We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tapas outside of Spain.”
Review of El Bocado

El Bocado
Ranked #59 of 546 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Independent Tapas Bar and Restaurant serving authentic Spanish food. We are passionate about remaining authentic importing our Spanish ingredients and using local suppliers where possible.
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

El Bocado is slightly tucked out of the way but well worth a visit. The Owner was very welcoming and pleasant, the menu interesting and priced similarly to most Tapas restaurants.
There are a nice selection of drinks including Sangria made with Cava which my companion assured me was excellent.
The dishes were mouth watering to look at, and generally of excellent quality. We had tapas to start with and shared a paella after that, and as we thought we could gorge ourselves no more the waiter/owner came and described an enticing little dessert which we couldn't resist.
The interior of the restaurant is themed accordingly and comfortable, it could use a lick of paint here and there but nothing to put you off.
We ordered far too much food for two people (spent £64), I think two could eat well here for £40-50.
Overall, I would definatley recommend El Bocado. Dont settle for the sub standard La Tasca in the city centre, this one's well worth the walk.

Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

We are as you say a little out of the main shopping area of Exeter but less than 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral, and its an interesting walk.

We make all our own desserts, and have some mini desserts which are perfect if you just want a little bit of sweetness after dinner - as you found out!

Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 351 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

First time I have been here and I definitely would go back. Outstanding Spanish food cooked by an English chef!
We had the tapas for 2 and it was as good as any tapas we have eaten in Spain!

Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We take our chefs to Spain every year to remind them what authentic Spanish food looks and tastes like. and to get some inspiration for new dishes.

It's really important to us that we are authentic - many of our guests have been to Spain and experienced good Spanish food so we have to ensure that we compare favourably!

Thank you for a great review - hopefully we will see you again soon at El Bocado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We celebrated my husband's birthday here mid May and really enjoyed it. The food was great bar the large olives-we both found them very bitter but tastes differ.

Tapas was delicious-prawns a real highlight.

But what we felt really set el bocado apart was the service. Warm,genuinely friendly without being ott. The manager picked up on someone struggling to read the menu and fetched them a pair of glasses without being asked-that's what I call service. And no compulsory service charge.

Well done all at El Bocado we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MS1Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review.

We do pride ourselves on good service. We really care that you enjoy your visit and will go that extra mile whenever possible. We do keep a couple of pairs of basic reading glasses as so many people find that they have left theirs at home and then the menu can be a bit of struggle. It's helped a few of guests!!

Again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have eaten here on several occasions. I have never had a bad meal. The experience is so chilled, so amazing. Well done you

Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you.

We want all our guest to enjoy the food, the service and the ambiance. We don't rush our guest's - we aim for you to leave feeling happy, relaxed and full of lovely authentic Spanish food!

We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had no great expectations, but this place delivered. Had an excellent mojito, so I had another one. Fish and prawn balls (abondigas de gamba and bacalao) were excellent as was paella Valenciana. Surprising highlight was rum and raisin ice cream with sweet sherry. Not cheap, but recommended.

Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don_Sp, Owner at El Bocado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Its great that we exceeded your expectations!

We make everything in our kitchen and use authentic Spanish produce alongside local suppliers whenever possible. The fantastic Rum and Raisin ice cream is made 12 miles away, and is really well complimented by a good Spanish sherry. Has to be experienced!

Thank you very much for your review. I hope that we will see you again soon at El Bocado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Bocado also viewed

 

Been to El Bocado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing