We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic little gem ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Ideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic little gem ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I was in Exeter for a meeting and was recommend this hotel. The service from the reception was fantastic everyone was so friendly. The room was clean and fresh. I only had about 10 minutes for breakfast as my meeting was early but from what I saw it was very good will be going back and will be recommending this hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vdubgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased you chose our hotel for your accommodation in Exeter. The team here work hard to ensure each guest is warmly welcomed into our hotel; it is great to read you had a fantastic experience and you found everyone friendly.

I hope the next time you stay with us you are able to relax and take your time to enjoy our free Express Start breakfast.

Thank you so much for your review and thank you for wishing to recommend our hotel to others. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    472
    159
    27
    13
See reviews for
254
331
58
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We broke up the long journey down to Cornwall and stayed here last night, WOW! it was wonderful, we usually stay at a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn and this was about a thousand times nicer.

Comfortable beds with a choice of pillows and the children's bed was made up and waiting (we usually have had to make our own when staying at the TL) - this was everything a stopover hotel should be, plenty of towels, hot water, tea and coffee and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was relatively simple but plenty of choice and the tea and coffee machine was suprisingly good quality. Every member of staff we encountered (not many as we weren't there long) was friendly, helpful and efficient.

I would certainly choose to stay here again - it's a shame we were only there for about 9hrs!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJollyVadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us.

It is great to read a review from a new guest trying our hotel for the first time. I am so pleased you found your accommodation comfortable and clean. When we have families staying with us we will always make the sofa bed up for your arrival, also we supply additional towels and tea and coffee making facilities, I am so pleased that this was appreciated.

Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast, we provide a free Express Start breakfast to all our guests, this is a mixture of a wide range of continental breakfast items and 3 hot choices of scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans, just what you need for a great start to your day.

I hope that you will come back and visit us again when you next need accommodation in Exeter.
Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Handy for everything in the area. Good pub with good food across the car park. Pity its gone non smoking though and everyone has to stand out the front by the entrance to puff away at the number one sin in this new society of ours. Keep your window closed if you happen to get one of the rooms above or around the entrance or your room will fill up with smoke pretty fast. I've said this before but the law still does NOT say that hotels have to be non smoking but these non smokers are determined to change the world into their idea of utopia....I do find myself wondering when the oh so perfect people of this world are going to concentrate on the fat people and maybe start making them eat out the back where we can't see them..... Good luck with that.
But the hotel is nice though 10/10.....Will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and you scored us 10/10. Indeed the law does not state that each room has to be non-smoking however we took the decision a couple of years ago to remove the smoking rooms from our hotel as they were not as popular as the non-smoking rooms. We have set up a smoking area to the side of the building to ensure that no guest comfort is compromised. This is something that the team here monitor closely to ensure this is adhered to.

Thank you again for your comments, I am so pleased that you will be returning to stay with us again. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We have found it clean, functional and with efficient staff. The breakfast choice is adequate. This trip we booked 3 x double rooms through their online service and were happy with all aspects. We also felt the rooms were value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms were found to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it is great to hear you are a loyal guest returning to us again.
We have a number of offers available throughout the year , these are available directly through our website or please feel free to give us a call, we are always on hand to get you the best deal available for your stay.

Thank you again for your review, please check our website for our latest offers the next time you need to stay in Exeter.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed regularly at this hotel for the last 12 months and always enjoy my visit. The staff are very friendly and eager to please.

Having stayed over the last weekend the hotel was very busy but the team went out of their way to ensure that I had everything I needed. Both Aimee and Laura went out their way being amazingly helpful and always have a smile and a laugh.

Will always choose this hotel when staying in Exeter and look forward to seeing the team when I do.

Would definitely recommend this express hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your most recent review about your recent stay with us.

It is fantastic to hear you mentioning my colleagues’ names, both Laura and Aimee always deliver exceptional customer service, they are really passionate about ensuring each guest has the best guest experience, they will be delighted to read your review.

Your review is so important to us and it is lovely to read that you would always choose us when you need to stay in Exeter, I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Holiday Inn Express during our four-day trip to Devon. We chose the hotel due to its central location, as we wanted to visit nearby Dartmoor National Park and coastal towns Exmouth and Torquay. We were very pleased with the overall stay: a nice and comfortable room, complimentary breakfast and parking. The ladies at Reception were very friendly, and they helped us make a number of travel arrangements. What is more, they accept pets, so we could bring our puppy along! We would certainly recommend the hotel, and look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpc_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your online review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Exeter, our location is great for breaking up a journey but also perfect distance from the locations you visited with such easy access to the main roads.

Our 24 hour guest service team work hard to ensure every guest has a great experience when they stay with us, we have plenty of maps and travel information to hand to help you get on your way to visiting the sights Devon has to offer. I am delighted our team were able to provide this to you during your stay.

We do allow dogs in the bedrooms for a small charge and we are happy to allocate you a room that is easy for you to take you dog out for walks.
I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Exeter area. Thank you again for your review

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for two nights Friday and Saturday. Firstly check. Very quick and easy. The receptionist, Aimee was very helpful. I had forgotten my phone charger and she managed to sort me out with a spare. It helped me out a lot. Obviously you have to return it.
Onto the room. Very clean a spacious. Good idea how you can close the door to the toilet and still use the rest of the bathroom. Hard to explain but good idea. Not enough tea bags and sugar but not a problem. Two negatives- when running the tap you'd get a whiff of the drains up through the plug hole. Not sure what the problem was. Didn't notice it till the second day. And the toilet would always need a couple of flushes. It was as if there wasn't enough water in the cistern.
Breakfast - plenty on not too busy. I never had a problem getting a table. All self serve. Toast, cereals and limited hot food. They had sausage, scrambled egg and beans. Ideally it could of been better with a couple more items like bacon and hash browns to make it more substantive. The room was quite cheap so I wouldn't of minded paying an extra couple of quid per night for more hot food.
Twenty minutes away from exeter on a Saturday morning. We got a taxi to the town centre and it cost £10. If your not in a rush there is a park and ride opposite the hotel. Don't know how much it is and I imagine not much slower than a cab. No idea on cost though.
Ideally located off the motorway. About a minute. We had room 238 and it was very quiet with the window shut. You can hear a bit of traffic with it open but not enough to bother you. It had aircon which seemed to dry my throat out. Switched it off the second night. Bed very comfortable.
Free newspaper by reception.
Thank you Aimee for the loan of the charger.

Room Tip: 238 was quiet. Not sure if the one off whiff was a one off. Near to the lift but not that close wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your most recent stay with us.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is fantastic that you recognised one of my colleagues in your review, Aimee will be so pleased to be recognised for delivering great customer service. Every member of the team will always do their very best to give you anything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

I am sorry you could smell something from the bathroom; I have sent our maintenance technician to the room you stayed in to ensure the pipes are cleaned as this is not what we would wish our guests to experience. I have also asked him to adjust the flush to ensure no other guests experience and issue with the flush on the toilet.

I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, at the Holiday Inn Express we offer an Express Start breakfast; this consists of continental items such as toast, cereal, fruit and pastries along with 3 hot options of sausages, scrambled egg and baked beans. The great thing about the Holiday Inn Express is that this is all free of charge.

Thank you again for your kind review. We welcome all feedback and we use this to monitor the service we provide to our guests. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel when you are next in the area.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing