We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one night stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the hotel last Saturday,we had a lovely time room was very nice,clean and comfortable.we had an evening meal I had rib eye steak which melted in my mouth it was delicious could not fault it service was great,the only problem was we had breakfast in our room
by the time we ate our cereal our cooked breakfast was a bit cold I think if the plates were hot it would of helped to keep the food warm but all in all would recommend to others stayed before and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Dawn
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay. We're delighted to learn you enjoyed the service and you Rib eye steak.
I am sorry you felt your breakfast was a little under temperature after you had eaten your cereal - I will certainly remind the breakfast chef to ensure room service breakfast plates are hot when leaving the kitchen.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    795
    272
    97
    36
See reviews for
376
855
88
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Standard room but very comfortable and pleasantly decorated, everything you'd want. Very quiet hotel and lovely pool. Within very easy walking distance of city centre, perfect. Only downside is that there is a charge for parking. A very small minus point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cathedral walk way, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catwallader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We charge seperately for parking so that our guests can accurately compare our bedroom tariff with the other hotels in the market who are unable to offer this facility.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is centrally located on a street of lovely Georgian style buildings. The Cathedral is a couple of minutes walk away, as is the central shopping area and several worthy places to eat. Also a short walk to the nicely re-developed river front where there are pubs and cafes. We arrived in Exeter by bus from Heathrow and had an easy walk, gently downhill, from the Central bus station. The hotel is well equipped with a good indoor pool, pleasant bar and restaurant which opens onto a leafy patio. Food at breakfast was good, and the restaurant served us an excellent dinner. The room, a superior, was extremely comfortable, although not spacious. All in all a good place to stay in Exeter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dart-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your generous review; we are all delighted to learn that you found the location to your liking and enjoyed the hotel's facilities and food.
We hope to welcome you back next time you visit the South West.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with family just after Christmas,nice hotel with good facitilies in the centre of town, only gripe was having to pay for parking and the lack of ciders on draught as they only had Simmons cider which is more of a preferancr thing

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gvalvona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following your stay just after Christmas. We charge seperately for car parking so our room rates can be compared accurately with the other hotels in the city centre who are unable to offer this facility.
I am sorry Symmonds cider is not to your taste, we do experience sufficient demand to offer a choice on draught but do stop oter bottled varieties.
We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Ok booked via telephone and then was sent information by email. Not a problem. It transpired that car parking was another £10 per day I was not provided this information when booking or sent through on email. It should be that residents get parking free of charge, yes the hotel may be in city centre so parking may be a problem but don't get residents to pay for general parking. The room was as expected ie clean and tidy, but hot water on shower did not work, I mentioned this on paying the bill but it was not noted! So remember car park is another £10 per day charge!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter-HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Peter
Thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. I am sorry you do not feel you were made aware of our car parking policy.
We charge seperately for secure, onsite car parking as none of the hotels in centre of Exeter can offer this facility and service; therefore by charging seperately our customers can compare our room rates accurately with the other hotels in the heart of the city. We clearly advertise parking on our website and on the entrance to the car park. Alternative options are available close by at various tariffs.
I am sorry that you experienced a problem with the hot water, we have investigated your rooms and identified a small fault with the thermostat and replaced it immediately- thank you for bringing this to the receptionist's attention.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

On Saturday 5 April a party of 17 were royally cared for with great hospitality. We enjoyed a reception of canapés and champagne followed by private dining in the Terrace Room where we partook of a variety of dishes over 3 courses with a selection of wines. Given the multiplicity of individual orders the service was excellent, friendly, caring and discreet. Clearly the Southgate Mercure can be recommended for groups of this size.

David R Kohler

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woopecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your generous review; we are so pleased to learn your enjoyed your society dinner in our Lounge Terrace. I have shared your feedback with the team that served you and they are delighted that their efforts were appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back again in the not to distant future.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent a long weekend in Exeter and Dartmouth and I chose the Southgate Hotel as it had leisure facilities. The front desk were pleasant but I had to ask about everything rather than them telling me about what was available. Room was clean and tidy. We didn't get a very good nights sleep due to the awful pillows supplied. One was as hard as a rock and the other a shapeless mess with no support but not soft enough to be pleasant. Word of warning to anyone infirmed, the bath was really high, so climbing in and out to take a shower could prove difficult. I am tall and I had to crouch under the fixed shower unit.

Breakfast staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast itself was similar to any large hotel in that it was a heated buffet. The quality was better than most.

The leisure facilities were good. A nice sized pool with a Jacuzzi and sauna at the side. They really could do with a poolside shower though so you don't have to walk back into the changing rooms from the pool to enter the sauna and then back into the changing rooms if you want to go in the pool. A minor irritant but worth saying. Staff their were unfriendly and I think they probably preferred dealing the permanent gym members rather than hotel guests

Room Tip: You can hear the cathedral bells from the rooms at the back of the hotel. Shower was good but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phast007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay, I have shared your feedback with the team to ensure they address the concerns raised promptly.
Thank you for you comments regarding the reception team, breakfast and leisure facilities. We will commence retraining with both the Front desk team and leisure department to ensure they are both welcoming and informative.
We hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing