We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ABode Exeter
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel in April 2012 and I had a great time, it mixes the old and the new. The hotel is a very old building, but the room I was in was large and very modern facing the cathedral, a lot of the rooms had roll top baths in the centre of the room. The colleagues I was with had all videoed their particular rooms and were showing them off to the rest of us. The location opposite the cathedral is excellent for all the local shops and restaurants of which there are plenty. Although you can drop off your bags at the front of the hotel you have to park a ten minute walk away.
It’s my third stay at this hotel and I will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: if you wand a great view ask for a room facing the cathedral, however it can be noisy in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    413
    219
    107
    56
See reviews for
182
648
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton-le-Moor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The rooms are advertised as 'spacious' .... That is being somewhat extravagant with the meaning of the word and careless with the truth!
Whilst good standard and reasonably well equipped room incredibly small. Also only powerpoints are for tv and cd .. So real nuisance for charging iPad, blackberry, camera batteries and using hair dryer. So poor standard.

Man on reception very professional and gave us the chance to see other rooms. - little better though and ended up including breakfast in the it's.

At 6 pm the hotel was unable to serve us a sandwich, so much for Michael Caine restaurant.

Location on Cathedral Close brilliant ... Just parked on Southernhay or South street - easier on a Sunday or Band Holiday otherwise get up early and pay.

Room Tip: Ensure you go for Cathedral view otherwise it's rooftops and chimneys. Didn't find an even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avocettoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My boyfriend and I were really looking forward to going to Abode for a refreshing peach bellini at the start of our holiday. I can't say that we were greeted with a friendly face, or indeed, welcomed at all. The bar man behaved like an angry, slighty aggressive, petulant young boy, who when confronted with the fact that the drinks that we had been served, were not bellinis, as advertised, might just have well have said 'like it or lump it, or do one'. It's not hard to make a peach bellini and they even give you the recipe in their cocktail menu.So for £11.95 a glass, the least they can do is give it a little love and not rip you off. For a flagship hotel, they're not doing much for Exeter.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a night as a treat for my birthday with my partner. Was greated at the desk when we checked in with a smile which is very important. Had room 206, It was Lush! on the front with a view of the cathedral, very clean and even had a birthday card and a box of chocolate waiting for me from the hotel. Thank you .

Bed was most comfortable which made for a very good nights sleep, could hear the staff moving around a little in the early morning but not complaining, working in a hotel myself i know that some noise is not always avoidable.

Would recommend this hotel had a lovely stay and was very impressed. Was nice to be a guest in a 4 star in stead of a member of staff in a 4 Star for a change.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chilipepperpixy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Cannot fault this hotel. Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Everything about this hotel was nice you have excellent views of the cathedraL which I feel I must warn you the bells bong every hour. Also if you are staying at the front of the hotel the bin lorries arrive at 6am followed by delivery vans , so you do get an early start to the day.

Breakfast is cooked to order small portions though best to go for the full english.
It was a bonus that Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall (chef) was also having breakfast that day.
We ate in the Cafe Bar again small portions it suited me but husband likes bigger portions rather than hunt for the food on the plate. The food that we had was excellent
Staff are very friendly
Champagne Bar excellent would also recommend the pub next door great atmosphere, Thursday night they had entertainment on. Great atmosphere.

The hotel has no facility for parking ,once checked in the receptionist will give you a ticket for The Mary Street Arches Car Park its a multi storey.

Great location I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely stay at the front but keep windows closed just to drown at the bells. The views are well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torridontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I liked this hotel. I would stay there again. They've kept the nice period features of the Royal Clarence Hotel, and it has the most glorious location. However there are some thoroughly annoying aspects. I know the pedestrianisation is not the hotel's fault, and they try their best to help negotiate the rising bollard, and inconvenience of having to park two blocks away, but it is quite frankly very annoying. As is the ludicrous "wired" internet, which forces you to visit U2.com, possibly the most irritating website ever to gain internet access. And to borrow a lead from reception. And in a "stylish" bathroom, why no shelving to speak of, and nowhere to put soap.gel etc in the shower cubicle? Well the answer is, that the shelf that should be in the cubicle is over the bath! Aaaagggh!

More substance and less annoying little gimmicks and slogans would be nice. Location saves this one....

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I like the Royal Clarence Hotel. The champagne bar is great for intimate or special occassions the Well House pub has a great selection of ales and lots of history (check out the cellar with the skeleton in a glass cage, if the landlord lets you) and the seating outside on cathedral green is wonderful on a sunny day. The staff are all professional and attentive and the team who run and own it love the place as the group of hotels they run are primarily controlled by the Exeter team around the country. Michael Caines is a local lad and we are all very proud of his National achievements representing quality food from the West country which he cooks in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cathedral view rooms, wow great to wake up looking over one of the best Cathedrals in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dartmoorholidayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Property: ABode Exeter
Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to the future of The Royal Clarence, we have every intention to rebuild the hotel with enormous sympathy.. The 18th-century hotel, said to be one of the oldest in England, was gutted when a blaze spread from an adjacent building on Friday morning. The fire wrecked the inside of the landmark building and left the frontage on the brink of collapse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing