We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Went to Exeter for. Shirt break. The hotel is good, a little basic in some areas though. Fairly good breakfast choice. Good location for exploring Exeter and the local area. It's a beautiful location and the staff with give you information on the local area if you ask. There were a few issues with our rooms, but that got sorted out fairly quickly, so cannot really complain. Would recumbent but think the hotel needs to improve it's customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowesh6624, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. If you would care to offer more detail regarding our customer service I would be very pleased to receive your email at tim.howes@accor.com. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    810
    276
    98
    36
See reviews for
381
871
89
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Extremely good value if you book online well in advance. Very friendly staff, good central location. Only one minor complaint -- bedoorms too hot. This was our fourth stay there. We will always stay here on our regular trips to Exeter.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowesh6624, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you your very positive comments. You and other guests may be interested to know that our Superior rooms, which have all been fully refurbished, are full air conditioned and available at a £10 supplement. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The staff are really excellent. They are helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. They all try hard to make the experience a good one, and they succeed. The staff make this hotel a good place to stay. Bedrooms are relaxing and food good. Eexter is a great place to visit as there is so much to do in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jones1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowesh6624, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words, my team will be delighted that their hospitality is so much appreciated. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A lovely warm welcome (particularly when told we'd been upgraded) was the beginning of a pleasant stay for my wife and I in this well-located hotel. The cathedral and shopping centre were in very easy walking distance and the impressive quay area was also fairly convenient. Our room proved to be very comfortable and I had two nights of sound sleep - priceless! Breakfast on the Saturday was a a little frenetic but much more organised on the Sunday. We went on our Tesco vouchers (handled very professionally at reception) Exeter is a lovely city and a handy base for exploring the Jurassic coast. The hotel bar is ideal for a relaxing night-cap. Parking at £10 a night is a bit steep, but I'd use the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith19492011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowesh6624, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments, I am particularly pleased that you found our reception staff to be friendly and professional and I shall pass your remarks on to the team. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The hotel has a great location, just behind the cathedral which makes it an excellent base if you want to visit the city centre and the shops. The check-in was very quick and the staff was extremely polite. The decor of the hotel is very impressive. I liked the colour schemes and the furniture. It has a health/spa centre with gym, swimming pool and jacuzzi. My partner used the swimming pool several times. He said the water was quite warm and the only disadvantages were some people who instead of swimming were just sitting in the pool and talking:-) As for the room, it was nicely decorated with: flat screen tv, big queen size comfy bed, sofa, 2 armchairs, small table, desk with a chair, wardrobe (with lights inside) and small wardrobe with built in fridge and teas/coffes with electric kettle in the other space. I didn't like the bathroom's shower, as it was an old style shower control and I had problems with using it, it was very difficult to turn, so much so that I had a cold shower one morning... Eventually I used all my girly force and managed to turn it to hot and had a nice shower next time. Also, there was no room safe in the room and the air conditioning was not very good. To sum up, it is a good location hotel with interesting decor. I would probably stay there again but in a different room with a better shower.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASotonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowesh6624, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your postive comments following your recent stay. I am sorry you experienced difficulties with the shower controls and I have asked my maintenance engineer to conduct a full audit of these controls. Tim Howes, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Courteous staff, cosy environment and very pleasant- the only thing that let the hotel down was the servicing of the room. My bathroom had towels that had clearly been used by the last resident, as had the shower Parking expensive

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowesh6624, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for leaving your comments following your stay. All bathroom and bed linen is replaced followijg a guest's departure and indeed towels are also replaced every night during your stay on request. This is certainly an oversight and I trust we were able to replace the towels for your during your stay. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed two nights. The positives: The hotel communal areas, bar and restaurant and lobby are modern and well designed. Convenient parking and excellent location for Exeter city centre. Staff were welcoming and friendly. I ordered an excellent steak sandwich for room service.

The negatives: The room hotel room was very disappointing and poor value for money. It was dated, shabby 1980's decor with peeling wallpaper and a mouldy shower curtain (you know the type that sticks unpleasantly to you) with a flickering neon light with dead flies in it. The air con didn't work and was very noisy. The TV remote didn't work. Minibar was empty on arrival and not replenished. We never received the morning newspaper we had ordered each day. I would not return to this hotel until the rooms have been updated.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1378barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowesh6624, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback. I am very pleased that you found the staff welcoming and friendly and that your room service order was excellent. With regard to your bedroom, I am sorry that this fell below your expectations. Around 80% of the bedrooms have now been refurbished and there are plans to complete the refusrbishment programme next year. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
870 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing