We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Bagette”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Door - CLOSED

The Green Door
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: EX5 1LQ
West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Bagette”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Tried this place as we fancied a bagette and they said they could this. The bagettes were lovely and fresh. My son had home chips and said they were the best he has ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    9
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devonshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Always reliable. Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We took the family to The Green Door for a birthday celebration. As usual, the food was excellent, a good choice, well presented and a delicious flavour. The crab soup, scallops etc. for starter was superb. For mains we had the surf and turf, slow cooked lamb, beef casserole etc. Everyone really enjoyed their choice. The amuse bouche and sorbet between the courses was a welcome surprise.
A nice selection of sweets too.
We have been here several times and always enjoy the food.
We wish Mark continued success with this little restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walkingwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Restaurant in the living room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

A domestic restaurant in the living room with six tables in solid oak and heavy black leather chairs feels a bit oppressive. Mark Pulman chef and owner was also serving our meals. I had scallops with pancetta and cauliflower puree which was very good. For the main course I had wild mushroom tagliatelli including morels with shaved parmisan. The sauce was a touch heavy. The meal included an amuse bouche, olives and tomato, and a sorbet between courses.

£22.50 per person without alcohol.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Dined here as we headed back from holidaying in Exmouth. Heard many good things about this place and to be fair the food (when it arrived) was really tasty, although a little on the small side. I had the catch of the day and the creme brulee to finish. The main issue was how long the service took, it was probably 50 minutes from when I ordered to when it arrived, and whilst I can understand that the big party in front would have slowed things down, small places tend to stagger service to ensure such delays are minimised. I would recommend eating here, but get in early!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our gang's monthly outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visited the Green Door restaurant as a party of eight on Friday 2nd May 2014. We were greeted by a pleasant but inexperience young man and shown to a basic waiting area for twenty minutes since our table was not ready. The choice of beer was limited to an obscure bottled variety. Our initial reservations were soon dispelled by the presentation of an excellent meal. An extensive varied menu offered a superb selection of quality cuisine. The table service was first class and we thoroughly enjoyed our monthly night out. The only downside was the somewhat basic toilet facilities which consisted of one toilet for both men and women.
I M Smith

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Door also viewed

Brampford Speke, Exeter
 
Clyst St Mary, Exeter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing