We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid drinking wine in the resturant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid drinking wine in the resturant.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Check the cost of wine in the resturant before ordering. Don't make the same mistake we made after looking at the room service menu and find your paying £46 for an average tasting bottle.
Bar area also uncomfortabley cold.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving your feedback following your recent stay, I am sorry to learn that you did not appreciate the wine you selected.
The wine in question was a bottle of 'Oakridge 864 Chardonnay' from Yarra Valley featured on 'Les Grands Vins' list. The price of £46 is clearly stated immediately next to the description of the wine in bold font; many experts believe that the 864 is the greatest Chardonnay in Australia. Please feel free to google the wine and you will see that the price charges is very competitive.
At Mercure, we believe that excessive wine prices discourage guests from discovering fine wines, so we offer Les Grands Vins at a very small margin. A full selection of House selected wines are featured on the main restuarant menu and are very affordable.
I am sorry you found the bar to be cold, I will certainly investigate this immediately with the maintenance team, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    794
    272
    97
    36
See reviews for
375
854
88
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the end of November for a Christmas Shopping trip as a group of friends. We arrived early in the morning to be able to take advantage of the whole days shopping and easily parked in the hotel car and left our bags in reception ready for checking in later in the day. A short walk to the Cathedral we found a large Christmas Market in the grounds, a great surprise and something to keep in mind for our next trip. After a lovely days shopping we returned to The Mercure to check in, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we soon had our keys to our rooms.

The rooms were a good size, clean with lovely comfortable beds and overlooking the Cathedral. After freshening up we decided to try a Cocktail in the bar, something I would definitely recommend.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we preferred to try out Exeter's nightlife but the restaurant looked inviting and was busy.

My only gripe with the hotel at all was the fact that early in the morning the person delivering the Sunday papers to rooms was clearly dropping them from a great height resulting in them slamming to the floor very noisily all along the corridor. That said we had a great stay, the location is great for exploring Exeter and it's sights, the staff we came into contact with were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljp1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Many thanks for your review. I'm so pleased to learn you found te hotel and location ideal for your shopping break. Thank you for your feedback regarding the noise created by the delivery of the Sunday papers - I have already alerted the night team to your feedback and action will be taken to minimise noise going forward. We hope to welcome you back next time you fancy another shopping trip.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a work trip. Great stay, comfortable, helpful staff, very quiet, nice fitness facilities and pool. Would stay here again. Had a lie in so no breakfast but nice to be able to have itin your room ifyou wanted.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Racvacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive review; I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and treated yourself to a lie in. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Nice hotel with very friendly staff. The hotel was recently renovated with attention to modernizing the rooms. The rest of the hotel seems to hold onto its heritage which i thought was really nice.

I had a view of the cathedral from my window which was nice to wake up to. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Ryamac
Many thanks for your generous review; I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Essentially a very nice comfortable establishment with everything one expects from a 4 star hotel. Only a few minutes' walk from the city centre it is conveniently located while nevertheless relatively quiet.

A few small things let it down:
- While most of the staff at reception were very good, I did encounter one person who was clearly incompetent and did not bother to ask for help from a colleague even though things were quiet.
- I was surprised that in this day and age my room only had single glazing in the Windows; while it was not noisy, it would surely have been even quieter with double glazing.
- I didn't find the bar particularly inviting.

Having listed the negative points it is only fair to say that there were many positive ones. With one exception, all the reception staff were most helpful. My room was spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast was good, but would have been nice to have known that there were more options for breakfast, which I only learned halfway through breakfast on my last morning. The bar staff were very good and helpful, though the price of beer was somewhat higher than I would have expected to pay for the same product in a local pub.

All in all a very pleasant stay with just a few minor points that could be improved upon.

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Frank
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel's location, the breakfast buffet and the majority of the reception team. We do have one team member who is currently a trainee; I am so sorry if you found her less efficient. I will highlight your concerns to the front office manager so he can re-focus her training. Thank you for making us aware.
We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here last Summer for a night and it is ideally placed to wonder around Exeter.

The rooms were of a decent standard which you'd expect for a £100+ a night hotel, it has a nice and comfy bar area as well which is welcoming as you enter the main doors / reception area.

Nice pool as well which was empty a bit later in the night which was ideal.

Very accessible to stroll down to the riverside bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Ian
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your stay last summer.
I'm so pleased that you found the hotel's facilities and location ideal for your visit to Exeter.
We hope to welcome you back should you return to the SW of England again in the future.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We needed a place to stay for 2 days while my daughter graduated from Exeter University. There were 7 of us - including elderly grandparents. The Mercure was ideally situated very close to the Cathedral Close and city centre, so we could walk to restaurants and shops. It is not cheap - we were staying at the peak season- but it's high standard of service and cleanliness was very reliable.

Room Tip: Our room faced onto the rear of the hotel and was quiet. It was on the ground floor so easily access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghSarahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sarah
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your family stay to celebrate your daughter's graduation in July. I'm so glad you found the hotel's location ideal for the city centre shops and restaurants.
We hope to welcome you back should you return to Exeter.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing