We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ouch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor
Ranked #42 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ouch!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here this weekend whilst attending a wedding. OH has stayed here previously and despite no raving reviews has always said has been value for money. The hotel is now a Toby Carvery, from the outside, it looks incredibly run down, but never to be one to take a book by its cover, i kept my mind open and was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room, it was clean and servicable and at £60 inc breakfast for the night seemed good value until it came to actually sleeping in it that is.

The most important piece of furniture in the room, the bed, was atrocious and not something you want to discover at 1am on a sunday morning after having been awake 21 hours. The matress was none existant and you may as well of been sleeping on the frame, you could feel every strut of the base through it. Two days later I am still suffering from my mere 6 hours lay on it, with bruised hips and ribs to boot.

Breakfast was ok and for a carvery style set up very well organised but terrible coffee.

a real shame that the bed let down what could of been a great value for money hotel. It will never be the Ritz but expected more.

Other members of the party advised beds of varying standards so we may have drawn the short straw. avoid room 231 should you be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuddingPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    33
    22
    25
    27
See reviews for
28
54
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scot in Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the Exeter Toby Carvery Inn from the 14th to the 20th September at £50 per night bed and breakfast. Very good value for money and very good location coming off the M5. It is also convenient for the park and ride to Exeter town centre, saving the nightmare one way system and expensive parking. The breakfast was eat all you can English breakfast and it was not until day 3 that cereal boxes were put out for a lighter option. The English breakfast was perfect and the evening carvery buffet was exceptional value for £5.99.

The downside is that the rooms and corridors are grubby and the "lodges" are not exactly a hotel. Everything is worn and tired looking. Staff were very helpful and friendly and there is free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and bar area but not the rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the car park as the pub and restaurant have a huge turnover from about 6pm onsards. Our reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronscrimgeour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Torbay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed one night here as we had an early appointment in Exeter the following day. I booked online the day before and on the day of arrival I received a phone call to say the room I had booked was unavailable due to a maintenance issue. Offered a £10 reduction and alternative room I accepted.
On arriving..... as previous reviews mentioned the place looked run down with the fencing and overgrown car park. Rooms were dated but clean and 'liveable' We asked about booking an evening meal and was told unnecessary, just walk in.
The Carvery....we walked in to queues of people waiting to drink and / or eat. We were told a wait of 20-25 minutes so we went to the bar. A queue of 10 people waiting to be served drinks resulted in another 15 minutes wait. The website photos depicting a clean, attractive buffet area for the carvery couldnt have been more misleading. The floor and side panel of the carvery was strewn with food waste. The queue at the carvery area was 20+ deep. Upon reaching the 'swap ticket for food' position the 'chef' asked me which meat I would like. When I said 'Beef please' he said it was still cooking. I asked him if I had to go to the end of the queue again and he disappeared briefly returning with a joint of beef. After several attempts to eat the roast beef I gave up and complained to the waiting staff. The meat was one huge piece of gristle. Our meal bill was cancelled and the restaurant manager apologised.

Room Tip: I would advise any potential traveller to avoid the carvery at busy times, the staff just cannot cop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulstabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Had a pleasant stay here recently, rooms were nice and clean and the buffet breakfast was nice. Comfy bed, clean, modern television, clean bathroom, good value for money, very happy with the stay friendly staff too at reception and the bar,id stay there again no problem.

Room Tip: worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

For the price we paid represents excellent value. Not perfect, the room looked a little tired, only had one chair and as it was a very hot summers day we really sweltered in the heat, but if we wanted more we would expect to pay a lot more. We wanted a place to sleep during our journey and that is exactly what we got. Restaurant was very busy in the evening, long queue for the carvery.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

No name signs up so difficult to find. On arrival looked like a demolition site - surrounded by metal fencing. Overwhelming smell of damp/mustiness in corridors. Rooms very dated, wallpaper hanging off, rotten/mouldy window frames. One room smelled of cigarette smoke. Didn't stay!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Must admit that this "hotel" accommodation is very dated and the entrance is particularly unwelcoming, with musty smelling corridors and plenty of steps to lug your bags down and up if you have a 2nd floor room, as we did. However, the room was clean and bathroom adequate although the door was difficult to open from the inside... Very little traffic noise and we both slept soundly. Cooked breakfast was available in monster portions but we had to ask for yoghurt and no fruit was available. One night was fine but we wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer. As a cheap and cheerful option, it's OK but nothing more.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
3.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst ...
#1 of 1 in Clyst Saint George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor
Address: Rydon Lane | Middlemoor, Exeter EX2 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its 38 rooms have been totally refurbished for a fresh and contemporary look, there's free WiFi, a complimentary continental breakfast and ample free parking. Best of all, you can look forward to sinking into a king-size, pocket-sprung Hypnos bed, complete with a mattress topper for a great night's sleep. With easy access from the M5, Exeter Airport and Digby and Sowton railway station, it's an ideal venue for a business meeting or base for exploring local attractions. Kids love Devon's Crealy Great Adventure Park, with its heart-stopping rides for thrill seekers and soft-play and animal petting for younger guests. If you prefer relaxing in the countryside, Dartmoor National Park and the inspiring Jurassic Coast are less than 30 minutes' drive. There's a Toby Carvery pub and restaurant right next door; an ideal way to relax after your day. Enjoy a drink in the bar or pile your plate high with freshly cooked roast meats and vegetables – and don't forget to try a hot cooked breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Middlemoor Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing