We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, on our way to Cornwall. The hotel is in a convenient location for a road trip in that direction, and there is a park and ride just across the road, for trips into Exeter town centre.

The reception staff at the hotel were some of the best I have encountered, nothing was too much trouble for them. I didn't get their names, but the staff on duty on the evening of 4 June were particularly helpful. They spent a lot of time, giving us codes for free wifi in the lounge area, and recommending local restaurants.

Breakfast was very good, particularly as it was included in the price.

They would have scored a 5, were it not for the fact that the room was really too small for a family of 4. You could barely move with the 2 double beds made up, and could not use the desk at all.

Also, our hotel room door would not lock, which meant anyone could just walk into our room when we went out, though we were able to bolt it from the inside. We did report this to the staff, but they seemed unable to fix the problem, and it remained that way until we left.

However, we really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller693789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your positive feedback. It is incredibly motivating to receive such great customer reviews in particular towards our staff customer service.

I apologise you had issues with your door lock; I can confirm we have managed to address the issue we were having during your stay.
For future reference we do offer interconnecting rooms for our larger families, this is a twin bedded room and a double-bedded room. Please be sure to check availability on these this upon your next reservation.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

We arrived at the Holiday Inn on Bank Holiday in the UK, knowing we were too early to check in, but in desperate need of a dentist. Staff member, Sino, went out of her way to help us, doing her best to contact a dentist for us, finding us the first available room, treating my husband and myself with care and courtesy. The Holiday Inn was also close to the airport, next door to a great pub with excellent meals, and though rooms were small, they were spotlessly clean. Thank you, Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanWilliams, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Guests,
Firstly, you are very welcome!

I am taking this opportunity to thank you for such personal and fantastic feedback towards our staff. We will be sure to recognise Sino and the team for exceeding their customer service expectations. It is great to hear the same levels of service are being adhered too even throughout busy periods.

We hope to see you again in the future and hope you enjoyed your Holiday.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express Hotel on the way back from Lands End and found the staff extremely helpful and very professional. The room was spotless, decor lovely and very spacious.
Situated just off junction 29 of the M5 it was extremely easy to reach and just a minute away from the motorway.

Room Tip: Great stopover point from Lands End
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary1812travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Fast, friendly service for all my big tour-groups. Nice and comfy rooms for this price and girls at Reception very helpfull!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liubov Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Booked in advance and got a reasonable price. Was going to a wedding and arrived early lady on the desk checked us in early and booked taxis for us. staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean an reasonably equipped for our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillysav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in exeter and we was greeted when we checked in, Reception and the staff was polite .We had in-connecting rooms, which was fab as we could leave it open and keep an eye on the kids, i thought the bathroom was really nice and modern.The bed was lovely and comfortable The room was a nice size. Breakfast was included and there was a whole range to choose from, I liked where the hotel was as there was places to go near by which was good! All in all we would definitely go again and it is a very well managed hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I booked a standard room last week (2nd May) but when I arrived I was allocated a smoking room, which stank to high heaven. I could not sleep properly and all my clothes reeked of stale smoke in the morning. I complained to guest services who advised me that it was company policy to allocate rooms on a first come first served basis. It was the worst night I have ever had in a hotel, and will never stay there again . I cannot take the risk

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanWilliams, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to contact our guest relations department at Intercontinental Hotels and for sharing your recent stay experience`s regarding our hotel on Trip advisor.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to being allocated a smoking bedroom on arrival. As previously explained by the hotel duty manager and our guest relations department the room description for a standard room which was booked states “When you arrive at the hotel we will do our best to meet your room bed type and smoking preferences, these are subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed standard rooms”
Unfortunately on the night of your stay the hotel was exceptionally busy and all non-smoking rooms had already been allocated to guests that specifically booked non-smoking.
Please accept my apologies that we were unable to meet your requests on this occassion, if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me on 01392261000.
Kind Regards
Debbie Hamnett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,852 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
5.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#21 of 31 in Exeter
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £36 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing