We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Hampton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$127
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
US$105
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queens Court(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveller rating
486
530
184
33
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
530
184
33
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnpark and ridehi expressowl pubbeanspub next doorsofa bedfree breakfastmet officeself serviceconvenient locationair conyogurtplenty of parkingcity centregood sizebudget hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed for two nights after Christmas. The rooms were clean and comfortable as usual and the staff were helpful. I have stayed at this hotel many times and no hesitation in staying again. The breakfast is not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. The cooked offering appears to have been previously prepared and reheated. The croissants were cold has if they had just come out of the fridge. Staff are slow in replenishing dishes at busy times. The problem with the breakfast is the same in all the HIE I have stayed in.
The Barn Owl pub next door is excellent, good food and good staff. The lights on the steps between the hotel and Barn Owl need repairing, they have not been working for months and the pathway is dark.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajw992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

great base for the area, spotlessly clean, helpful staff and a brilliant vintage inn next to the car park. For a no frills stay in Exeter, with breakfast thrown in, I would recommend the Holiday Inn

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V3463HSchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Just returned from 4 day break, booked two interconnecting rooms & all was great, spotless clean, great comp breakfast, friendly staff, over all very well done, will return again

Room Tip: rooms on 2nd floor very quite,
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such great feedback, it is certainly very motivational for the team at the Hotel to read.

As a customer services team we aim to meet all guests’ needs and requirements and I am pleased to hear you felt you received that.

We hope to see you again at Holiday Inn Express, Exeter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed here before flying from Exeter airport on holiday. It is spotless. The rooms have everything you need. We had to be up and out for 5.45am. The reception staff were very helpful, they booked our taxi for us, plus an early morning call, plus there was a continental breakfast laid on even at such an early hour the next day, and the car was left for 8 nights, which we came back to without any hitches. There is also a lovely pub a few hundred yards away from The holiday inn called the Barn Owl. It was great, could well recommend all this as a good start to anyones holiday.

Room Tip: there is no airport transportation connected to the hotel as such, but they will get you a taxi, no problem, which will cost between 9/11 pounds each way.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3Minis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Booked this last minute paying rack price.

The room was clean and typical of a holiday inn express. Room was an okay size, larger than some of their inner city hotels. Check in was quick and our priority club status was recognised. Bed was firm enough and everything was clean.

We just wanted somewhere on our way home for an overnight stay that wasnt too far from the motorway, we were not visiting Exeter so I cannot coment on whether it is suitable for visiting there. There is a largeish chain pub next door which does nice food if you dont want to explore much.

Breakfast was simple but plenty to choose from. Would stay again if I needed a stop over but this is not a destination hotel in itself.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stacvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased that you found our Hotel a convenient stop over from the motorway, for future reference we are only approximately 4 miles from the City Centre, and are fortunate to have a Park and Ride Bus Service operate every 8 minutes from outside the Hotel into the City Centre.

It is great to read that the Holiday Inn Express is a brand you choose to use regularly as a Priority Club Member and you felt recognised for this. We strive to recognise our regular guests’ as well as welcome new.

We hope to welcome you again to Holiday Inn Express, Exeter and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews