We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Reception Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Helpful Reception Staff”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location near the M5 but access proved a little confusing. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom spacious and spotlessly clean. Observed morning staff cleaning and polishing everywhere. Breakfast was adequate. Only quibble was difficulty with internet access.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the team here helpful. Each team member is passionate about the level of customer service they deliver to our guests, I am sure they will share my delight in reading your review.

I am sorry you found difficulty accessing the free internet while you were here. We encourage all our guests to let us know if they have any difficulties connecting and we can rectify any issue. If we need to we will call this internet provider to ensure each guest gains access.

Thank you again for your review, I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    488
    166
    28
    13
See reviews for
263
347
61
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This holiday inn express is first class , clean friendly well run in fact on of the best Express we have stayed at recently. The breakfast was excellent . Good value, I would certainly book again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antony121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Exeter. We welcome all guest feedback and I am sure the team here will also be delighted to read your kind words as they are passionate about the customer service they deliver to our guests.

I hope our team can welcome you back when you next need accommodation in the Exeter area.
Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed a couple of nights so enjoyed the comprehensive breakfast even if the scrambled eggs were better on the first morning.I found the rooms really comfortable and very clean. More expensive than a Travelodge but a much better stopover. It alsohas the added advantage of the Park and Ride into the city right on its doorstep. There is also the Barn Owl, a very good pub with nice food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you chose the Holiday Inn Express Exeter for your accommodation in the area. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a good night’s sleep.

Our location is perfect for travellers as we are just off the motorway with excellent links into the city of Exeter using the Park and Ride service from just over the road.

I am pleased you enjoyed your meal at the Barn Owl, although we are not linked it is good to hear that our guests enjoyed their meal with them.

I hope we can welcome you back when you next need accommodation in Exeter. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards

Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Due to a business trip, I spend two nights at this hotel. I must say that it was more that I expected. The facilities are good, the staff was very professional, since the arrival, they were very friendly and helped me a lot to giving me restaurants suggestions and directions, coordinating taxi and even helping me with the planning of my train travel from Exeter to London Heathrow Airport.
The room was very comfortable, the bed was excellent and even they have six different pillows textures! The free wifi internet connection was a blessing.
Breakfast is included, it is a small breakfast buffet with cereals, fruits, coffee, fruit juices, and hot breakfast, besides the selection of breads and croissants.

Definitively when I return to Exeter this will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am so delighted to read another review regarding the team here in Exeter. Our team here are dedicated to delivering the best guest experience so it is fantastic to read they went the extra mile with you. Each member of our Guest Service team is passionate about the customer service they deliver to our guests, I am sure they will share my appreciation in your kind words.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon whether you travel on business or for your leisure
Thank you again for your review

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent value for an overnight stay. Very handy for the M5 but little traffic noise noticeable. Room was clean and fresh looking. The mattress was a bit too soft but I slept well enough. Breakfast was a self service buffet - again everything was very clean and well presented. I can't recommend the scrambled egg as it tasted like reconstituted powdered egg - however there were alternatives such as cereals, toast, croissants, yoghurts etc so can't really complain and others seemed to be eating the egg happily. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall I'd recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanzanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and you slept well in your bedroom. Our free Express Start breakfast offers a range of breakfast choices with a variety of continental items and 3 hot options of scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans. I am sorry the scrambled egg was not to your taste.

Thank you for your feedback, we welcome all our guests feedback and use it to improve the service we deliver to our guests.

I hope we can welcome you back again when you next need accommodation in Exeter.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Best value night for staying on the way to Devon that I could find.

We arrived at nearly midnight, but there was still plenty of people around,and the bar was still open. There were still a few car park spaces too.

Breakfast options were a little limited (no bacon), but plenty of it, and tasty.

Nothing to fault really.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FurtiveBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is great to read you found your stay good value for money, we have a number of offers on throughout the year so it is fantastic that you were able to get a great rate with us.

Each member of our guest service team is ready to welcome you no matter what time you arrive and our bar stays open late for the guests arriving in the early hours.

Our free Express Start breakfast includes a wide range of continental options with the addition of 3 hot items, scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans; I do hope you were able to enjoy these choices.

Thank you again for your review, I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. extra bonus of cooked food for breakfast - we were only expecting a continental. Excellent value especially with free breakfast. Good location next to Barn owl pub which has a good menu. would definitely stay again. Good stop over on journey from Yorkshire to Cornwall

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your stopover stay on your journey to Cornwall. Our location is perfect to break up the long journey; our hotel is popular with families doing just that.

I am also pleased to read you enjoyed the choices we were able to offer for breakfast. The Express Start breakfast has everything you need to give you a great start to your day, both a mix of continental and hot options.

Thank you so much for your kind review, I hope that you will come back and visit us again when you next need accommodation in Exeter.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,593 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,000 reviews
3.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing