We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Holiday inn express so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“BEST Holiday inn express so far”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This one is a great example of the service, rooms, internet, beds, showers so far..

was great to have a good experience at this chain for once, the good news is they have installed some faith back into me using the chain, and as I have a lot of work coming up in Exeter over the next few weeks, I may use this hotel again, as several weeks of rooms are needed. comfy bed and pretty quite room all in all..

so well done to this hotel for being that little bit better than the others in the Holiday Inn Express's

Room Tip: all in all pretty good, ask for ironing board on way up to the room if you can, as they will ether g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravingeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you chose our hotel for your accommodation in Exeter. The team here are passionate about the service they deliver to our guests, they ensure each guest feels welcome and they do everything they can to ensure each guest has everything they need to have a great experience with us.

Your loyalty is important to us and I am very grateful of the opportunity you have given the company to restore your faith with our brand.

If you do require accommodation again in Exeter please do not hesitate to contact one of our guest service team who will be delighted to book you back in.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
deputy@expressexeter.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    484
    164
    28
    13
See reviews for
258
343
60
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington (uk)
Level Contributor
172 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed for a few days on business and had a good positive experience. The hotel is well located not far from the M5. The staff were friendly and welcoming at check in and as ever with HI Express I found the room to be clean and modern and ideal for a few days. Free wifi is always welcome too.

The breakfast is OK although I don't really like the canteen feel but this is the same in all the HI Express hotels.

Overall if you have business in the area, then this hotel should be ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay during your business trip to Exeter. Our location is in an excellent position, just minutes from the M5 junction 29 with excellent links into the city. It is great to read that you found the team here welcoming and friendly when you arrived with us, the team are dedicated to delivering excellent customer service.

Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast, we offer an Express Start buffet breakfast to all our guests; this is a mixture of continental items and 3 hot options. This is all included in your rate so there are no hidden charges.

Thank you so much for your valuable review, I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Good quality budget hotel, good bedrooms. Has the feel of a Holiday Inn larger hotel.
Restaurant onsite was really good, a minute away over the car park.

Breakfast included, good scrambled eggs !!

Dead easy to find, come off the M5 at Exeter Services, take the road by the side of the services but don't go into them. Follow road to big roundabout, take first left exit and its on the right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelfcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes off the M5 with great links into the city of Exeter with the benefit of the park and ride service which operates from just over the road.

Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast, we offer an Express Start breakfast to all our guests. This includes a wide range of continental items and 3 hot options of scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans. It is great to read that you enjoyed the scrambled eggs.
Thank you again for your review, I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on my way down to Cornwall with my son and dog. The location is excellent being so close to the motorway junction, but not actually on it, so it's quiet. Staff were really friendly there with comfortable and clean rooms. They were very accommodating with the my pet and allowed certain areas to eat in the morning the free breakfast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fluffybellybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found our location suited your needs. We are situated just a short distance from the M5 junction 29, we also have great links into the city of Exeter using the park and ride service which operates just across the road from us.

It is lovely to read that you were able to bring your dog with you and that the team here were friendly and accommodating. The team here are passionate about the level of service they deliver to our guests, the team like to make each and every guest feel welcomed into our hotel and will do everything they can to ensure our guests have a great guest experience.

Thank you so much for your valuable review, I do hope we can welcome you back again when you next need accommodation in Exeter.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect as this was an express hotel.
Very pleasantly surprised . The staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable with tea/ coffee making facilities in them. The bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows. Air conditioning was a welcome addition in the recent hot weather.
Breakfast was a little basic, no bacon which would have been nice instead of/ or alongside a choice of sausages, beans or scrambled egg. Plenty of toast, cold breakfast choices of cheese, ham etcv
Good position as the park and ride stop is nearby to get into Exeter centre. Handy to use as a base for visiting a number of visitor attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road side of the building as the road noise from the traffic can be dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raptormad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your recent stay in Exeter.

I am so pleased to read that you chose our hotel for your accommodation. Each member of our guest service team are passionate about delivering a great guest experience to each of our guests, so it is lovely to read that you found the team here friendly, efficient and helpful. We offer an Express Start breakfast to our guests; this is a wide range of continental items and 3 hot choices for scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans.

Our location is fantastic and easy to find, we are indeed situated just off the M5 however we have great links into both the City of Exeter and the surrounding areas. The park and ride service runs from just opposite the hotel which takes you directly into the City.
Thank you so much for your valuable review, I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I usually choose a Holiday Inn for their reliability of the same standard. A pleasant stay with courteous staff and nice clean rooms. The overflowing bin outside the main door to the reception which I reported was dealt with promptly. I didn't have the breakfast and the wifi was just about adequate. Perfect for a nights' stop over and easy to find from the M5.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hodophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased you chose our hotel for your recent accommodation in Exeter. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found our team members courteous.

I am sorry you found the bin outside the door overflowing. The team here regularly check the car park and the bins. Thank you so much for pointing this out to one of the team here, it is great to read they rectified this promptly.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. I hope we can welcome you back when you next need accommodation in Exeter.

Kind Regards
Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booking in was pleasant and quick, room was large and clean and very tidy. The bathroom had good water pressure and constant hot water which was very pleasant. Room was modern and in good repair.

Sleep quality let the side down as the main bed was hard and the fold out sofa was difficult to sleep on although it was set up and ready for us when we arrived.

Breakfast the next day was the usual assortment of cereals, fruit (apples and bananas on the menu but no bananas) powdered egg, yoghurt, coffee, tea, chipolatas and toast.

The breakfast menu was ordinary in taste, the egg was very ordinary and the sausages had little going for them, we resorted to toast and jam being safest.

A good place to stay, but breakfast menu needs a bit of attention.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft bed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressExeter, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exeter, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your online review regarding your recent stay with us in Exeter.
I am pleased to read you found your accommodation clean and tidy and you enjoyed the shower in your room.

I am sorry to hear you found the mattress in your room too hard. The team here will always do their best to ensure each guest’s preferences are met, we are able to provide mattress enhancers, this alters the feel of the mattress, please feel free to contact a member of our 24 hour guest service team, we would be happy to provide this for future stays.

The Holiday Inn Express offers an Express Start breakfast; this has a wide range of continental items with the addition of 3 hot options of scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans. Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast we offer, we value all our guest feedback and use this to identify where improvements can be made.

Of course if you would like to discuss your stay any further, please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards

Natalie Clay
Deputy General Manager
deputy@expressexeter.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
2.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exeter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Address: M5 Jct. 29 Guardian Road | Exeter Business Park, Exeter EX1 3PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy value and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel, located just outside Exeter with good transport links. Our modern hotel is situated by a small lake just off junction 29 of the M5 and 5 minutes' drive from Exeter International Airport. There's plenty of complimentary parking on site and you can take advantage of the local park and ride bus service to get into Exeter's cosmopolitan city centre. Fill up at Holiday Inn Express Exeter's breakfast with hot items, served from 6.30am in our Great Room and included in all room prices. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel making staying in touch a breeze and you can host business events in our 3 naturally lit meeting rooms. Holiday Inn Express Exeter is the only hotel to be located in Exeter Business Park and we're also conveniently placed for meetings at the Met Office, 5 minutes' walk away. Make the Holiday Inn Express Exeter hotel your handy stop-off if you're travelling to or from Cornwall. Our friendly Front Desk staff can help you plan days out to nearby Dartmoor National Park and the breathtaking Jurassic Coast. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, Holiday Inn Express Exeter's sleek Great Room bar is a welcoming spot to mingle with friends. Retire to your newly refurbished, air-conditioned Guest room to unwind with complimentary tea and coffee and watch TV on your 32-inch flatscreen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Hotel Exeter
Holiday Inn Exeter
Exeter Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing