We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Anniversary Break”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our second visit this year having stayed for our birthdays in March, this time we chose a classic guestroom as opposed to a privilage room, while the decor is'nt as modern it is still a nice room, you don't get a safe as you do in privilage room but you do get a fridge where we did'nt in the privilage room. Once again we found all staff warm and friendly and eager to please. This time we used the pool and it was a lovely experience, clean and well looked after, only minor complaint would be at 31degrees the pool was a little too warm for me. Breakfast was fantastic with wide choice of cerals,fruits,cold meats,cheeses and plenty to choose from for a cooked breakfast. Parking is charged at £10 a day and you can find cheaper nearby but for me £10 for secure parking is'nt a lot to pay. Hotel is in excellent location for catherdral and wonderful shopping areas, do take stroll down to the quay it's fantastic with great pubs for a drink and something to eat, there are also lovely walks along the river Exe. you can also get the train from Exeter to nearby seaside resorts around Devon and Cornwall if you fancy a change of scenery. As part of our booking there was a welcome gift on arrival, however we did not receive until 2nd day after having to ask 3 times but once it was delivered it was lovely the chocolate fudge was to die for, recently i have noticed a couple of bad reviews of this hotel, well for my wife and i these are unbeliveable they must be proffesional complainers, we love Exeter and this hotel and can't wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarneyBodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear BarneyBodger
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent anniversary stay with us. I am so pleased that you and your wife enjoy staying at the hotel when you visit Exeter.
We really appreciate your comments regarding the leisure club, breakfast and location, I have shared them with the whole team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    802
    274
    97
    36
See reviews for
379
864
88
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely clean, welcoming hotel with an excellent team of staff, from housekeeping, maintenance through to reception and leisure staff. The room above us flooded their bathroom which leaked trough our bathroom, a very unusual happening ! The team of staff were amazing and helped move us immediately. We had a few issues with noise from other guests and the sound of the fire doors were disturbing but it's a lovely clean hotel and the service from the staff is amazing.

Room Tip: Main bed is amazingly comfortable but child's truckle beds are very springy & lumpy. It get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Katya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Katya
Thank your recent review following your recent stay.
I am so sorry to learn that the guests in the room above you flooded their bathroom causing you to move rooms, but pleased to know the team went out of their way to assist and make you comfortable quickly in another room.
I have asked the housekeeper to double check all the fold away beds to ensure they meet the right level of comfort going forward.
We hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked into the Mercure Hotel in Exeter late on a Saturday night having driven for many hours across Cornwall we were really tired and wanting a good quality hotel to relax in after such a long day- we reviewed the website and the photos made the hotel look suitable. On arrival the reception and staff were modern and inviting so we were pleased. We were given room 285, called the Fairfax suite fro £150/ night. A member of staff went up before us and ‘checked it out’ then came down and aid it was ok… We were immediately surprised by how the room looked as it was large but had no ornaments or decorations so it looked bare and dull. The seating are had an ornate table with fret work sides that was thick with dust (human skin cells) and the carpet was sticky and dark around the edges . The mini bar fridge had an apple in it from the previous occupant! The bathroom had cracked tiles and was grubby to the point that we did not want to wash in it. There was a cream shower curtain that was damp and disgusting- why not have a shower screen that looks more clean? The bed had a coloured canopy over it that was frayed all above the headboard and the flooring creaked when ever you took a step
Overall the place was tired grubby and poor quality.
We were so disgusted by the place we actually decided to leave at 11pm and drive another 4 hours home rather than stay. We did not say why we had checked out after 30 mins being in the room as we knew the other rooms would be equally poor and we just wanted to leave and get home as soon as we could
We actually told reception that we had a problem at home we needed to attend to and the woman said she would see if she could get a refund/ reduction on our fee. The next morning they emailed saying we had been charged £150 for the 30m mins we had stayed there. WE appreciate the hotel has cancelation policy but we arrive at 10.30 pm and left at 11pm so maybe half would have been fair?
We have been offered a complementary stay but frankly I would not stay there for free ever.
The over night car parking is £10 which is a cheek so use the public car park just down the road

Overall the hotel should clean more and upgrade the shabby used, dirty rooms when you are charging £150!

Room Tip: dont have room 285 as it is tired and dirty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank outing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your bedroom, which I accept is one of the four traditional style bedrooms, which are due to be refurbished in the next couple of months.
Whilst the room was was one of the original hotel suites, it is currently sold as a 'discounted' family room at the classic room rate, in acknowledgement of it's decor. We are investigating why this room was allocated to you as it did not match what was booked.
However there is no excuse for lack of cleanliness or poor maintenance, for which I would like to offer you my sincere apologies, rest assured I have highlighted my concerns to the housekeeping & maintenance managers to address with their teams immediately.
I note and agree with your comments regarding shower screens, this will be addressed this week.
I wish you had highlighted your concerns with the room on the evening, so that the team would have identified their error in room allocation and were able to offer you an alternative bedroom which I am confident would have met your expectations.
Given the circumstances, I have asked the team to refund your room rate as you did not stay the night. I trust this restores your faith in the hotel and hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Measham, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from first class weekend in Exeter. Hotel great location, Bedroom can't be vaulted, Common area's first rate great dining area. The only vault that can easy be sorted is several of the staff we met require further customer service training. Some times service is genuine but it wasn't this weekend. I feel sorry for the hard working front desk that tried to recover the situation but still left sour taste in mouth. I would think twice about returning to this hotel as a part of the enjoyment of travel is feeling comfortable

Room Tip: If you want a snack, don't order food at the main bar area. Walk a few minutes and enjoy the man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jeremy

Thank you for taking time to leave a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt our service was not up to our usual high standards in the food & beverage outlets. Please rest assured I have shared the feedback with all the management team so they are able to revisit their customer service training and ensure excellent service is restored.
Thank you for your positive feedback on the fabric of the hotel, we work hard to ensure it is well maintained and presented.
Despite your reservations, I do hope you will get us another chance to restore your faith in the hotel.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Great location for a nice quality hotel. Staff were fine especially the breakfast staff (super friendly) which is what you need when travelling alone. Room was beautiful and even though I was close to the floor door very peaceful - will be back again

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunisia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Tunisia2014
Thank you for positive feedback following your recent stay with us, I am delighted to hear that you found the team welcoming and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for a night last week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Hotel is in central Exeter with a large car park making Exeter very accessible to visit. Very friendly and efficient staff from the moment we arrived at check in. Lovely and quiet large room looking out towards the Cathedral. Buffet breakfast up there with the best we have had anywhere. Lots of choice with hot items particularly fresh looking - top marks from my wife for the hash browns!! Thanks so much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0nH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear D0nH65
Thank you so much for your positive review; we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us.
Thank you for your generous comments regarding the team friendliness and quality of the breakfast buffet.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
858 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing