We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$76
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$106
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Court(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveller rating
804
888
312
114
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
804
888
312
114
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomjacuzzi and saunaleisure facilitiescar parkcity centrelovely hotelper daygood sizenespresso machinewalk in showerreception stafflocation is excellenton site parkingthird floorfew minutes walkbuffet stylestayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,545 - 1,550 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Last visited about 12 months ago and was left feeling disappointed.
On the latest visit the reception was more welcoming, indeed all staff were excellent, the beds were still comfortable and both room and public areas were very clean. Stayed on a good value package which included an excellent evening meal.
Room was again too hot with no apparent way of cooling apart from leaving a window open allowing one to share the benefits of the late night smokers' conversations. Furniture and fittings still 'tired' in places, missing handles etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have just spent a 2 days in Exeter with my very dear friend and we had a lovely time made even more special thanks to the Mercure. The hotel could not be better positioned for the City Center bars & restaurants,a lovely safe walk even at night. As soon as you enter the foyer there is a lovely feeling of welcome and comfort. The staff were all very polite and helpful. The room considering it was a premier was small but very clean and tidy.The shower room was exceptionally clean and modern with a fantastic walk in shower.Beakfast was well presented and very good full breakfst. Parking is at a cost but cars are safe and parking in the City would cost a lot more overnight and all day.
Well dont Mercure a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Book a premier or deluxe as very basic and small.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 27_Ladybird_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed for one night, and got exactly what we had paid for. It is an older design, but the room was nicely decorated, clean, well stocked with the bathroom bits and the coffee bits. The room was a bit small, but no problem for a one or two night stay. We used the leisure facilities, a small, 1.5m deep pool - OK for a gentle relax after the drive, and a pleasant jaccussi . There was a sauna - well used, but we didn't. There is a well equipped fitness suite, also well used by locals. A small comfortable bar leads into the restaurant. Exeter high street is only 5 mins walk and a variety of food outlets, but we ate in. The menu is not extensive, but what it offers is done very well! A really nice meal, beautifully presented. (Not a one off - I have been before). Breakfast was included on our bill, but is optional. Breakfast offered a terrific range - you won't need to eat until tea for sure.
Staff are helpful and attentive. The only downside ifs the parking £10 per stay added to the bill. However, if you look at the cost of parking for 24hrs in the city centre, and the convenience factor, it didn't feel so bad. We really enjoyed our stay and would return for occasional shopping trips.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

A nice central city hotel in Exeter in a great location surrounded by the cathedral and beautiful Georgian houses. The hotel is contemporary and clean but extremely overpriced for the rooms, and car park charge is ridiculous!! Stayed in a lot of hotels better for the money charged.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scud2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here for 1 night.
When you arrive you have to take a car parking ticket and pay for your parking. :-(
The reception area and bar/ restaurant area are modern and in good taste.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
Our room was small but had everything you needed including a hairdryer attached to a draw so you don't steal it!
For me the bathrooms in the rooms are very out of date and compared with the modern bedrooms this lets the hotel down.
Staff on the bar in the evening were fantastic and good fun especially Marc. :-)
Breakfast was good, lots of different things to choose from but for £15.00 a head i would want the works which this breakfast buffet doesn't have! Where are the pancakes?? Also when we arrived for breakfast most of the pastries had gone and hadn't been replaced.
The staff at breakfast were very friendly and helpful.
An enjoyable stay and would recommend to anyone staying in Exeter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchi700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews