We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

All plus's for this Hotel and Staff. Great service, nothing too much for the staff. Restaurant great, food perfect, no need to book or you can eat in the bar. Good choice on the menu. Breakfast good lots of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback following you recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    810
    276
    98
    36
See reviews for
381
871
89
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east coast
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Location is the chief advantage of this hotel with all the attractions of Exeter within easy walking distance. Large reception area and helpful reception staff. The size of the room was fine with a large bed. Unfortunately it had a rubber under sheet, ugh, dreadful lumpy pillows and a douvet which had been partly folded over as the case was too small and hardly reached both sides of the bed. The housekeeping was very poor. When we arrived, neither bedside lamp was working. Someone came to replace the bulbs and though they worked after that, the fittings were knackered. We only found one bath towel to start with and eventually unearthed the 2nd one in the wardrobe. They were nice and large. There was a speaker in the bathroom from the telly. It had a volume switch but you couldn't turn it off. Very meagre toiletries and I couldn't find a way of turning the shower on without getting a cold soaking. Once it got going, it was hot with a good flow but the thermostat was a bit dodgy. The actual tap was so stiff (and noisy) it took 2 hands to turn it on. Ok, so I know it was Christmas but no attempt was made to make the beds on Christmas Day. The covers were pulled over a crumpled mess. The common parts of the hotel were tired and very grubby. I was surprised at this but the dining room seats were stained and marked, and the arms of my chair were very sticky. There was food on the carpets too. Breakfast was ok on the whole but the staff were busy running around like headless chickens a lot of the time. The food was good on two of the three days, and plenty of it. The staff were friendly, they just need some management. £10 a day for the car park. Seemed steep but then it is a city centre location so can't grumble. I would stay here again because of the location, but I feel Mercure is cutting too many corners to save money and they are letting themselves down.

Room Tip: Try one of the new ones. May be better than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us - we are pleased to learn that you found the hotel's location, front office team and your room to your liking. I have highlighted your feedback regarding your room to both the maintenance engineer and Executive housekeeper to investigate and put right immediately; the internal working mechanism in the shower has already been replaced as a direct result of your feeback. Please accept our sincere apologies if your room was not serviced properly on Christmas Day, this has been addressed with the room attendant.Thank you for bringing these shortcomings to my attention so I may address them.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was our third stay at the Southgate. We love the location as it is so close to the city centre but tucked away in a very quiet street. Our family rooms have always been very good. The service is good and the staff have always been very friendly and helpful. The leisure facilities are good. Car parking can be a bit of a pain during busy holiday periods but apart from that we love staying at the Southgate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Jackie
Many thanks for your generous review following your recent stay with us - the team and I are delighted that Mercure Southgate is your hotel of choice in Exeter.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Oh dear. I gather some of the rooms have been refurbished unfortunately mine was but in c.1992. Rubbish lighting. Fixed head shower over bath, no bidet, miserly bathroom products. No room safe. Hideous pillows. Rip off breakfast charge; perfectly nice cafe on Cathedral Close which was much better value. Overworked receptionists.

Room Tip: Look at the room before lugging your luggage there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Putney Biker
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn your were disappointed with your room; you are correct we are undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment where with just 4 bedrooms (of the 154) outstanding which will be completed in 2014. This is reflected in the price charged for the room.
I am also sorry to learn you were disappointed by the toiletry offering and lack of bidet in your bathroom. We reviewed our toiletry offering as most guests choose to bring their own preferred toiletries; however a full extensive range is available upon request. We have no plans to incorporate bidets into our bathrooms as we do not receive regular demand for this facility.
We believe our breakfast offering is far superior to any local cafe, we offer a Continental and full English buffet along with an 'a la carte' menu for the one price; had you chosen to experience breakfast with us I am confident you would agree. It is more cost effective to book a rate inclusive of breakfast prior to arrival.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were dreading this christmas at this hotel, firstly they took ALL the money upfront instead of a deposit, then emailed wanting to know our menu requirements for the xmas meal..odd behaviour!
However, from the moment we arrived, we had a brilliant time! All staff were polite, caring and efficient (operations manager helped serve the meal even with a broken bone in her foot!) and the pool was clean, well run and fantastic.
Only little things made it a four star - shower not working at all in 1 room (although they did offer to change rooms) and our shower wouldn't turn off on the last day - fixed by a lovely guy from reception.
The location is fab, within walking distance of the city for shopping etc, and then down to the quay and canals and back - excellent workout prior to lunch.
We would definitely go again, but would check out the showers before unpacking next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essdobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor following your recent festive break and your generous feedback regarding the staff and service throughout your stay. We are so pleased that you found the location idea in the heart of Exeter for exploring the shops and quayside area.
I am sorry to learn that the pre-payment arrangements for the Christmas package were not fully explained to you at the time of booking and if there was any oversight on our part. We contact our guests shortly before arrival to confirm menu choices for Christmas Day to ensure a seamless service experience on such an important day. This also ensures we are aware of any dietary or special requirements prior to arrival.
We hope to welcome you back in the new year.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

First the good bits. The room we had was big and comfortable. The bed was good ,the shower effective and plenty of tea and coffee. We had a good nights sleep and were both looking forward to a lie in.

WHAT a mistake!!!!
Despite a DO NOT DISTURB sign clearly visible on the door handle...we were rudely awoken at 9.12 am when a chambermaid walked into our room. Tried to telephone reception on the hotel phone, which was not answers, requiring me to use my mobile telephone. Now up, showered and dressed and asked to speak to the hotel manager, spoke to a Lauri's, who offered an up grade for a future visit, or a late check out. what's the point ? Already up and showered, so much for a late lie in. It was suggested to me that I my have put the 'please make up the room' sign..which is insulting.
Avoid if you wish for comfort and a nic relax...you will not get I here

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Barcelonared1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest
Please accept our sincere apologies if our housekeeping team disturbed you at 9.12 in the morning, when you were planning for a long lie in. Please rest assured that our Executive Housekeeper has re-trained the team in the room servicing procedures to ensure that this mistake is not repeated. I am only sorry that this spoilt your whole stay with us.
Many thanks for bringing this to my attention and thank you for your positibe comments regarding your room and the hotel.
Despite this oversight we hope to welcome you back to the hotel and wish you a Happy New Year.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 740 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Mercure Southgate may not be your first lodging option while visiting Exeter, but its location is unbeatable! Really excellent! Downtown, near to everything and at a short walk from Exeter's fantastic Cathedral and beautiful Quayside area. One nice thing about Mercure hotels - all over the world - is that one knows beforehand what will get: clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff and correct service. At Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel it couldn't be different. Our stay was as smooth as desirable, with no memories of queuing for anything. Breakfast was not unforgettable, but good enough. Outstanding wifi connection: extremely fast! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor. They are not noisy at all, but a parking lot will be your only view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Luiz
Many thanks for your generous review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you found the location ideal and the hotel's facilities and service up your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back if you plan to visit the SW of England again soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
872 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing