We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our 5th stay at the hotel and unfortunately had a problem with our room this time. The room did not seem to be to the same level of décor as our previous stays and the carpet did seem pretty stained. But as it was one night and we did check in early we just excepted it.
The problem started when we tried to go to sleep. The room was next to a boiler and about every 20 minutes the boiler fired up which at first does startle you. This was impossible for me to sleep through. I am a light sleeper and when booking in I did ask for a quiet room!!
Anyway I rang down about 12.45am and a very nice man came to the room with a new room card so we could go there to sleep. Unfortunately this room was cold and heating too noisy to keep on. Then at 6.30 we had noisy neighbours. Not the hotels fault there.
Anyway on checking out I handed my cards into Laura who knew all about the problem and was very good in dealing with this very professionally. Thank you.
Breakfast was thank goodness not as busy as previous stays but I must mention as do many others that the orange juice is terrible.
Its a shame we had problems this time but for the way it was dealt with I am sure, price being right we will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjgfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at our Hotel.
I am disappointed to read that this stay was not up to your usual enjoyable stay with our Hotel. I would be very grateful to know which bedroom it is that you stayed in most recently so I can assess the quality; we work very hard to maintain our Hotel and keep all bedrooms up to a high standard. I do sincerely apologise you were disturbed during your night’s stay, however I am pleased that our 24 hours guest services team did manage to move your bedroom immediately to prevent any further inconvenience to you, I can only apologise that you then had noisy neighbours.
As a team, we pride ourselves in our Service Recovery and if any guest is unhappy with their stay we aim to recover that situation so our guests leave our Hotel happy to return. I am so pleased that you felt that Laura and the team involved did this for you.
Please do contact me directly when you are next visiting the area and I will arrange your next stay with us.
Kindest Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    487
    166
    28
    13
See reviews for
262
347
61
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was the second time this year we had stayed at this hotel and I would say that it was better than our previous experience. The last time we stay we had a Family Room, but this time we went for 2 interconnecting rooms. This proved to be a good choice as it meant that our 2 children, aged 6 and 4, had plenty of space to play in whilst my wife and I got ourselves ready in the mornings.

Check-in was quick and efficient and our rooms were always clean. Breakfast was good and whilst we were there, you didn't have to wait too long for fresh batch to arrive of anything that had run out, such as sausages. For us the location was ideal as it was near the M5, but it may be an issue for anyone who wishes to visit the city centre. We were visiting relatives for Christmas and the direct line to a local taxi firm that the hotel has, made sure we were able to book the taxis we required over this period.

Overall it was a pleasant experience with the friendly and helpful staff. As my 4 year old son said, for us the Holiday Inn was a "comfy home".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
It was great to receive your fantastic feedback, we love to hear our guest experiences with us and I will be sure to share this with the team!
I especially love your son’s comments ‘a comfy home’, I am so pleased you were all made to feel welcome.
Kindest Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Second visit and again this hotel never fails to amaze me. Immaculate rooms am the staff are so friendly, nothing is to much for them. Free wifi is a bonus, the free breakfast is also very good. Will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteqpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for three weeks on business during December 2013 and found it to be convenient for access to the airport and not too far out of Exeter City. If you are visiting as a tourist you may want to be closer to the city. It is too far to walk from this hotel into the city.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. I had a double bed with sofa. Nice LED TV and plenty of channels to watch.
If you have not stayed in a HI Express before, note that there is a shower only. But having said that, my room was bigger than some Holiday Inn rooms I have stayed in elsewhere.
WiFi is free and is OK for email, but slows down with traffic in the evening making Skype a bit slow.
Breakfast is not very exciting and on every other day the croissants were stale.
The service at the reception desk is excellent.
If you want to be near the airport you could probably stay for a cheaper rate at the Hampton (Hilton) which is new and not at all busy but it is completely isolated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We just needed a cheap stay before a busy day -
The biggest draw was the price... It was significantly cheaper than others, and included breakfast, bonus!
Once we arrived, check-in was efficient and the room was clean.
The pub across the way is lovely and serves nice food, but it was busy in the bar area.
The mattress was way too hard, so uncomfortable that we hardly slept a wink (but strangely enough our little girl slept well!)
Woke up feeling groggy and tired, looking forward to breakfast... It wasn't what I'd hoped for. No direction from staff, it was a free for all. Items of food on offer were not replaced once they'd been used, when I came to get some breakfast, I had a choice of Beans or Croissant.

Overall, I'd not rule out staying again, purely on the cost basis.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor.

I am disappointed that you left our Hotel unhappy with your stay, as we do love to leave a positive, lasting impression on our guests.

Your comments regarding our Free Breakfast buffet and bed condition concern me and I would really like to know when you stayed with us to be able to discuss this with my team.
Please can I ask you contact me directly.

Many thanks
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager
deputy@expressexeter.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here for one night recently as a family of 4 with 2 teenagers. Paid under £100 for 2 rooms including breakfast which I considered to be very reasonable. Hotel is very close to junction 29 of M5 and has a good pub next door. We had adjoining rooms with a connecting door. Room was good with a comfortable bed and a decent shower. Breakfast was fine but with a fairly limited selection, a mixture of hot and cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I arrived at the Hotel at 18:20 to find that their car park was full and that several other drivers were waiting for someone to leave such that they could park. Given that I had been up for eleven hours and had driven many miles this was hardly a relaxing start to my stay.
Once I managed to park and get to reception the check-in process was efficient and my room was comfortable.
Breakfast was a bit grim, why use really really cheap bread. I toasted two slices but found it to be overly sweet hence did not eat, what a waste.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,591 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
999 reviews
3.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing