We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacked Atmosphere, Flexibility and Choice”
Review of The Green Door - CLOSED

The Green Door
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: EX5 1LQ
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lacked Atmosphere, Flexibility and Choice”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We are a group of friends who eat out at local restaurants on a regular basis and this was our first, and last, visit to the Green Door.
On our arrival we were ushered into a railway carriage style " holding area" until our table was ready and to order drinks. The availability of any variety of drinks was so limited as to be laughable. We had to order beers according to the few bottles that were left. The beer was awful and expensive and we had to make do.
The young lad who took our order for drinks and food was really nice, a big flaky but very helpful. The food availability was as limited as the drinks. Three of our group ordered beef in red wine, so sorry, only one of those left! Not a good start. However for the most part we were able to choose the rest. We eventually dined at 9pm after having ordered our table for 7.45pm
The food was excellent. Quite small portions but hot and very tasty. The dining area was so small two of our group had to move their chairs in every time a waiter or another diner passed.
To be absolutely fair, we had to laugh and we made the most of it. The staff really were most apologetic at some of the shortcomings but they were polite and helpful.
An interesting dining experience but one we shall not be repeating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    9
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't worry if Mark is not there!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ate dinner on Saturday 26th April. Mark the Owner/chef was not on duty, but we need not have worried. Heidi, the waitress on duty (its not very big!), served us excellently: Not a stuffy atmosphere and great food. My wife loved her plaice, and the desserts were very good: some unexpected touches such as an original amuse-bouche after taking our seats and a sorbet after the starter were pleasant surprises.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went to the Green Door the last bank holiday Friday evening, the welcome and the food was great and the service very good, 3 of us had the Brill and one the sea food Linguine all of which was delicious. I have to agree with a previous poster that the portions are not large but are perfectly presented and cooked.

We had a very enjoyable evening and will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EXETER
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“MAGNIFICENT”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place is an absolute gem. My wife and I visit regularly. It is clean and welcoming. The service is friendly but not remotely stuffy. Mark runs the place superbly. His food is absolutely fantastic. So tasty and always beautifully prepared. The wines are good too. The quality of this place is first class. We have eaten in a lot of establishments with big names and reputations and the vast majority of them fall short (and some of them a long way short) of the Green Door. Personally I find it hard to ignore the foie gras and the surf and turf but you won't go wrong with any of the dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A treat for your tastebuds close to Exeter.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Green Door at Woodbury provides the opportunity for diners to experience what is probably the best food in the locality. This little gem of a restaurant only seats about 20, with a further small room capable of providing private dining for a further 8. The quality of the food is excellent and, as all food is cooked freshly from base ingredients, the chef was happy to make changes to sauces etc. to satisfy the requirements of fussier customers.

We ordered our food and while we waiting for our starter were delighted when the waiter brought us out a delicious complimentary small pre-starter of lightly smoked fish moose with some olives. The different starters ordered by my wife and I were excellent, full of flavour and exquisitely presented. A complimentary Strawberry Sorbet full of flavour was served prior to the arrival of our main course to cleanse our palates.

I had selected fresh fillets of Brill cooked in garlic butter (instead of the lemon butter suggested on the menu) as my main course. Although portions may be considered small by diners with healthy appetites, the well balanced flavours made for an exquisite dining experience which more than adequately satisfied our hunger. Although by this time full, we almost forced ourselves to share a desert of Creme Brule just to satisfy our curiosity as to whether the chefs skills extended to the preparation of deserts. The Creme Brule was as good as I have sampled outside London. For the quality of food, prices were reasonable.

One downside is that the restaurant does not have any parking facilities and consequently diners must park on one of the nearby streets.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Door also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing