We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring beautiful Devon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Holiday Inn Express during our four-day trip to Devon. We chose the hotel due to its central location, as we wanted to visit nearby Dartmoor National Park and coastal towns Exmouth and Torquay. We were very pleased with the overall stay: a nice and comfortable room, complimentary breakfast and parking. The ladies at Reception were very friendly, and they helped us make a number of travel arrangements. What is more, they accept pets, so we could bring our puppy along! We would certainly recommend the hotel, and look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpc_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your online review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Exeter, our location is great for breaking up a journey but also perfect distance from the locations you visited with such easy access to the main roads.

Our 24 hour guest service team work hard to ensure every guest has a great experience when they stay with us, we have plenty of maps and travel information to hand to help you get on your way to visiting the sights Devon has to offer. I am delighted our team were able to provide this to you during your stay.

We do allow dogs in the bedrooms for a small charge and we are happy to allocate you a room that is easy for you to take you dog out for walks.
I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Exeter area. Thank you again for your review

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for two nights Friday and Saturday. Firstly check. Very quick and easy. The receptionist, Aimee was very helpful. I had forgotten my phone charger and she managed to sort me out with a spare. It helped me out a lot. Obviously you have to return it.
Onto the room. Very clean a spacious. Good idea how you can close the door to the toilet and still use the rest of the bathroom. Hard to explain but good idea. Not enough tea bags and sugar but not a problem. Two negatives- when running the tap you'd get a whiff of the drains up through the plug hole. Not sure what the problem was. Didn't notice it till the second day. And the toilet would always need a couple of flushes. It was as if there wasn't enough water in the cistern.
Breakfast - plenty on not too busy. I never had a problem getting a table. All self serve. Toast, cereals and limited hot food. They had sausage, scrambled egg and beans. Ideally it could of been better with a couple more items like bacon and hash browns to make it more substantive. The room was quite cheap so I wouldn't of minded paying an extra couple of quid per night for more hot food.
Twenty minutes away from exeter on a Saturday morning. We got a taxi to the town centre and it cost £10. If your not in a rush there is a park and ride opposite the hotel. Don't know how much it is and I imagine not much slower than a cab. No idea on cost though.
Ideally located off the motorway. About a minute. We had room 238 and it was very quiet with the window shut. You can hear a bit of traffic with it open but not enough to bother you. It had aircon which seemed to dry my throat out. Switched it off the second night. Bed very comfortable.
Free newspaper by reception.
Thank you Aimee for the loan of the charger.

Room Tip: 238 was quiet. Not sure if the one off whiff was a one off. Near to the lift but not that close wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review of your most recent stay with us.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is fantastic that you recognised one of my colleagues in your review, Aimee will be so pleased to be recognised for delivering great customer service. Every member of the team will always do their very best to give you anything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

I am sorry you could smell something from the bathroom; I have sent our maintenance technician to the room you stayed in to ensure the pipes are cleaned as this is not what we would wish our guests to experience. I have also asked him to adjust the flush to ensure no other guests experience and issue with the flush on the toilet.

I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, at the Holiday Inn Express we offer an Express Start breakfast; this consists of continental items such as toast, cereal, fruit and pastries along with 3 hot options of sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans. The great thing about the Holiday Inn Express is that this is all free of charge.

Thank you again for your kind review. We welcome all feedback and we use this to monitor the service we provide to our guests. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel when you are next in the area.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel is in an excellent location. Close to park and ride bus into city. Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Great value. Breakfast is fine for the cost. Only slight drawback for us was the room was very warm. Wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your most recent stay with us.

It is great to hear you found our team helpful and the room both comfortable and great value for you. We have a number of great deals on throughout the year, these are all available on our website, or please feel free to give us a call directly at the hotel.

We do have air conditioning in all of our guest bedrooms which may stop the room from becoming too warm, alternatively we can provide stand-alone fans, you can call a member of the team at any time of the day or night and we can happily provide this to you.

It is great to hear you will use our hotel again, I look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you again for your kind review.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Second time here. The hotel is very well located on the outskirts, with a bus stop into the city across the street. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel staff is helpful and friendly. There is a nice pub/restaurant called The Barn Owl next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your online review.

I am so pleased you found your room spacious and clean. The housekeeping team work so hard to maintain the excellent standards we provide in Exeter, they really pride themselves in the cleanliness of our hotel. It is also fantastic you found the team helpful and friendly.

We share our car park with The Barn Owl, it is so convenient for our guests to walk over there for a meal to save travelling into the city for meals, they too are on Tripadvisor and love to hear your reviews.

Thank you again for your feedback, we value the comments of our guests which we share regularly with all the team members. Together we can then improve and continue to deliver an excellent guest experience each time.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As HIEX places are concerned, we visit here quire a lot and it is usually good. On this occasion it was very good except for a sofa bed. Clean, Food was hot and did not need to keep asking for top ups on the buffet. Hotel was busy but staff kept on top of things and regularly cleared tables.

When I had an issue with pillows, they were replaced promptly and I got a good nights sleep. Only downside was from my 11yo daughter who said that the sofa bed was uncomfortable. This is a common theme with HIEXs and Travelodges.

This might stop us revisiting as she likes to sleep in a proper bed.

Room Tip: If you have a disability, ask for a ground floor room as when we went, the lift was out of order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your post recent stay with us.
It is great to hear your room was clean and you enjoyed your breakfast.

I am so sorry your daughter did not have a good night’s sleep. I would really be grateful if you would contact me directly with your room number so I can examine this sofa bed. We have mattress enhancers that are available for your room, the next time you book with us please give me a call or email in advance and I can make sure we put a mattress enhancer on the sofa bed prior to your arrival.

We also have interconnecting rooms which may suit your needs as your daughter grows up.

Thank you again for your review.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
deputy@expressexeter.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Some things good, some things bad here!

Good points:
1. Friendly and helpful staff. Lift was out if order and the receptionist offered to carry bags upstairs to our room.
2. Close to M5 and Park & Ride bus service which stops conveniently in the centre of Exeter.
3. Excellent value meals at the adjoining Barn Owl pub although service can be a little erratic!

Negatives:
1. Poor sound insulation.
2. Noisy air conditioning
3. Breakfast overcrowded and staff couldn't cope with clearing tables and replenishing food; the staff who were on duty we're working really hard – just not enough of them.
4. Poor location of power sockets; only one socket on the desk which has to do for the kettle too
5. Fire alarm one morning – we were told due to electrical issues in one of the guest rooms – sounds odd?

In summary the staff and location make this place and this in itself will make me want to return if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your most recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

It is fantastic to hear you found the team here helpful and friendly. Unfortunately during your stay our lift developed a fault and we had to call out our external contractors. This unfortunately left the lift out of service during a busy weekend; however the team were always at hand to help our guests with their luggage.

I am sorry you found breakfast busy. The fire alarm sounded in the morning which did lead to a large volume of guests coming down at once to enjoy our free Express Start breakfast; despite the teams efforts this did lead to a wait at the breakfast area, however our team were on hand during the morning and did their very best to get everyone seated and enjoying their breakfast as soon as possible.

The next time you stay with us please request an extension lead from our reception team, we will be able to provide this for the duration of your stay so you have more sockets in the room to use.
Thank you again for your review, I do hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel when you are next in the Exeter area.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Holiday Inn on the 17 April which was the evening before we fly to Tenerife. We arrived at 2.30 pm, parked our car easily, booked in and were given our keys by a receptionist that just didn't want to get involved with any kind of conversation at all.

Our room was on the ground floor (No 8) which was really close to the Reception and the entrance. I did think at the time that it may cause us a problem with noise. The room itself was lovely, it was clean, spacious, soft pillows, lovely en suite bathroom and up to the usual standard we have come to expect from Holiday Express Inns we have stayed in.

We went into Exeter for the afternoon before coming back to think we would be able to get a meal at the holiday inn, as you can in most of the holiday inns. We were told, once again by a quite miserable receptionist that they could offer us a pizza or we could ring for a takeaway. This being the case we went to the Barn Owl Inn next to the Holiday Inn and had a really wonderful meal with excellent friendly service.

We had a 7.00 am flight the next day but had already been told not even a continental breakfast would be served till 8.00 am.

We went to bed around 10.00 pm to enable us to be up early for our flight but why did we bother! Until at least 1.00 am we were kept awake by laughing, chattering, clattering about by the Reception Staff (which is fine but don't put guests in a room next to Reception). People were also coming in the entrance next to our room until late which is another reason not to put guests in that room. We would have been better sleeping in the car or travelling from Swansea to Exeter during the night because we had hardly any sleep at all and when we got up at 4.00 am we felt totally exhausted.

This Holiday Express Inn was certainly a disappointment and not at all like any others we have stayed in.

There is a good Hampton by Hilton near the airport so will be trying that next time.

Room Tip: If they give you a room on the ground floor refuse it, especially near to the Reception and entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyhowieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your most recent stay with us.

Our guests experience is our priority at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter, we strive to welcome each and every guest warmly into our hotel. Please allow me to apologise that you felt this did not happen. Please be assured this is not the standard we deliver to our guests, as I mentioned previously our team are passionate about our guests and we do not wish any guest to walk away from our hotel with a less than pleasant experience.

Your room is located quite close to the reception area, however there are doors at the end of the corridor that prevent the noise from reception continuing through the corridor, I will of course be talking with the team members to reaffirm our policies with regards to closing the doors in the evenings as this really does eliminate any noise. We want all our guests to leave our hotel feeling refreshed for their onward journeys and I am so sorry that you were disturbed during your stay.

We are currently unable to provide full evening meals, however we do offer a snack menu of pizza, chips and sandwiches made to order. As we are unable to provide the evening meals, our team is on hand to recommend local take away companies or other establishments where you could dine.

I would appreciate it if you would contact me directly to discuss you stay further as the points you have raised really do concern me.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
deputy@expressexeter.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,787 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
5.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £54 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing