We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exeter Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
hot70000000000000
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exeter Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel pleasant and very helpful staff.

Rooms are comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep.

Food was good and plenty of choice available, although I found the bar was expensive for soft drinks.

Free wifi throughout the hotel which is a must.

The hotel charges for parking in its car park.

The main shopping centre / Exeter Cathedral are just a three minute walk away which is very handy.

I would stay here again

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hot70000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.
We're pleased to learn you found the hotel pleasant and the staff helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Exeter.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    791
    267
    96
    36
See reviews for
373
846
86
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
594 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here for a meeting, nice building well situated. Leisure facilities and bar were very good and the staff very helpful, above all I had a very good sleep. I liked the style of the room plenty of space.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Ian
Many thanks for your positive review following your recent stay; we're delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay and successful meeting.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great location, minutes from the Cathedral and the shops. Plenty of parking. Staff could'nt be nicer. Good leisue facilities, nice pool, sauna and jacuzzi. Nice bar area and restaurant adequate for breakfast (did'nt eat another meal there).
Had the Berkley suite for 2 nights. plenty of room and storage space. nice touch to have two tv's; comfortable bed but dated, tired decor; inadequate lighting in bathroom and unless you are 4ft and under the over the bath shower was neither tall or powerful enough.
suprisingly given the hotel was full and in a city centre location, it was very quiet and peaceful with no noise pollution.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyredondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Tony
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay; I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the leisure club and the public areas of the hotel.
The room you stayed in is on of the last 4 rooms to be updated and a little dated, consequently we offer this suite at the classic bedroom tariff. The remaining rooms are scheduled for refurbishment later in the year which will address the issues raised.
We hope to welcome you back to Mercure Southgate next time you visit Exeter
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for one night in standard rooms while we visited the University. The public rooms were beautifully decorated, as were the bedrooms, the service was excellent throughout the hotel, from the leisure club to reception to the bar. Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you, we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLLY123BUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Holly
Many thanks for your generous feedback following your recent university visit; I know the team will be delighted to learn you found them friendly and accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've reviewed this property before and would just like to support my previous review after my latest visit by saying that this is one of the better places I've found to stay in Exeter if you can get it at the right price. So book early or don't go in the peak summer season. But if you do get in expect a comfortable room, good location (just outside the old city walls and round the corner from the Cathedral and shopping centre, and with the added benefit of the pool, gym and leisure facilities. I went room only this time around and found plenty of choice to eat out around and about. I'll be going back again soon if within my works budget. My only gripe is that on my last visit the check in and check out were really slick and on this occasion much slower - oh, and the rain, but the hotel staff can't do anything about that!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNA149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Will
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's facilities. Please accept our apologies if there were any slight delays to check in or check out; I'll certainly share your feedback with the Front office manager so he is able to ensure any training needs are addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully in the sunshine.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mercure for a weekend whilst visiting our daughter at University. Great atmosphere with very friendly staff operating a high level of service. Room was clean and comfortable. Decent bathroom. Well stocked kettle/tea/coffee etc. Well stocked bar and an excellent buffet breakfast, which on our stay was on a 2 for 1offer. The hotel is also in a great location close to both the Quayside and City Centre. On site parking is £10 a day, which for guests We thought was bit pricey, but that's the only fault we could pick with an otherwise great hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Turbinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay to spend time with your daughter attending Exeter University.
We are delighted that you were satisfied with so many aspects of the hotel and the service. We charge for car parking seperately from the bedroom tariff, so our guests can compare our rates with the other central hotels who are unable to offer ample, onsite, secure car parking.
We hope you will return to Mercure Southgate next time you visit your daughter.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My Wife and I were very impressed with the Hotel, staff , facilities and surroundings. This was our first visit, to the Southgate and am sure it won't be our last. The weekend we stayed it was our anniversary weekend and we asked for a room that had specific facilities (bath, etc) & cathedral view and felt very treated & happy when we received this. We would highly recommend for short relaxing stays. Great central location, but very peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWright85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Mr Wright
Thank you for your positive feedback.
We're delighted to learn you enjoyed your anniversary break with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing