We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location, attentive hosts”
Review of Kiddicott Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiddicott Farm
Ranked #22 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful location, attentive hosts”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed four nights, the room was spacious, spotless and with lovely views over the gardens and surrounding countryside. There was a little fridge in the room which was really useful, and the en-suite was light, airy and spotlessly clean. Our hosts were most attentive and helpful, the cooked breakfast was excellent and served in a lovely light dining room overlooking the gardens. There is ample parking space.
The only "down" side, was that there wasn't a mirror in the room near a plug-point - an essential for a woman who likes to get her hair sorted out before entering the outside world in the mornings, I meant to mention this to Christine before we left but will email her to see if that's something that she could look at providing). The mirror in the en-suite was too far from plug points when drying/straightening my hair.
Other than that - a perfect, restful stay and we will definitely be returning if they will have us!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoeliacSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
22
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The previous positive reviews of this lovely place are entirely justified. Stayed here for a couple of nights 2 weeks ago. The host is delightful and very keen to please and make your stay a comfortable one. The rooms are spacious, clean and almost all with en-suite. The breakfast is delicious. The surrounding scenery is spectacular, especially at sunset. I would stay again in a heartbeat. At the risk of sounding too sychophantic I will point out two small gripes. The wifi is sporadic to the point of non-existent but this, for me, was a relatively minor issue. Watch who you phone for a cab into Exeter as we were ripped off. Chrissie now has an updated list of cabbies who will take you to the town centre but not the cleaners. A fantastic find. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed here on 2 occasions and have always received a warm welcome from my host Christine and her husband. Each time I was given a spacious, well appointed room with en suite bathroom and excellent views over the countryside. A very peaceful place to stay and so convenient for the Motorway , Exeter, and nearby seaside resorts of Budleigh Salterton and Sidmouth. Excellent value and a place I would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived earlier than we said we would, as did a large family grouping, but we were still greeted with great warmth by Christine. The setting is peaceful and it was hard to believe we were so near to Exeter, and the motorway .... very convenient, as long as you have a car. It's a comfortable, if unfussily decorated, place; in my room, there was a little fridge, which was a lovely touch. And there was a sofa - not the norm for a b&b, I think. While it was great to have a sofa to slouch on whilst watching TV, it was a bit of a shame that I couldn't see said TV from my bed (luckily, most people aren't as obsessed by the talking box!).

Breakfast was tasty and you won't go away hungry (lots of the usual fare: branded cereals, bacon, beans, toast, etc). Overall, this is a nice, simple bed and breakfast but one that wins points for its wonderful quiet location and its extremely nice host.

Room Tip: My bedroom in the house was comfortable but there seemed to be a slight drifting smell of cigarette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CritterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here on business for two nights and, because of a road closure, did not arrive until nearly midnight. We were met by the owners, who were very understanding, and shown our room which was a charming eaves room with a large bathroom ensuite. The next morning we found the guest sitting room and fully equipped kitchen (including dishwasher and washing machine). Breakfast was great and cooked to order. The surroundings are very peaceful although it is only a few minutes to the M5 and 15 minutes away from Exeter Airport, the East Devon heritage coast, East Devon Commons and Exe Estuary are close by. Very good value for money and we would definately stay again.

Room Tip: ask for the room at the front with the ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloriamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We chose to stay here solely based on the reviews on this website and I have to say it turned out to be one of the best places we`ve ever stayed.
We were given a huge spacious room with lovely views over the countryside. Our host Christine and her husband were brilliant and always made sure our stay was going to be unforgettable.
They also recommended wonderful places to eat and memorable places to visit all over Devon and Cornwall.
She also cooked us the tastiest and most scrumptous breakfast and tried her best to convince my partner against a visit to the local Debenhams for the sales which eventually proved futile.
With easy reach of not only Exeter but Exmouth and Devon, I would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordmnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My partner Pete and I stayed here this last weekend, with our son Tom joining us for the weekend, he has just started his training at the Commando Training Centre in Lympstone. With a warm welcome, our stay was a 10/10 on every level. Christine is wonderful, kind and generous of heart, and of breakfast, which is amazing. The annexe that we stayed in was finished to a fantastic standard, and the view from the sitting room patio is simply stunning (as well as all the bedrooms). We will definately be back, whether to see our Tom again, or just for a lovely weekend away. We highly recommend it. As well as taking a very short drive to Budleigh Salterton (amazing pebble beach and quaint english seaside town) and Exmouth, Exeter (fab shopping and great places to eat), the Diggers Arms (just down the lane) for excellent food.
We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolyon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
497 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtbrook Farm
Courtbrook Farm
#35 of 68 in Exeter
11 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eastcote Luxury Guest House
1.2 mi away
Blue Ball Inn
Blue Ball Inn
#11 of 68 in Exeter
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiddicott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiddicott Farm

Property: Kiddicott Farm
Address: Kiddicott Farm Oil Mill Lane | Clyst St. Mary, Exeter EX5 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kiddicott Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiddicott Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing