 4th floor and all was quiet - good air con.
The bathroom was exceptionally small with no bath, only a compact shower, loo & wash basin.
My wife had been looking forward to a nice soak in the bath after a long days drive, but that was not to be.

For whatever reason the Restaurant was closed on the night we visited and only food from the Bar menu was available. Not a problem for us as we usually eat in the bar at a Jurys Inn.
The food however was a problem. We ordered the cod and a rump steak.
The cod arrived as haddock and tasted good but the batter was soggy, chips lukewarm, mushy peas stiff and dry and the tartre sauce was runny.
The steak was well cooked but tasteless & chips lukewarm. I had to ask for the pepper sauce because it did not arrive with the meal. When it arrived, I have never had a pepper sauce like it, it was like coloured water and was so hot it left your mouth burning. Not at all pleasant.
Cheese and biscuits for afters - well they couldn't mess that up.
Bar food overpriced for the quality you receive here - not up to the usual standards for a Jurys Inn.
I have noticed that other people have commented about the food quality here.

MEMO TO MANAGEMENT: Please take food comments on board and address the issues that you have.

Buffet breakfast good value for money - very wide choice available - everything you could want.

We would stay here again but look to eat elsewhere in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed for two nights for a conference together with 12 colleagues. There was a booking mix up and we were two rooms short. However, the charming reception staff soon sorted this out. Spacious, light, clean room and bathroom. Breakfast was lovely, Lovely lunch and a nice dinner with plenty of choice. Thought the bar was a bit overpriced but when I visit Exeter again (didn't have time to do much but work!) I would certainly use this hotel

Room Tip: No noise issues in Room 305 which is always a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Has everything you need. Clean and comfortable bed, lovely power shower (no bath but no bother) good tv.. Lovely selection at breakfast including some nice smoothies and yoghurts. Would stay here again as the staff were also very kind and efficient

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TTMA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The reception staff were fabulous from check in to check out and all matters in between.

When I had to extend the booking from two nights to four nights, reception were absolutely flawless in making the experience a quick and easy one. They took care of everything in a professional and friendly manner.

The room itself was comfortable and clean and contained everything I needed. I found all members of the hotel staff to be welcoming and quite helpful.

The hotel is in a perfect location for quick and easy access to the city centre.

Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Exeter

Property: Jurys Inn Exeter
Address: Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Exeter is ideally located in the heart of Exeter city, within walking distance to key transport hubs such as Exeter Central and St James' Park train stations, making it the ideal place to stay for business or leisure. Discover Exeter's significant historical heritage, explore the beautiful Dartmoor National Park or a shopping trip at Princesshay shopping quarter, all conveniently accessible from the hotel. Jurys Inn Exeter features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 9:30pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public parking is available at the NCP Summerland Gate Car Park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Exeter with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, JurysInn, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Exeter Hotel Exeter
Jurys Hotel Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing