We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and service”
Review of The Diggers Rest

The Diggers Rest
Ranked #49 of 534 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value and service”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Great food and a super atmosphere! food was delivered to the table with perfect timing! Staff were friendly and efficient. Good selection of beers and wines sensibly priced. Varied menu with something for everyone! We had a great night

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    104
    35
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Almost ... but not quite”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Visited for lunch with friends. Our discussion afterwards was interesting - every positive was followed by a "but". Such as - The food was OK ... but the menu was a bit odd. The pub was olde worlde ... but it felt rather tired. All of the front of house staff were very pleasant ... but who was in charge? The cost was reasonable ... but we've had better value elsewhere. And so on. The Diggers Rest just needs a hard shove in the right direction and it will be be a very good pub indeed. At the moment there are too many 'buts' for it to be any more than average.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMPartialDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and fantastic pub food”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A little off the beaten track but quite close to Exeter and well worth a visit. As far as pub food goes this is as good as it gets. A lovely menu supported by a number of daily specials and a two course option for £9.95 which proved to be amazing value. This is excellent restaurant standard food, cooked fresh which means it takes longer to arrive than some might be used to in the average pub. This is not an average pub and it's worth the wait. The nachos and tortillas which my daughter chose as a starter were freshly home made and were absolutely fantastic. My mackerel rillette was equally good as was my son's ox tail. My wife's fish gougons were freshly cooked in batter, not the packet variety served in most establishments. Mains of a thai pork salad, duck breast and risotto were equally good.

This is way beyond usual pub food standard and with excellent friendly service and dogs allowed in part of the bar it was a very good choice. If you're in the area make the effort to go - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W3lshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed a good home cooked lunch and the desserts were also very tasty,the service was rather slow but the food produced was worth the wait would recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libsj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed overall”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Visited for Sunday lunch as part of a family group. The first waitress (blonde bob and glasses) who took our food and drinks order was smiley, quick and efficient. The set menu of one course for £9.95, two for £14.95 or three for £19.95 looked lovely, with just enough choice and seemed reasonably priced. The dining area had a lovely, buzzy atmosphere mostly full of families but not too noisy. The food arrived fairly quickly.
I had the roast beef with Yorkshire pudding and was disappointed; the beef, although cooked well, was fatty. The potatoes were soggy and the Yorkshire really, really heavy and stodgy. The filo parcel seemed like it could do with some sauce as it was apparently very dry. Several of us ordered meals which come with vegetables but we were initially only given one small side dish of veg and one small dish of cauliflower cheese to share between six. The sullen young waitress (black ponytail, jeans) seemed not to care and we were made to feel like we were interfering. Not one smile, apology or any eye contact from her. We also had to ask three times for some horseradish.
Food and partially poor service let the side down on this occasion...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rusty-storme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Diggers Rest also viewed

 
Clyst St Mary, Exeter
 

Been to The Diggers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing