We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Anniversary Stay”
Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ABode Exeter
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. Staff were fantastic and arranged a room with a view of Exeter Cathedral as well as complimentary late checkout. Ate in the bar & grill (fine dining not really our style) which was reasonably priced and very good food. The room had the comfiest bed I have ever slept on! Excellent!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear ‘Jim B’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your first Anniversary stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Brilliant location! Our room over looked the cathedral which was stunning, plus you are right in the middle of the city. No parking but if you call in advance they will give you directions to a car park you can use for a reduce rate (ask at reception). You can drive right up to the hotel to unload.

It was really nicely decorated and we loved that the building was so old so had lots of charm (although it has a luxurious feel). Plus we had a huge (very very comfortable) bed.

I would recommend in an instant!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olby1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear ‘Olby1204’

Thank you for your review, we are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Abode and can thoroughly recommned it. The location is pefect for visiting the center of Exeter and the surrounding area peaceful. The staff are excellent; welcoming friendly and efficient. I rate this as a good find.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear ‘Matt M’

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your second visit as much as the first and will pass your thanks on to my Team here in Exeter.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night while enroute to North Devon. We had a luxury suite which was just magnificent with a wonderful view of the cathedral. Without exception all the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. We ate in the restaurant where the food and service was first class with an equally good breakfast experience the following morning.
This hotel is expensive but no more than you would expect to pay considering its rating and location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Be11aboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear ‘Be11aboo’

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay here at ABode Exeter. I will share your comments with all of the team who I know will be pleased.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed two nights work related. Efficient check in spacious room bath tub behind the bed?
Very comfy large bed. Two bars and pub to choose from plus bistro style eateries and fine dinning restaurant. Did not eat in as Exeter has an abundance of good places to eat. Recommended as nice friendly and perfect location.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank NSTSAFETY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear ‘NSTSAFETY’

Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your stay this week, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

One night stay here last week. Excellent location opposite cathedral in centre of town. Didn't eat here as plenty of other choices nearby. Room basic but comfortable enough though mattress too soft as others have commented. Bathroom rather small and ridiculous basin which was about 6 by 6 inches so water splashed everywhere. Reasonable value given the location and staff were friendly and efficient. A service charge was added to one of my bar bills though this was optional and I hadn't agreed to this - a little underhand though it was only in relation to a couple of drinks and the service was good so I didn't complain.

Room Tip: I was opposite ship pub though on a quiet night so wasn't disturbed by noise. May be worth check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear ‘Andrew2001’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and noted all of your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked an Indulgence package plus an additional night for my parents.At time of booking we asked if possible if they could have a cathedral facing room.
They have just returned from their weekend and could not speak highly enough of their stay.As requested they had a room facing the cathedral and there was a bouquet of flowers in their room.
They were impressed with the decor and general cleanliness throughout.Staff were very friendly,welcoming and helpful.
At dinner the waiting staff were knowledgeable about the menu content and also a wine was selected to match their palate.
They were delighted with their staff and we were pleased that our gift proved to be a good choice.
We are planning our next visit as 2 couples later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear ‘JulieDevonUK’

Thank you so much on behalf of the Brownsword family for your review. We are so pleased that you chose us to celebrate your parents Anniversary. I will pass on your thanks to the whole team.

I look forward to welcoming you back later in the year, feel free to contact me direct for you next booking.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#12 of 31 in Exeter
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £85 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking to the future of The Royal Clarence, we have every intention to rebuild the hotel with enormous sympathy. The 18th-century hotel, said to be one of the oldest in England, was gutted when a blaze spread from an adjacent building on Friday morning. The fire wrecked the inside of the landmark building and left the frontage on the brink of collapse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing