We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than some Michelin * venues”
Review of The Green Door - CLOSED

The Green Door
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: EX5 1LQ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than some Michelin * venues”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Visited when in Devon with relatives. We had a fabulous dinner, better than some Michelin * venues I've visited. Highly recommend the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Blnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    9
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I came here with my family (around 17 of us) for my grandad's 80th birthday meal. The chef and owner Mark was fantastic, he helped us plan the menu so that my grandad could have his fav food on the menu! When the food was served it tasted and looked fantastic! We all left feeling very happy and full with the lovely food! I will definitely be coming back very soon! The one thing I need to mention is the service, although the girls working tried very hard the service given was no where near the quality of the food given.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travel000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“V good food, service could be better”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We ate here on a Saturday evening. The food was good (on a par with our favourite La Petite Maison in Topsham) and reasonably priced for the quality. It's a small restaurant (22 covers I think) so there can be 'peaks and troughs' of work for the kitchen and serving staff. Not a problem, as we were happy to be in a warm, comfortable place. Overall we thought the service not up to par - the young waitress didn't have all the skills to match the quality of the food, though tried hard to please.
Don't go if you have a cat allergy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Exeter_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

Could not fault The Green Door. Great food, lovely decor and the staff are extremely attentive and welcoming. Will be returning very soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tompkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Dropped in without a reservation one Sunday lunchtime and was delighted to find a blazing log fire and really cosy atmosphere. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, the portions just the right size. It was backed up by excellent service and the personal attention of the very talented chef, Mark, who seems keen to ensure that every guest is satisfied. We had the traditional Sunday roast, which was perfect, but there are other, more adventurous dishes we are eager to try on our next visit. Madge T.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Madge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Door also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing