We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely first class ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We have nothing but praise for the staff that made sure our stay was enjoyable.

The hotel itself is centrally located and is well presented.

Our room was on the largish size with comfortable chairs to relax on. The room was spotless, the bathroom providing a wonderful hot shower. The towels were large, soft and fluffy which was a nice change from the postage stamp sized towels that some hotels provide.

The breakfast was very nice and of good quality.

I would not hesitate in recommending the Exeter Hotel Mercure.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Jon
Thank you for you fabulous review, we are all delighted that you found the hotel's facilities, location and service ideal for your break.
We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for the recommendation.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    784
    264
    95
    36
See reviews for
370
835
86
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Situated in central Exeter only minutes walking from Exeter Cathedral, The Southgate Hotel is a welcoming venue, offered us good food and accommodation for us visiting Exeter for the first time.

Although we only ate breakfast at the hotel, it was an excellent offering of hot and cold dishes of great variety, with an attentive and pleasant staff.

Our room was very clean and tidy and the facilities of the standard expected of such a prestigious hotel.

We would happily recommend The Southgate to anyone wanting to visit Exeter.

Room Tip: Although our room faced Southernhay, we experienced no noise during the nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Richard
Many thanks for your positive feedback foolowing your recent stay. We are really pleased you enjoyed the facilities and service at the hotel and found the location ideal for exploring the city on foot.
We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Exeter.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed here before and love the location so close to Exeter town centre.
We arrived on a Wednesday and booked a dinner, bed and breakfast stay.
The hotel has a gym and spa which is ideal to relax in before dinner. The service and menu is reliable and consistent and we both enjoyed dinner and self service breakfast.
We would recommend this hotel as an ideal base to explore the wonderful and interesting city of Exeter.

Room Tip: Rooms have limited views but are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillyPoole_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Hilly Poole
Thank you for your recent review following your recent midweek dinner, bed & breakfast break.
We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your break with us and took time to enjoy both the leisure facilities and the restaurant.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stopped off for one night on the way south having booked effortlessly on line. Other family members including young children also stopped there. The hotel is very easy to find, very conveniently located for the City and has a good car park (paying). The staff were all excellent, very friendly & helpful. The room was very clean, comfortable, well equipped & quite spacious. Furnishings are rather dark & traditional. We arrived just after lunchtime so had plenty of time to site see followed by a swim in the good sized hotel pool.
My wife and I ate in the restaurant in the evening. The lady who sorted us out was superb. The dining room décor was very mdrn & new. The food was served very efficiently & was really good. The presentation & size of the meals was a little toward "Nouveau Quisine" ie very attractive & tasty but not huge! Buffet breakfast was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 79Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Mike
Thank you for your glowing feedback, we are so pleased to learn that you have found the hotel and an place to stopover en route to Cornwall.
We hope to welcome you back on your return journey.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here with family (2 adults / 2 children 4 &1 years old), booked via the Accor main number, being an Accor member it's a quick call as they have my details and the staff are always extremely helpful.

The hotel is in a good central location, walking distance to the city centre and car parking is secure although the £10 charge is a tad steep.

Interior and rooms are well looked after, decorated to a high standard and very very clean - no complaints here.

My only issue was that we had booked a cot for the room which was there when we arrived but inside was a mattress with no sheet and a double duvet again with no cover and a pillow, again with no cover. I doubt many 1 year olds sleep in a cot with a large double duvet so had to call to ask for a sheet to put over the mattress in the cot and removed the duvet and pillow. The hotel also knew there were 4 guests staying but only provided towels for 2, so again had to call for extra towels. That said they did arrive within 10 minutes of the request.

Swimming pool was a great addition and we all enjoyed using these facilities the next morning.

Breakfast was very good with plenty on offer for everyone.

Room Tip: Away from over looking the entrance to the carpark barrier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0nB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear J0
Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding the hotel, facilities and service. I am so sorry that the cot was not prepared properly ready for your arrival - I have discussed your feedback with the Executive Housekeeper who has pledged to improve the checking process going forward.
The room was checked and recorded as inspected prior to your requests being actioned - please accept our apologies for this oversight, I am pleased to learn it was addressed promptly when your highlighted the issue.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention so we can continually improve our service.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Comfortable rooms, but the bathroom in my room needed a thorough clean. Staff are on-hand and are helpful. The lounge/bar is comfortable but can get crowded. The hotel is slightly above average and compares well to others in Exeter. My only complaint is the parking arrangement - the car park is too small for a hotel of this size, so I had to wait about 20 minutes for somebody to leave, and then the hotel charges an addition £10 per night for guests. Given that this is not a cheap hotel I was surprised that there is an additional cost added to your total bill.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rw00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear RW

Thank you for your feedback following you recent stay; I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you especially for your positive comments regarding the service staff.
I am sorry if you found the car parking a challenge at one stage in your stay- it is generally absolutely fine as there are 100 spaces at the hotel. We charge seperately for car parking as we are the only hotel with a large onsite, secure car park. Charging seperately enables our guests to compare our bedroom prices accurately with the other hotels in the centre, who are unable to offer this facility.
Please expect my apologies that your bathroom was not immaculately clean on arrival, I will certainly share your feedback regarding the cleanliness of your bathroom with the Executive Housekeeper so she can review procedures and training immediately.
Thank you once agian for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in due course.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

THE Mecure, Southgate is the most expensive hotel in Exeter (perhaps with the exception of the Magellan Chapter which is more appropriate for the Essex massive) that I have frequented in the last few years. It is also the best. Big comfortable rooms, big comfortable beds, good restaurant (not too expensive), friendly and helpful staff, lovely waitresses with good and early English breakfasts. It is also well located, only a few minutes’ walk from the Quay or the city centre. I like this place so much that I have booked it for another week although like many hotels it is hard to comprehend the variation in nightly prices. BUT – why no biscuits in the room? Why £10.00 for the car park for residents and why no bath in the room?
Simple things (maybe not the bath) that would make this place a little better.
I fully recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ME&ERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear ME & ERR
Thank you for your positive review, we are delighted that you hold the hotel and our team in such high regard.
We charge seperately for car parking so that our room rates can be accurately compared with the other hotels in the marketplace, who are not able to offer ample secure onsite parking.
We do have some classic bedrooms with bath tubs, however these are rather more traditional in design with overhead shower. Like the airlines, we price our rooms according to a demand-based model so peak nights such as Tuesdy, Wednesday and Saturday are likely to me more expensive. I hope this clarifies the nightly variation.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#22 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing