We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exeter Red Coat Guided Tours

Exeter Red Coat Guided Tours
Ranked #3 of 17 Tours in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These FREE guided walking tours are the perfect way to explore Exeter. Operating daily throughout the year, there is a wide range of tours to choose from. No booking is required, simply choose a tour, meet your Red Coat Guide and discover one of the oldest and most beautiful cities in England. Tours meet outside ABode Exeter (Royal Clarence Hotel), Cathedral Yard. Quayside based tours depart from outside the Quay House Visitor Centre. Tours last approximately 90 minutes unless otherwise stated.
Beds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I went on the Medieval and City Walls tours. Both were excellent, very interesting, with both historic overviews and lots of specific detail. The guides were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. I discovered little places I hadn't noticed before, and learned the origins of some of sayings like 'piss poor' and 'living on a shoe string' (go on a tour and find out!).
Highly recommended.
Well done Exeter Council for providing these free.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank safarimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exeter Old & New Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had an enjoyable tour on Friday morning taking in the old and new sites of Exeter. We met by the German Christmas market in the Cathedral Yard and after a 15 minute introductory history of the city our guide took us around the town pointing out various points of interest over the course of the 90 minutes. Unfortunately the weather was wet and horrible but our guide was cheery and interesting throughout. The group was a mix of various nationalities and ages and if you have a spare couple of hours in Exeter I highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tom_benj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Entertaining and informative tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I had enjoyed other free tours taken in previous years, this time I went on the Medieval Tour. Although it was a breezy day there were about 20 of us on the tour. The guide obviously enjoyed talking about Exeter and kept the large group entertained throughout. We ran slightly over 90 minutes and a fair bit of walking was involved. It was time well spent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We chose the Medieval Exeter tour. We were very impressed that the city council offers the free tours and hugely enjoyed it. The guide (sorry, can't recall his name, but 2pm on Weds 16 Oct 13) was very knowledgeable and made the history come to life. He took the time that was needed rather than rushing us round and the tour look nearly 2 hours rather than the allotted 90 minutes. I was disappointed to discover how much of the medieval city had disappeared but this tour was a highlight of our visit to Exeter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Medieval Walking Tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Excellent and informative tour, guide was fabulous, mixed historical information together with his own childhood experiences (No - he isn't that old!! I mean from his 1960's upbringing!!) and anecdotal facts and information.

It is a generous hour and a half walking tour, so shouldn't be tried by those with health or walking issues.

The tour is free and we really enjoyed it, well worth doing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Damon_H608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Exeter Red Coat Guided Tours also viewed

 

Been to Exeter Red Coat Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing