We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ”
Review of The Diggers Rest

The Diggers Rest
Ranked #48 of 527 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food ”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Sunday evening. Had a fantastic roast with the biggest Yorkshire puddings. Staff friendly and welcoming and really good value for money. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    103
    33
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One to watch!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having enjoyed the food here 20 yrs ago but having seen it changed hands and gone down hill I was interested to hear that once again the pub was in the hands of owners who want to make their mark on the food scene.
The menu was varied, interesting and very tempting. I was about I order something safe and saw another tables order arrive and went for something totally different based on the fab presentation mad amazing smells wafting over to our table! We ordered between us the ham hock and poached egg starter which was sublime, the calamari and cod which was very flavoursome and the mackerel pate which was good. We followed this with the diggers burger which was so good it nearly finished its owner off for the evening and that's a big deal! We also had belly pork with creamy cabbage and black pudding which was fantastic! Also the sirloin steak, a safe but very tasty choice. The brownie with sorbet followed, surrounded by a creamy chocolatey sea of loveliness. A fantastic meal with perky, attentive and endearing service. The Diggers Rest seems to have its mojo back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaG999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

While on holiday in Devon with my family, we wanted to leave our park and go out for a Sunday roast. This place came up well in reviews so, even though it was a bit out of the way, we were not disappointed. Pleasant staff who found us a table, even though we didn't book and made us feel welcomed and took our drink orders quickly. Menu wasn't extensive but what they did have was great. They offered 2 courses for £14.95 and from this we ordered pork with lots of crackling,plenty of potatoes and perfectly cooked veg. Extra for more roasties and a whooping big Yorkshire which was worth it. Children's meals were fab-chips which were huge, fish in batter was delicious and yummy sausages, all homemade which was a treat. This was followed by great desserts-I had the apple strudel and ice cream and this was delicious too. A great meal and evening out was had by all-it's a shame more places don't produce quality food like here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, friendly and good value”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Friday night at The Diggers was a great way to start the weekend. The staff were very welcoming and keen to ensure that we enjoyed our evening. The restaurant was busy and there was a lovely buzz to the place. We both ordered the Welsh Rarebit - wow! What a surprise. So much more than I had expected - truly delicious! And the desserts were equally good. The menu includes your traditional pub food, but there are also some twists on classics and some more varied options too. The food was beautifully presented and well priced. We'll be going back again soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Owleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value and service”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Great food and a super atmosphere! food was delivered to the table with perfect timing! Staff were friendly and efficient. Good selection of beers and wines sensibly priced. Varied menu with something for everyone! We had a great night

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Diggers Rest also viewed

 

Been to The Diggers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing