We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Devon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

After finding a room whose size suited us we settled in for our 3 night stay. Our 1st night was a Sunday and our dining experience was far from the best as most things on the menu were not available .
The rest of our stay was just perfect

Be aware basic graded rooms are very very small, maybe ok for overnighters but not if your stay is longer. We upgraded to the next band but it cost us more.
Breakfast each day was as good as any good hotel.
All in all, a lovely 3 days and we will be back for our 3rd visit next year.
The staff are all amazing and obviously have had training and love their jobs.

Room Tip: A room facing the Cathedral is a nice bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretH679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear ‘MargaretH679’

Thank you on behalf of the Brownsword family for your review, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your short break with us and will share your comments with our Team.

We would always recommend for longer stays choosing one of larger upgraded rooms many of which have fabulous views over Cathedral Green.

I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    413
    219
    107
    56
See reviews for
181
648
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was here on buisness with colleagues. We had a conference meeting and stayed overnight.
Firstly the hotel staff were exceptional. You are greeted with a smile and they all speak English with an English accent and not pretend to put on a thick French accent as more and more hotels in England do these days. The conference rooms are unique, ours overlooked the courtyard and the Cathedral. The bedroom was small, no bath, but the shower was bigger than most. The bed was comfortable and they offer you unique little treats like fresh filter coffee in your room. There is a functional gym which you can access 24/7 with your hotel room key. I found this most convenient. The breakfast was not the biggest spread that I had faced but it was good quality. They bring you toast which makes a change from having to slowly stand and watch as you try and heat your own on those revolving toasters. I will definately come back here and would recommend as holiday hotel as well as business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear ‘Sal N’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your Conference and stay with us. I will share your positive comments with the team and look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 13th the view was no view, it was awful ! On the plus side the bed was great very large & comfortable! the room lacked charm, or facilities ! the sink in the bathroom was tiny, barely room to wash a hand let alone two !! Bumped my head on the glass shelf when trying to clean my teeth ! Took pictures of the rubbishy room & shoddy house keeping (dusty old underwear on the top of the dusty wardrobe ) ! Breakfast was good except hair in the milk jug, I asked for it to be changed they took so long my coffee was cold ! I had such high hopes and quite frankly was left very disappointed and I could say more about the service but to be honest it was patchy & slow. They tried hard failed easy !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowtimegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear ‘snowtimegirl’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment received whilst staying with us a couple of weeks ago.

I have recently joined the company and whilst there is little I can do about the view in some of our rooms, I have met and discussed your other comments with my new Team here to ensure further checks are made where necessary and additional training.

Once again please accept my apologies and should you wish to return to Exeter in the future please contact me direct so I can personally apologise and show you some of the other Room types and deliver an excellent experience for you both.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were in town for a wedding and block-booked four rooms in the Abode, ranging from three 'Desirable' rooms to the top-end 'Fabulous' room. All our rooms had views of the cathedral and every room was beautifully kitted out and comfortable. Our 'Fabulous' room really lived up to its billing - it had a huge bed, a smart bathroom and several comfortable chairs and sofas. There is also an enormous television, loads of storage space and a glorious view.

The Abode is smack in the centre of Exeter and, though it doesn't have its own parking facilities, the hotel's location is otherwise perfect.

The hotel itself is in an old building, has lots of meandering corridors with odd little corners and cubby holes - all in all it's very characterful and really rather wonderful.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for here - the more you pay the better room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twopeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear ‘Twopeds’

Thank you so much for such a lovely review I’m so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is a stones throw from the cathedral and surrounded by cafes/restaurants/bars/shops so location is perfect. We stayed in a 'comfortable' room which was good; nice and clean, small but enough room for a weekend break, the shower was good although got the bathroom a little wet! and the bed was fantastic! Only downside was the window was blacked out and opened onto a brick wall so no natural light - not a problem for a night or 2 though.

Staff were great and really helpful - didn't have food here but restaurant looked good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear 'Kezza632'

Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Royal Clarence and look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful old hotel (also called The Royal Clarence) right on Cathedral Square in Exeter. We booked a double room on their "summer scorcher" deal, which was £99 including dinner, bed and breakfast. The hotel is a very nice old building with smart and friendly staff. Our airconditioned room looked directly over the cathedral and was clean, modern and had everything you need - and the bed was very comfortable too. The dinner included in the deal was at the "cafe-bar & grill" - where there was a full menu and a "2 courses for £10.50" menu too. The deal was only valid for the set menu, or the cash equivalent. We chose to order from the main menu and pay the extra. The food was good, but nothing special - however it was very nice sitting outside the hotel overlooking the cathedral and its grounds. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection. Parking is a bit of a pain though- you have to park in the nearby multi-storey which costs about £11.00 for 24 hours. Overall though it's a good value hotel, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will101clifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear 'will101clifton'

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times, get a superior room with a Cathedral view and it is a great place to stay but the other rooms are rather dull and lack luster.

My biggest gripe is the staff who in the main are foreign and have difficulty understanding your order and continually apologize for stupid errors time and time again. Order a mint tea and I bet you will not get what you ordered. This is a real shame as eating in Michael's restaurant is a real treat and certainly the best food in Devon, just let down by the staff!

Room Tip: Get a superior room with a Cathedral view and you will be impressed, otherwise you will get an '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear ‘Charles F’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry to hear that the service is not consistently high as we would expect. I have very recently joined the company with my key priority the service experience.

In terms of the bedrooms we have a wide variety of rooms as you would with any very old building, I am currently reviewing all the bedrooms here in Exeter with a view to making some improvements in the New Year.

Please contact me directly next time you stay, so I can introduce myself and welcome you back personally.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed

Property: ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing