We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine complaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Please improve the quality of the wine by the glass - the white wine was really nasty stuff!!! Did not eat there so cant comment on the food. Location is good and there is a car park which is a big plus. A good value hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lynne2660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review - I'm surprised to read your comments regarding the wine quality. We have a specific fine wine menu called 'Les Grand Vin' which showcases excellent wines at competitive prices by the bottle and the glass. I will make sure it is more prominently promoted going forward. We look forward to welcoming you back for a glass of Les Grand Vin soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,412 - 1,418 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

stayed over the easter week-end and the hotel was fairly busy, but no problems checking in.All the staff where great,nothing to much trouble.Large clean room with walk in shower.Used the pool,jacuzzi and sauna,busy but still great.Good breakfast selection,but a bit on the steep price side at £15 per person(unless you can negotiate a better price).After the first night we asked at reception for softer pillows for the bed ,which they changed immediatly and was impressed that the receptionist had remembered our names and room number from the previous day.Close to the city centre/ cathedral.Excellant location, first class service.Definately stay again when visiting this part of the country.Parking on site a plus but at £10 a bit steep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericfreeman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back soon. We make a charge for our secure car parking in order to keep our bedroom rates as competitive as possible. We hope to welcome you back to Exeter soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break recently. Hotel is in a great central location, staff were very helpful and rooms were of a decent size. In general the hotel was very clean.
Swimming pool was quite small but nevertheless okay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thanks for your recent review; I pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel's location ideal for the city centre. I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here on Saturday for 1 night, the hotel is great, contemporary decor and modern rooms, the only downside was that although the room was clean the bathroom looked like it had been rushed and was not spotless. Breakfast was great lots of choice and lovely, there was free wi-fi, parking was £10 a day for hotel guests which surprised me, location was a 2 min walk from the centre of the city, Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Exeter in the future.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a sat and sun night. When we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a privilege room and it was very nicely decorated and had all of the usual comforts and more as with a privilege room you also get a nesspresso coffee machine, however only 3 pods to use each day, other tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary water and a selection of soft drinks in the mini bar. The bathroom had a nice walk in shower so you'll be disappointed if your a bath lover. The decor of the rest of the hotel is very nice and modern including the bar area which was very welcoming. We used the pool and jacuzzi which were nice, the gym was fairly small but did have all of the usual cardio machines and a small selection of weight machines. The hotel website and information in the room advertises spa facilities but these are no longer available and haven't been for some time so you will be disappointed if you were hoping to have any treatments or massages, the hotel really do need to update the information regarding this. We didn't sample the restaurant in the evening but we had breakfast each morning, on he first morning, sun, it was a bit chaotic as they were fairly busy, the hot buffet had run out of bacon, hash browns & mushrooms & they didn't appear to be keeping an eye on the levels too well. They also took an age to ask us if we wanted tea or coffee, we eventually attracted the attention of a waitress who got us our coffee but we had nearly finished our breakfast by the time we got it. The breakfast on the mon morning was a lot quieter and they coped much better and everything was available from the hot buffet. The food was very nice on boh mornings however. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel as it was clean, comfortable with extremely helpful and friendly staff and it also very centrally located. If we go back to exter, which we no doubt will as we had a fantastic weekend, we would be happy to stay at he southgate again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank xvikingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed here on business. I chose this hotel because it has parking and was close to the centre. Got off to a fairly bad start as they charged me £10 to park overnight. If you're leaving in the morning try to park in the local authority car park across the road for £2.50. I can understand why they might charge conference guests or people only stopping for a meeting but when you've paid the room rate you should be able to park for free. That aside, check-in was smooth and I went to my room which was smart enough. At this point I wish I'd spent a bit more time in my room instead of going straight out for dinner otherwise I'd have noticed the noisy fan in the bathroom. Once I'd returned in the early hours I went to bed only to find that I couldn't sleep because of the noisy fan in the bathroom. It was late and I couldn't be bothered to move rooms so I put up with it. Breakfast in the morning was chaotic but of a good standard and check-out was also smooth. I got one of those survey requests through the next day asking how my stay was so I thought I'd fill it in and tell them about the fan. The manager emailed me afterwards to apologise and said that she'd got someone to fix it - no offer of another night in another Mercure or anything like that though even though I'd probably have slept better in my car (and I was paying £10 for it to be there so why not?). Below par this time although I'm sure many others have had enjoyable stays here.

Room Tip: Check your room fan as soon as you get in the room, it runs 24/7 so if it is noisy you won't sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BennyRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I had an enjoyable visit from start to finish and felt values and well looked after throughout my stay. The rooms was spotless, the shower and bathroom functioned perfectly and I particularly enjoyed the Nespresso machine and tasty bar of chocolate. My room also enjoyed a strong uninterrupted wifi signal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £86 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing