We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wedding venue”

Exeter Golf and Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Golf tee times are available to non members and golf societies. MEMBERSHIPS... Exeter Golf and Country Club offers so much more than just golf. Club members swim in our heated pools, get fit in the gym, play tennis or squash and enjoy precious time with family and friends. Our award-winning Wear Park Spa and Restaurant is open to everyone - you don't have to be a member, but you get 'mates rates' if you are! If you want to improve your lifestyle through relaxation, fitness or meeting new friends, Exeter Golf and Country Club is the place for you. Thanks to our 120 acre golf course and Georgian manor house, you'll even feel like you're in a country retreat, yet just minutes from Exeter city centre. Want in? Find out more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great wedding venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Lovely setting for a wedding, excellent location with stunning grand rooms.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    25
    10
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

lovely time here for a wedding but the function room should be moved so people can sit outside or get outside easier as way too hot! Was a warm day and they had the heating on, so silly!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“good all-round place for tee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

lunch is good, dinner is just okay but a really good place for a wedding or dinner dance.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overrated and a bit snobby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Not a great atmosphere, the golf course is very pleasant and well kept but unfortunately it's generally full of people who think they are far more important than they are. The bar area is good for a snack lunch and the food in the restaurant is very nice also. Having attended Exeter Golf and Country Club many times over the past 25 years it's unfortunate the atmosphere hasn't really changed. I have played courses such as Wentworth, Celtic Manor, Le Touqet and Les Bordes and all were far more welcoming.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SK77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing to make an occasion even more special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I went to the Exeter Golf and Country Club as it was one of the few places that served an a la carte menu for Sunday Lunch. What a great Choice it was! The occasion was to celebrate the 60th Birthday of my partner’s mother and it was fantastic. The weather was gorgeous and the gardens and golf course looked stunning. The place is nicely decorated and the staff is very attentive. Although the manager seemed to be a bit presumptuous and we were worried that he had made a judgement call about the way we dressed, he turned out to be very attentive and welcoming on the Sunday of the celebration. The age group is slightly older, but the atmosphere is still nice and bubbly with a few people actually golfing. The food was outstanding: I had a full vegetarian lunch and it was perfect. I highly recommend this place as it is good quality and great value for money. It was not too expensive and we hope to return shortly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank FsuGaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Exeter Golf and Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Exeter Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing