We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Basic but excellent value”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Ideally situated for overnight stop to the West Country we have used this hotel several times. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the staff pleasant. The included breakfast is basic but adequate ( eggs, sausage but no bacon). In its category it is basic but excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ordyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
It is great to read that you are a regular visitor to our Hotel, we love to welcome back our guests again and again.

Our free breakfast does include three hot favourites of sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans as well as the continental range, I am pleased you found this met your needs.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with our Hotel online, it is great to share feedback with our team and appreciate all feedback to help us improve our service and product.

We look forward to seeing you back again in the near future.

Many thanks
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    484
    164
    28
    13
See reviews for
258
343
60
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here whilst on business can only say good things great service, clean rooms, bed was great , would def stay again, breakfast although was continental style was more than enough, reception staff were very help full as were all staff would recommend to all

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

As a company our focus is our Guest Experience and most importantly, the reason for your visit, a great nights sleep.
Our Free Express Start breakfast is vastly y a continental choice however I do hope you took advantage of our 3 hot choices of sausage, scrambled egg and beans too.

I am so pleased you had a fantastic nights stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Kindest Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Its easy to be dismissive of large chain hotels, but as always its always the staff that make or break a place. The people at the Exeter holiday in are great. Welcoming and friendly, dealing with check in and out promptly and efficiently.
The hotel itself is well positioned for the airport and close to the Exeter M5 motorway junction. Its clean and modern with a chain pub restaurant (Vintage Inns) just across the car park serving good food and beer. Try it if you need an overnight stop in the area, you could do a lot worse than stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I would stay here again. It's clean and quiet, with a good welcome from the staff. Breakfast is simple but what you need.

Pub over the road for the evening meal, and the staff were happy to give directions for takeaways or supermarkets.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank check06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our Hotel here in Exeter it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am pleased you took advantage of our 24 hour Guest Services team who are happy to help with anything, big or small.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stay all over the UK and this is one of the best hotels I stay in, the staff are very friendly and polite. The hotel is clean and tidy with good décor. The bedroom was clean this continued into the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was good with hot food.
Ideal location near the M5 and Exeter centre not far away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I reviewed this hotel previously as excellent but unfortunately gave the wrong rating I meant to have rated it as 5 and will do so now. This hotel was excellent value it was clean , quiet, convenient and comfortable, with a large car park The staff were extremely helpful and efficient especially reception, where our requests when booking were all implemented. On arrival check in was quick and information given including maps on the park and ride (situated near by) and details of Exeter including the cathedral. There is a pub/restaurant adjacent to the car park serving excellent cuisine in a friendly and cosy atmosphere. We will definitely return for a third time when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor overlooking the gardens were in our opinion the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cariag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for resubmitting your review on our Hotel, we really do appreciate it.
It is great to read that your experience with us was a great one and we look to welcome you back again and again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels and over all The hotel and staff are nice, generally well kept and offers standard services (although no food after breakfast but there is a pub only a 2 min walk away which is nice).

The main fault I had was with the Air-con when the unit is running or Totally Turned OFF it made a loud clonk between ever 15-30 mins which made it impossible to sleep (see at http://youtu.be/j_gSXj_0FHw)

I reported the fault after one night of half dozing and being driven mad, so the second night they tired a few different things but non were successful (for some reason the staff can not shut the power off directly to the unit).
After 3 attempts and now 2.30am! they managed to find me another room and offered a refund for 1 night.

Other issues were Lack of power sockets and not great WiFi signal on iPhone, not necessarily big issues for some people but personally I like to charge my phone near the bed or run a laptop etc, but sockets were on the other side of the room. WiFi came and went and had to re-login with there individual password each time (although I will point out it is a free service, ok for emails etc).

Over all I can't really fault the staff the hotel was busy hence lack of available rooms to move to, the hotel is clean etc.

Personally if I was the manager I would have offered another nights stay or vouchers for holiday inn, the refund only covers the inconvenience of what I should have been entitled to a goods nights sleep, but I hope if you stay there you have better luck.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Ian R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Hotel, we have investigated this and viewed your video.
I am aware you contacted our night’s team that were on duty and I am grateful you gave us the opportunity to try to fix the problem for you on your 2nd night. I would always encourage our guests to contact our 24 hours Guest Services Team to ensure we can rectify the problem immediately. As this was not brought to our attention earlier than the 2nd night of your stay we were unable to fix the problem, therefore offering a refund for the disturbed night we witnessed. As per our Hospitality Promise we will do everything in our power to fix the problem or we do not expect you to pay for your disturbed night.
Since your report the comfort cooling system in your room has been addressed by our maintenance department.
We do provide extension leads for our guests to use as we are aware it can cause an inconvenience to our guests having the electric points across the room.
Thank you for your comments that our staff and hotel are nice and you found our facilities met your requirements.
We do hope this isolated disturbance does not deter you from staying with our Hotel again and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Meghan Williams
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing