We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed over night as attending a party nearby. Nice clean rooms, good facilities, friendly staff who were happy to provide an early check in and order taxis. Free breakfast buffet most welcome. Can't go wrong for the price. Although we couldn't pick up wifi signal in the hotel, it wasn't a problem for us as we were only there to get changed and sleep!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found the room clean and the team here friendly. Each member of our Guest Service team are dedicated to providing the best guest experience to our guests, it is fantastic to read that this was the case during your stay.

I am sorry you could not connect to our internet, we encourage our guests to let us know if they have any difficulties and we can then contact our internet provider, they will be able to identify the problem and rectify so you can connect.

Thank you again for your feedback, I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Exeter overnight to break a long drive to Cornwall. The property is modern, comfortable and in a good state of repair. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food at breakfast was fresh and of good quality.

I'd recommend this hotel for anyone looking to break a road journey to or from Cornwall. This hotel was cheaper than a Premier Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter.

It is great to read that you found us in a convenient location to break up your long journey, throughout the year so many families book with us for that purpose and it is lovely to see the same guests on their way back too.

I am so pleased you found the team here friendly and helpful. The Express Start breakfast is a great way to start the day; we have so many items to choose from our buffet.

Thank you again for your review, I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We used this hotel as a one night stopover before taking a flight from Exeter Airport. I must say the location just off junction 29 of M5, and about 10mins from the airport proved to be the ideal location for us. The room wuss clean and comfortable, and next morning we were able to get a perfectly adequate self service breakfast. Would definitely use this hotel again if flying out of Exeter.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter.

I am so pleased you found our location suited your needs, we have a great location for travellers flying our from Exeter Airport and we also have great links into the City of Exeter.

It is great to read you found your accommodation clean and comfortable and that you were able to enjoy breakfast before your flight.

Thank you again for your review, I do hope we can welcome you back when you next need accommodation in Exeter.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on the way to Cornwall . Hotel was brilliant just as described we arrived a little early and the staff allowed us to check in. All staff members we encountered were extremely helpful and courteous. Our dog stayed with us, this hotel is a real plus for dog owners, really didn't mind the small charge as we all had an amazing nights sleep
ready to travel on the following day. Breakfast was superb lots to choose from . Well done Holiday Inn we will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jettyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your recent stay in Exeter.
I am delighted to hear the team were able to check you in early; we will always try our best to get you to your room as quickly as possible.

Thank you also for your kind words about the team here, everyone is passionate about the level of service we deliver to our guests.

It is great to read you brought your dog along for your stay, we accommodate dogs for a small cost, this means you don’t have to leave them behind.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here mid week. Receptionist excellent room very clean an ideal stop for breaking a long journey to the south west. My only issue is that there is not enough tables for breakfast. It was a catch 22 problem not enough staff to cook the food, when delivered to the serving area it only would serve a few people, the rest then waiting for food and then more people arriving from their rooms to exacerbate the problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobG1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is lovely to read that you found the receptionist excellent and your room clean during your stay, the whole team work hard to ensure each guest is greeted warmly and our guests feel welcomed into our hotel.

I am sorry to read your comments regarding our breakfast. We offer a free Express Start breakfast to our guests; this is very popular and at times can be very busy. We have a large team that replenish the breakfast items during service and work hard to keep everything stocked up.

Of course, we welcome all our guest feedback and use it to review the service we offer to our guests and identify where improvements can be made.

Thank you again for your review, I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I'm not always the biggest fan of the express hotels,but I will make an exception on this one.The staff could not have been more helpful which was a big plus for me.You get what you would expect from the room,very clean.Air conditioning worked wonderfully and the massive bed was excellent.The breakfast did lack the full English option but what was on offer was first class.I hate being away from home but at least this hotel makes it a bit more tolerable.Well done to all the staff at this very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter. I am so pleased you chose our hotel for your accommodation.

It is great to learn your accommodation suited your needs and our breakfast choices were first class. It is so nice to read your kind comments regarding the team here in Exeter. Each member of our Guest Service team is passionate about the service they deliver to our guest, we appreciate it is not always nice to be away from home but, as you described we want our guests to feel as though our hotel is home from home, most importantly that you felt welcomed. I am sure the team will share my delight in reading your review.

Thank you again for your kind words, I do hope we can welcome you back when you next need accommodation in Exeter.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location near the M5 but access proved a little confusing. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom spacious and spotlessly clean. Observed morning staff cleaning and polishing everywhere. Breakfast was adequate. Only quibble was difficulty with internet access.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the team here helpful. Each team member is passionate about the level of customer service they deliver to our guests, I am sure they will share my delight in reading your review.

I am sorry you found difficulty accessing the free internet while you were here. We encourage all our guests to let us know if they have any difficulties connecting and we can rectify any issue. If we need to we will call this internet provider to ensure each guest gains access.

Thank you again for your review, I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,923 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
559 reviews
5.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
548 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £50 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing