We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiddicott Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiddicott Farm
Ranked #24 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A very quiet location, really comfortable bed, panoramic views, large room spotlessly clean, great breakfast (including freshly prepared fruit salad and local eggs) and a lovely warm welcome from Christine. We stayed two nights and had two good night's sleep. Christine is the perfect host, we really felt at home. Easy access from M5 and only 10 minutes from Exeter a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
19
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Christine and Malcolm welcome you into their home or a 3 bed annexe with self catering units opening, hopefully, next year. Their gardens are extensive with amazing views from sitting on the terrace.

Christine couldn't have been more helpful and goes the extra bit further to assist her guests with any query. We needed to borrow a Hoover and a set of steps for our stand at the Devon Show which was no trouble at all. Breakfasts are first class with great coffee.

We ate at the Diggers Rest and Half Moon pubs both only a few minutes drive away. Good food for lunch and evening meals. Make sure to book a table as both were busy.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms in main house and both are spacious and comfortable with linked beds so either twin or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossa9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have to say I fail to understand the negative comments from the previous reviewer. We stayed here recently under sad circumstances . Christine was both supportive and understanding of our needs . The accommodation itself was pleasant and comfortable . We had a large room in the annexe with everything we needed . There was a lovely bathroom with power shower plenty of piping hot water ! There was also a large lounge and kitchen where guests can make drinks , snacks or iron etc . The whole place was so quiet and peaceful with amazing views . Christines breakfasts are something else ( even the light ones ) they certainly set you up for the day . I recommend this place without a doubt and thank you Christine for your care during the weekend .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanabird51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here after reading the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. I fail to understand the basis of so many positive comments by previous visitors praising the quality and level of the amenities.

We stayed in an en-suite room in the main house which was furnished by what seemed to be mismatched cast offs. There was only one bedside table, and only a bedside lamp on that side. On the other side was a small beer fridge serving as a tea-making area. There were no other tables in the room to put toiletries etc. There was no mirror and the only socket was behind the beer fridge to make tea, keep milk cold and use for other electrical requirements.

The bathroom had no shelves and it was impossible to have a standup shower as the ceiling was sloping and there was no fixed mounting for the shower and no shower curtain. There was no hook on the bathroom door.

The bedroom curtains were ancient and unlined, and the duvet cover was circa 1970's.

The lounge/breakfast room only had 2 armchairs facing away from the window. It had a family drum kit in the corner and a rotary ironer on a table. The insulation in the entire house was inferior allowing speech from other rooms to be heard. We were the only guests and while we were having breakfast loud explosive toilet noises followed by flushing came from above our heads. Not very conducive to giving one an appetite!!!

The accommodation compared extremely badly against other B&B's in the same price range. At £90 it is at the top end of the range for B&B's and for this budget we have stayed in so many excellent country house B&B's.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Maura20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Kiddicott Farm is set in some beautiful countryside in a very peaceful location, but what makes it really special is the warmth of the welcome from Christine who treats you as if you are family. The breakfasts are hearty and tasty - sausages & bacon from just down the road etc. Bedrooms are large & there is also a comfortable lounge for guests' use. A lovely place - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodplacehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were late in booking a place to stay and found this place by accident and what a great place to stay. close to Exeter and motorway but very peaceful and comfortable. Stayed in the annexe with fine views over the countryside. Breakfast set us up for the day and choice was excellent. A well run family business, would return anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the fields to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We found the perfect b&b.
christine welcomed us most warmly, the accomodation was extremely comfortable,quiet and spacious. the views from our bedroom & sitting room were georgeous,and good pub meals were close at hand. we went out of our way to stay again on our return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.9 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
1.1 mi away
Eastcote Luxury Guest House
12.6 mi away
Frogmill B&B
Frogmill B&B
#1 of 4 in Tedburn St. Mary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiddicott Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiddicott Farm

Property: Kiddicott Farm
Address: Kiddicott Farm Oil Mill Lane | Clyst St. Mary, Exeter EX5 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kiddicott Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiddicott Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing