We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of The Diggers Rest

The Diggers Rest
Ranked #45 of 527 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Teignmouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good pub with new landlord.
Plenty of parking,front door was locked? May be a oversight but will cost them passing business from clients who do not know the pub.
Food was good and service friendly and efficient.
Will return for lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 21Redfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    103
    33
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“food average, service appalling”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

six of us went recently, we ordered our drinks and were shown to our table, the drinks we were told would be brought over, and they were 20 odd minutes later after having to chase them again. We then waited for over half an hour for our food order to be taken, and that was only after going to the bar to ask if there was table service or did we need to go to the bar to order!
The starters arrived 1h and 20 minutes after us arriving, the food was ok, however not particularly good value, acceptable but overpriced for what it was.
Its shame as it is a lovely old pub and was busy with a good atmosphere, however if everyone had the same experience as we did I doubt they will return. We live locally but won't be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lovely old country inn”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped at The Diggers Rest for lunch on our way to South Devon based on Sawdays Guide. It really is a lovely old character inn which serves excellent food and beer and not surprisingly quite busy. The fresh fish was excellent and staff all very friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mickletonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ok food, not great service”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Vegetarian option barely even make it on the menu, however the mushroom soup was delicious and the mushroom on toast all lovely.
Bread basket with barely enough bread for 2 let alone 4 and with 3 tiny dobs of butter, we asked for more and we did get.
Good food just don't expect much choice but saying that we were given set menus so maybe other menu is bigger.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“five excellent lunches”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

myself wife and three friends went for a midweek lunch
ample parking
well received by an attentive waitress
we had a variety of lunches including a whole seared plaice, hake and asparagus, steak and ale pie and two had chicken and wild mushrooms cooked and served in individual pots
we all enjoyed very much
the desserts were very good and artistcally arranged
all in all a very enjoyable lunch and although not cheap was excellent value

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Diggers Rest also viewed

 
Brampford Speke, Exeter
 

Been to The Diggers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing