We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair friendly in Exeter.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
c
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wheelchair friendly in Exeter.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Pleasant hotel in the centre of Exeter. Good size superior room with disabled accessible wet room. Disappointed that the shower seat had no support rails. There were filled holes where one had been removed.
The mattress was very deep making the bed high and difficult for someone who can't stand unaided get onto it. Luckily we took a transfer board with us which helped.
Lovely restaurant and good food but check your bill as we were charged, and refunded, for a bottle of wine that we didn't have. Excellent breakfast served in our room. Pity car parking charge for guests. In all a good hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Dis GC
Many thanks for your positive feedback regardingyour recent stay. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel accessible.
We have already addressed the shower seat feedback and are awaiting delivery of some new shower seats.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the restaurant and room service breakfast. I am glad to learn that you were refunded for the small inaccuracy on your bill.
Blue badge holders should not be charged for car parking, if you have been charged in error please do not hesitate to contact me and I will arrange for the charge to be refunded.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards
Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    820
    280
    100
    37
See reviews for
388
877
90
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night in July on our way to Cornwall. The room, although classed as Superior, was on the small size and the bathroom was a wet room.
Although there was a raucous wedding reception taking place the noise did not travel as far as the bedrooms so no problem there.
We didn’t eat at the hotel but found the bar service good.
One gripe. £10 to park overnight on the hotel Carpark is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear 99ray
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor and your positive comments regarding the service in the bar and lack of noise.
We charge for our secure onsite car parking seperately from the bedroom tariff to enable our guests can accurately compare our prices with those of the other city centre hotels who are not able to offer ample car parking. Other Hotels in the city centre have either very limited car parking (chargeable) or no parking whatsoever.
We are very transparent about our charging policy so I am sorry that you seemed shocked to recieve a charge.
Despite your concerns regarding our car parking charge we would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It's positioned ideally for visiting Exeter only a short walk from the places of interest and restaurants and bars. Breakfast was fine staff friendly. Swimming pool and the sauna was 100c the first one I've found in UK and reasonably priced

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickoAnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear NickoAnette
Thank you for taking time to review Mercure Exeter following your short stay with us. We are pleased that the hotel was to your satifaction and you found the location ideal.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

After checking into my room, I had to return to reception as my room had a very musky smell and didn't seem very clean.

The receptionist was very helpful and moved me to a superior room.

The food at the restaurant was excellent. The menu choice was very good, food quality fantastic and the service wonderful.

The hotel has a small gym. It got busy at times (early morning and evening) but you could always find something to use.

The pool was fine but the floor/steps were dirty. But other than that, it seemed ok.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beckyboo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Beckyboo
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay. I am so pleased that the reception team were able to address tyour concerns positively.
Thank you for the other constructive points you have raised - rest assured I will share them with the team and ensure they are addressed.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my partner. We hesitated a bit at the price (£130) for one night no breakfast but i can say you do pay for what you get. The hotel inside is very nicely decorated and classy. The double room we had was really nice and clean, decorated well, modern style. Bathroom is lovely, very clean and shiny, shower is spacious. Only comment i have about the room is that the windows need changing, old style push up one's but don't stay up, used a coke bottle to wedge it open! Didn't fuss me but would be wary if you have children (trapped fingers).
Staff are very welcoming and efficient, can tell they are trained well. All staff are presented well, very nice uniform to fit in with the classyness of the hotel.

Do be prepared to pay £10 a day for the carpark!! I was a bit shocked about this as it is owned by hotel so i personally don't thing they should charge guests!! I understand its a good carpark for right in the city centre close to main shopping street but guests are paying a lot already!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pomader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, Front Office Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Pomader
Thansk you for your positive feedback, we are pleased to learn that you found so many of the hotel's features to your liking.
We will investigate the feedback regarding your window and takes steps to address this immediately.
I appreciate your feedback regarding the car parking charging policy. However, we make a charge for secure, lit car parking seperately so that our guests can accurately compare our bedroom tariffs with those of the other hotels in the city cente who are not able to offer this service. In addition many of our guests travel to the hotel using public transport and do not take advantage of this facilty.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My daughter held her wedding over the weekend. I can not praise the hotel enough, from the time we booked in to the time we left the following morning. Her suite was ready early which was exceptional service as she was using it to get ready for the wedding ceremony in the hotel. It was spacious and light which was ideal as at one time there was the bride, two adult bridesmaid, hairdresser, make up lady and photographer all in attendance. Even my room was clean and beautifully decorated. All staff were helpful and pleasant especially Aylson the wedding planner . I would recommend the hotel for a weekend to a longer stay as a base to discover the West Country or to holding a Wedding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karent582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Karen
Thank you for your generous feedback regarding your experience of the hotel whilst we were hosting Becky & Jason's wedding. Thank you too for your special mention for Alyson - she is so pleased that your enjoyed the wedding day.
We are delighted that the day was a success and memorable for all the right reasons.
Kind regards Fiona Darde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,068 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Property: Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star City Centre Hotel Which Is A Great Base For Exploring The Devon Coast & Dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing