We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much inferior to other budget hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much inferior to other budget hotels”
Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

I was very disappointed in this hotel. In just about every way it is inferior to a Premier Inn, yet is more expensive. My room was small, with a double bed, small towels, no bath, noisy aircon/heating, ancient TV a I think the kettle was once white plastic (it isn't now). Even the plug sockets aren't in convenient locations - people use hair straighteners in front of mirrors these days you know.

In contrast, at aforementioned hotel chain, you get a decent sized room, superking bed, large flat screen TV with freeview (and you can bring your own films on USB stick and watch them on it) good sized towels and a decent breakfast.

The only things to recommend this hotel are location and free wifi (which I understand is a recent thing). It's just very tired looking. I won't be coming back.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Meglet74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    488
    166
    28
    13
See reviews for
263
347
61
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have stayed in many Holiday Inns over the last few years, here and in the States, and I'm pleased to say this matched any of them. I book at HI Express because you know exactly what you're getting in terms of room comfort, layout, breakfast etc and none of it disappointed.

We stayed here as it was just a couple of miles from the airport so great from location point of view. We had to leave early in the morning and were told that the hot items for breakfast wouldnt be there until 7am, but the other cold stuff would be. I was disappointed as I look forward to the scrambled eggs etc, but thankfully everything was out when we came down anyway :-)

Good hotel and no reason not to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should overlook a grassy area/pond rather than the car park at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestEnglishman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Last year I wrote a 'poor' review and was invited back by way of an apology - last year was a bad one. I recently undertook the offer with reserved feelings. Arrival was good, reception staff very friendly, so far so good. Room was a bit on the small side but that was because the double sofa bed was used for my daughter. It was clean and well presented. The dining area and basically the whole building was exceptionally clean but I do have one MASSIVE point to tell anyone reading this review. I was staying over a Bank holiday weekend. The hotel expected 90 guests. They had 170. They performed miracles with the breakfasts and dining area. They regularly checked the levels of food and how hot it was. They were so busy keeping it ticking over, that I hope they were treated to a nice long drink afterwards. WELL DONE TO YOU ALL FOR THIS ALONE!!!!
I would now totally recommend this HIEX to all, but don't all rush at once as I would like to stay again next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: Check website and book executive room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanWilliams, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that we have restored your faith in our Hotel! As explained your previous experience is not an experience that is delivered to our guests under usual circumstances.

We do have a limited area to accommodate our guests for breakfast however our fully trained team are ready to anticipate our guests needs and ensure breakfast is fully stocked and our guests are happy.

I have pass on your great comments to my team, they find positive commentsextremely motivating especially with the busy periods coming up.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you again.

Debbie Hamnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury, u.k.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

stayed here for one night in march. contacted hotel prior to booking to ask how to get there using public transport and was given number of a local taxi firm which was very useful as park and ride had finished when i arrived in exeter. rooms very clean. nice breakfast. would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babe199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave here your comments for everyone to read.

It is great that our local taxi firm were useful, we do endeavour to use the same taxi firm for our guests to ensure a high service is met and any feedback is easily directed.

Thank you again for your great comments regarding your room and breakfast, all feedback is greatly appreciated and we are sure to share this with our team.

We look forward to seeing you again at Holiday Inn Express, Exeter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel is centrally located for a trip to Devon. It's only 5 minutes drive from the M5 and very close to the airport. It's easy to visit Exeter City Centre with the park and ride situated right across the road. (Thoroughly enjoyed the museum!). Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the staff all very friendly and helpful. Great value for money for a family room which included breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Ideal location for the airport. Reception staff helpful and polite. Room was basic but clean and included what you needed for a short stay. Whilst there was a choice of pillows - soft or hard - they are cheap. Bed was comfortable enough. Plenty of parking and great pub next door.

Breakfast was a bit chaotic due to everyone arriving at the same time - however, the food was adequate and there was enough choice.

Not a luxurious stay by any means but I would certainly stay here again for one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiphiphooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased you found our Hotel in an ideal location and it is great to hear our team were helpful and polite towards your needs.

I apologise you feel the pillows are not up to your standard, these are all relatively new to the Hotel, however I will be sure to feedback your comments to our provider.

I am pleased, although busy, our breakfast offer met your expectation. We are an incredibly busy Hotel and aim to ensure our breakfast buffet levels are always to our guests satisfaction.

It is great to read you would use the Hotel again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portreath
Level Contributor
175 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

A very good overnight stop close to the airport. Rooms clean and comfortable, good breakfast the next day. Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M00sej00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,593 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,001 reviews
3.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing