We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hygiene problem”
Review of Buffet City

Buffet City
Ranked #350 of 530 Restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Hygiene problem”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Food very nice however seeing member of leaving wc without any attempt to wash his hands has put me off returning.i reported this to the cashier who said she will talk to said member of staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    100
    61
    41
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a Good Selection”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When shopping in Exeter, there is no better place to have lunch. Always good value for money, I have never known any waiting time, and always a really good range of dishes, including deserts. I always enjoy a buffet, in any town that I am in, but this is one of the best for value/variety

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TIMETRAVELLERANDCOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moaning people”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Buffet city is all you can eat Chinese at low prices.
If you want top notch food go la tasca.(now closed due to over priced)
We have been there many times over the last few years never had a problem.
If people want discount for children and it's a measuring system put up with it or pay full price.
So enjoy a reasonable priced meal with a great selection and accept it for what it is a buffet :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot. Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PLEASE BE WARNED.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

BE WARNED if you intend to eat here and especially if you have children.

We were purposely misled that we were taking advantage of Buffet City's half-price offer if we were booked and dining before 5pm.

It was only when we asked to settle our bill that we were informed we had to have “eaten and paid our bill BEFORE 5pm” to qualify for their half-price offer!
We also only then found out that children have to QUALIFY to eat half-price and they only qualify if they are less than 4’ 6”!

If this wasn’t enough BE WARNED again. Irrespective of children’s ages they are asked to stand against a pre-measured 4’ 6” mark on the restaurants wall to establish whether they are 4’ 6” or less to enable them to qualify for their half-price meal. This humiliating practice is requested by the greedy management in full view of the other diners regardless of your or your children’s embarrassment. Also, what they didn’t inform us of is an additional charge to use a credit card.

I also noticed that the management were attempting to entice “short – sighted” customers to return by giving them an alluring £5 off voucher but in the small print it states;
“each person must spend at least £2 on drinks” to qualify!

We purposely chose this venue because it is big enough to accommodate our birthday celebrating party of fifteen. However, we can honestly say that the food was poor and ultimately, very overpriced.

We have since noticed that the management just don’t appear to care about feedback comments as they’ve not responded to any as yet?

In hindsight we made two mistakes; not checking Tripadvisor and eating there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank paulaslett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Be warned. Misleading pricing for this restaurant. Arrived at 4.30pm before "cut off time of 5pm" believing would be charged lower price but charged full price for our large party. This turned out very expensive as many children in group who actually, as some kids do, ate probably only a few chips.
Feel management need to make this clearer and drinks over priced. There is alot of choice here for diners and lots of sweets however lots of dishes tasted bland and I query some being left to go cold for long periods?
Wished I had read comments prior to going and worryingly the ones about people being unwell afterwards.
Even more concerning is the lack of any acknowledgements from the management to anyone on this site who left feedback.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet City also viewed

 

Been to Buffet City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing