We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Exeter Golf and Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Golf tee times are available to non members and golf societies. MEMBERSHIPS... Exeter Golf and Country Club offers so much more than just golf. Club members swim in our heated pools, get fit in the gym, play tennis or squash and enjoy precious time with family and friends. Our award-winning Wear Park Spa and Restaurant is open to everyone - you don't have to be a member, but you get 'mates rates' if you are! If you want to improve your lifestyle through relaxation, fitness or meeting new friends, Exeter Golf and Country Club is the place for you. Thanks to our 120 acre golf course and Georgian manor house, you'll even feel like you're in a country retreat, yet just minutes from Exeter city centre. Want in? Find out more.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from having a meal in the restaurant here with a friend and was very dissapointed. Although the room was lovely there aren't any other positives. I can't understand why there are very dead, crispy brown daffodils on every table, why not just remove them? The waiter didn't seem very enthusiastic about his job even with just 2 tables to serve, the cd was left jumping for ages and the food was bland and boring. I am very pleased we had a money off voucher as I think the meal would have been terrible value for money. What a shame!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_Brown15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExeterGolfCountryClu, Manager at Exeter Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment regarding the meal you had at the restaurant. We have lots of great feedback about lunch and dinners in the restaurant so I am really sorry you haven't experienced our usual high levels. I would very much appreciate discussing this issue with you personally. Please could you email info@exetergcc.co.uk?
Thank you and apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    10
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trstenik, Croatia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Great birthday gathering meal.”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Went here for a friend's birthday; they had booked one of the function spaces for about 35 people to have a celebration lunch with a festive feel to it.

The alcoholic & non-alcoholic punch choices on arrival were tasty and plentiful.

The food was very good; a ham hock terrine was a bit on the bland side but more than acceptable as a starter. Main course was roast beef, which was a generous portion served with roast potatoes, yorkshire pudding and 2 veg. There were bowls full of swede & sprouts, so no complaints about not serving enough veg on a large table to go around all the diners. If anything, there were almost too much of the stuff and maybe serving a third veg would have been a better option that serving loads of just two. Dessert was a cheesecake that was fine.

There was plenty of coffee served afterwards and the service throughout was attentive and professional.

The dining chairs were particularly comfy, even after over 3 hours of seating in them.

As event catering goes, the food was good quality and - most importantly - it helped complement the birthday celebration and everyone's enjoyment of the day.

Overall, a good venue and a great birthday meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Propaganda_Machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Very disappointing.... No where near as good as the summer-clearly cost cutting. much smaller portions, meat frozen or should change supplier/ chef as no flavour, mash v v lumpy. Accompaniments nothing special. £6.95 for a sliver of cheddar, Brie and blue with 3 cheap biscuits and 3 grapes. Other desserts not much better and one burnt...
Only 25 people but service not great with a long wait for plates to be cleared once everyone finished, poor waiting staff who can't clear proerly

Helpful?
3 Thank Tweeter13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for weddings”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

A lovely big room for lots of tables, the disco floor/dj, with its own bar, and a terrace for afternoon drinks with nice views.

Helpful?
1 Thank IndependentGirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best golf courses i have ever played”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Played the golf course last week as a guest and really enjoyed my round. The course was well presented aswell as being challenging(especially when my ball found the bunkers), greens were firm and true especially when thinking about the recent weather we have had! Inside the clubhouse was well maintained and the staff were very polite.
Overall a very enjoyable day, Thank you

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank grs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Exeter Golf and Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Exeter Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing