We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A warm welcome by friendly staff was a great start to our few days in the region my forebears came from. Good sized comfortable room good bed, great resteraunt, again friendly and knowledgeable staff including the adjoining bar staff. Location was close to town parking was good enjoyed the stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank taxi_driver50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us at Mercure Exeter. We are so pleased to learn that your enjoyed the hotel's facilities, service and location.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,172 - 1,178 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We were staying as part of a wedding party. Our initial impression of our room (186) was great as it was really spacious even with the extra bed for my daughter. We only had towels and cups for tea but a third set arrived promptly when requested. However, the bathroom and hallway sounded as if they were about to blow up! The noise and vibration were awful. Melle quickly called maintenance and stayed until the problem was diagnosed, keeping us informed every few minutes. The problem was found and part fitted. Great service. ( That said, that bathroom still needs a bit of updating and sticking down some loose wallpaper and improving lighting in the room would encourage me to add another star!) The 15 metre pool was a great way to relax after a very rainy afternoon in Exeter. The location is fantastic - about 5 mins to the cathedral and a couple of mins further to the main area of town . Quay area about 10 mins. The self- service breakfast had a great choice and tables nicely spaced apart. We didn't have the opportunity to spend time in the bar area but it was a comfortable, welcoming area. All staff were friendly and helpful but Melle's commitment to problem solving deserves a special mention. Can't comment on value for money as we were treated to the break.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Mercure Exeter. I am sorry to learn you experienced a slight maintenance defect on arrival, this should have been identified by the housekeeping team when servicing the room, so please accept our apologies that this did not happen. I was reassured to learn that this was dealt with promptly and efficiently by Melle and the maintenance team.
I am pleased to learn that you found the location ideal and enjoyed the pool and breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to The Southgate next time you visit the South West.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was a very welcoming hotel. The check in was efficient. The room was of a good size and the tea and coffee provided were more than adequate. It was a pity that there was no bath (only a shower) but that was large and simple to use.
The bed was too firm for our tastes but that was a matter of preference and others would find it ok.

Breakfast was well cooked, tasty and good value at the reduced rate offered by the hotel. They were able to provide gluten free bread for my wife who has a wheat allergy. Always a good sign!

The position of the hotel gives good, quick and easy access to the city centre and the Quay. We came by train but I would grate a little, if driving, to have to pay £10 per to use the hotel car park.
Will we be back...we certainly will and will investigate other hotels in this group.

Room Tip: go on a comparison site to secure a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Peter
Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the facilities, service and location of the hotel.
We make a charge for car parking as we are the only city-centre hotel with ample, onsite, barrier controlled parking. By charging seperately for car parking our rates can be directly compared with other hotels in the market place.
We are glad you plan to return to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just spent two days at Mercure Exeter lovely break nice room and staff excellent breakfast. Hotel was busy as it was Exeter university graduation weekend but staff were efficient and attentive. Had a snack at the bar which was also good. Would definatly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any upgrades and you will probably get one,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Suzy
Many thanks for your generous review following your recent stay with us over Graduation weekend. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your room and received excellent service at breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Check the cost of wine in the resturant before ordering. Don't make the same mistake we made after looking at the room service menu and find your paying £46 for an average tasting bottle.
Bar area also uncomfortabley cold.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving your feedback following your recent stay, I am sorry to learn that you did not appreciate the wine you selected.
The wine in question was a bottle of 'Oakridge 864 Chardonnay' from Yarra Valley featured on 'Les Grands Vins' list. The price of £46 is clearly stated immediately next to the description of the wine in bold font; many experts believe that the 864 is the greatest Chardonnay in Australia. Please feel free to google the wine and you will see that the price charges is very competitive.
At Mercure, we believe that excessive wine prices discourage guests from discovering fine wines, so we offer Les Grands Vins at a very small margin. A full selection of House selected wines are featured on the main restuarant menu and are very affordable.
I am sorry you found the bar to be cold, I will certainly investigate this immediately with the maintenance team, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the end of November for a Christmas Shopping trip as a group of friends. We arrived early in the morning to be able to take advantage of the whole days shopping and easily parked in the hotel car and left our bags in reception ready for checking in later in the day. A short walk to the Cathedral we found a large Christmas Market in the grounds, a great surprise and something to keep in mind for our next trip. After a lovely days shopping we returned to The Mercure to check in, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we soon had our keys to our rooms.

The rooms were a good size, clean with lovely comfortable beds and overlooking the Cathedral. After freshening up we decided to try a Cocktail in the bar, something I would definitely recommend.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we preferred to try out Exeter's nightlife but the restaurant looked inviting and was busy.

My only gripe with the hotel at all was the fact that early in the morning the person delivering the Sunday papers to rooms was clearly dropping them from a great height resulting in them slamming to the floor very noisily all along the corridor. That said we had a great stay, the location is great for exploring Exeter and it's sights, the staff we came into contact with were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljp1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Many thanks for your review. I'm so pleased to learn you found te hotel and location ideal for your shopping break. Thank you for your feedback regarding the noise created by the delivery of the Sunday papers - I have already alerted the night team to your feedback and action will be taken to minimise noise going forward. We hope to welcome you back next time you fancy another shopping trip.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for a work trip. Great stay, comfortable, helpful staff, very quiet, nice fitness facilities and pool. Would stay here again. Had a lie in so no breakfast but nice to be able to have itin your room ifyou wanted.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Racvacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive review; I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and treated yourself to a lie in. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
253 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
4.3 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £79 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing